We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Style, Aesthetics,Glamour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palais Faraj Suites & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Style, Aesthetics,Glamour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Originally, we had booked into the Sofitel Palais as we had heard it was thee best and unmatched hotel experience in Fes..
However, when we arrived the lobby seemed a little dark and dingy. My son didn't like it at all as we had arrived from a a very new big bling bling hotel from another city. Even though the doorman was very sweet and showed him around, my son just didn't take to it, so the only other 5 star hotel in a similair price was Palais Faraj. We took a petite taxi there hoping he would settle down and approve.
We spontaneously walked into the hotel to be greeted very warmly by Nasser the hotel manager who pacified him and allowed us to choose our room.
Each and every corner of the hotel including our suite without a doubt is the epitome of aesthetics. The hotel has a very cosy riad type feel lots of beautiful cosy corners (library, bar etc..)
*The bed quality was divine with the finest bed sheets
*The bathroom was fantastic, even my hydrophobic son wanted to have a shower under the rainfall shower head
*The sitting area gorgeous overlooking the Patio
The detailing in the room the tiles, the cornicing, the granite, the furniture, the handicrafts were exquisite and unique.
*We ate at the restaurant every night (ranked 2nd best in Fes). Yes that too lived up to it's reputation.
*On the weekends the bar had live guitar singers singing to requested songs which wass very sweet of them.
*Service and friendliness factor from staff was appreciated.


Didn't try the Spa so can't comment.

The only negative would be the one previously cited, i.e. improved concierge service/ advice on getting a guide from the hotel or better shopping recommendations

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ucl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    62
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
135
301
26
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at Palais Faraj on April 26-27 and loved it. We were in suite #21, which is gorgeous and huge (sitting room, walk-in closet/dressing area, massive bedroom, massive bathroom, good-sized terrace). The room was beautiful, decorated with traditional cedar/plaster/mosaics. We were welcomed with mint tea and cookies, both of which were delicious.

We drove from hotel to the souk, but it was a very manageble quick drive (less than 10 minutes). I'm not sure how accessible it is by foot.

If you are planning to stay here for several nights and want to have dinner somewhere other than the hotel, I'd suggest researching in advance and making reservations - unlike other cities, it's a bit more difficult in Fes to walk out of the hotel and find something to eat. That said, the restaurant at Palais Faraj is very good. The staff was fantastic and did a great job of making my husband's 30th birthday dinner very special. The restaurant on the top floor has a great view overlooking the medina. The decor inside is modern (matches the bar next door), but the food was more traditional (pastillas, tagines, etc.). If we had been in Fes for more than three nights, I would've explored another restaurant for a change of scenery - not because the food isn't up to par. Breakfast is served in another (bigger) restaurant. There is loads to choose from.

We did not use the spa facilities but have heard from others that it is top-notch. Our only constructive criticism about Palais Faraj is that the hallways are a bit dark - in the grand scheme of rating a hotel, this did not negatively impact our experience one bit.

Overall, we both would recommend Palais Faraj without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

As we passed through the arched gateway into the Palais Faraj we were a bit anxious after just checking out of a different five star that was a huge disappointment. Aha! Palais Faraj to the rescue. After entering the reception area and immediately being offered and enjoying a delightful Moroccan tea we were given a tour of the hotel and premises. The facility shows the attention of a superbly managed five star hotel. Everything from the reading library to the terrace cafe, the restaurants to the terrace bar are maintained and staffed professionally. We were and ready to relax. We were on the tail end of a long journey and needed a place that would provide us a nice atmosphere where we could kick back, read, sort through our pictures, enjoy the pool, enjoy the views from the many terraces and eat a well prepared lunch and dinner. We made two visits to the spa for enjoyable treatments with black sands and oils followed by a massage; what more do I have to say, we went twice! The staff are professional, attentive, and energetic. They are led by a superb individual, Mr. Mederic Fauchillle the General Manager. Many thanks for a fabulous stay in Fez.

Room Tip: If you book a massage I highly recommend you request the young lady who manages the facility if she...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acruzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed at the Palais Faraj in Fes with a group of 10 people in November of 2012. The staff were professional at all times and courteous to my group. I needed some help behind the scenes with my group and hotel management was professional. The architectural details were amazing, food fabulous and plentiful, bar quiet and inviting. We stayed three days and loved every minute of our stay. Hotel is central to everything in historic Fes. Luxurious, inviting, welcoming, and perfect.

Room Tip: Many rooms are two stories. If you have trouble with stairs, then as for a single story room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathyadamsclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Palais Faraj was lovingly restored by its current owner Mr. F. Driss in 2008 and the renovation is a labor of love. The architecture, exquisite tile work, chandeliers, hand woven rugs and attention to detail make it one of the best luxury experiences! The staff is attentive and the food in the restaurant is the best in Fes. Mederic Fauchillle the General Manager was everywhere making sure that all his guests were taken care of. Three master chefs in the kitchen prepare local cuisine and a must have is the Traditional Moroccan Fes salad which is an assortment of 9 salads exquisitely prepared. The spa and hamman are luxurious and fit for royalty. We visited the spa/hamman twice during our three night stay and found the staff to be well trained and extremely professional, our spa therapists were Raja and Sophie and they were great! Our suite had a terrace that overlooked the Medina and it was just breathtaking. Fes is an amazing city and this Riad elevated our experience over the top!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

For the price of an average hotel in a large American city (which is my usual comparison point), you could be staying in a deluxe suite with impeccable and friendly service, delightful architectural features, delicious food and jaw-dropping luxurious decor in one of the most interesting and unique cities in the world. That was our experience at Palais Faraj. For me the lodgings define the "feel" I take away from a city. And that feeling was happiness and pinch-me-am-I-really-here gratitude for the experience. Live it up: go to the spa, eat in the restaurant, sit in the courtyard, return after a walk in the medina to your palace away from home. The only caveat to the visitor is to take with a grain of salt all the blandishments and claims and hype and salesmanship and commercial zeal that the city guides throw your way. I wish this fine establishment could hire its own truly objective guides, but it appears they are reliant on what the tourist office provides them. I would be back here in a heartbeat (a quickened heartbeat at that).

Room Tip: We stayed in the smallest, the Junior Suite, and I can only imagine the glories of the larger suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

This hotel is seriously beautiful with well-appointed, completely tiled rooms, modern bathrooms, and very comfortable beds. There is a hammam in the basement, and a restaurant and bar on the top floor with great views of the medina and the surrounding area. The hotel is very clean and well-managed by a helpful and courteous staff. The food was very good, especially the breakfast buffet, and the hotel is a well-located next to a southern gate into the medina.

Room Tip: Confirm that room has a shower in addition to a tub if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAR922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 100 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#16 of 100 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palais Amani
Palais Amani
#18 of 100 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Faraj Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Faraj Suites & Spa

Property: Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
Address: 16-18 Quartier Ziat, Derb Bensouda, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Faraj Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique luxury is taken to the next level on the doorstep of Fez’s Medina, where unparalleled comfort meets exquisite artistic flair and rich Moroccan tradition at Palais Faraj Suites & Spa.Explosions of colour and examples of ornate intricacy infuse the design-inspired interiors of this luxury boutique hotel. Each of the suites is a haven of meticulously mastered style, immersed in beauty and adorned with exquisite features. Elaborately carved wooden pieces and comfort-steeped designer furnishings mingle with vibrant tiling, sculpted ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Palais Faraj Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing