We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We have had the privilege of staying in some very nice hotels. (Amarvilas, Udaivilas, that sort of place in India.) This place is gorgeous and authentic--and minus a view of the Taj, has them beat! (Has Vanity Fair done a photoshoot here yet?) We stayed in the 'Ambassador Suite'--and I am sure the ambassadors have been impressed, too. The hotel is replete with restored fountains, tilework and marble. It overlooks the medina and much of old Fes and the surrounding hills. If someone could have wave a magic wand over my itinerary so I could stay here three days longer--it would have been superb. Our suite was beautifully appointed with views in two directions, sofas and chairs in subtle shades of grey and deep violet-gray velveteen, inlaid tables. The bath, and wardrobe were first rate, and hamman and spa services beautifully executed.

Room Tip: Consider landing here on a birthday or anniversary as a special stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryna_in_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

We staid here with 2 persons for a romantic getaway in a suite for the price of about 500 EUR or three nights. The room was exquisite. Two separate toilets, a bath, a separate shower (a very large one), a separate sitting area. A view on the pool. The whole hotel is beautiful. It truly is a palace. The staff is also very friendly. This also applied to the reception staff who were always available and courteous. After booking, we were proactivily contacted concerning their offering in terms of the spa and guided tours. Breakfast consisted of a variety of Moroccon breads, confitures, fruit, eggs, etc. We had dinner twice there and the food was quite good. Of course, the scene is fantastic (views of Fez). The spa is very nice as well with good massage and Hammam (the latter having felt a bit rushed though).

So, what is stopping me from awarding the full five points then? I will engage in a bit of nit-picking but for a place with this much going for it, they should strive for perfection. But these comments should not deter anyone from going there. In fact, I would gladly return to the place. But still... there is a problem of communication in the hotel. How do you see it: you order some food for lunch (club sandwich -nothing fancy), but after an hour, nothing there yet. After asking reception, the food was there within 5 minutes. Great, but this intervention should not have been necessary. Of course, this can happen anywhere...once. But, the second time we had lunch there, again it took them almost an hour to prepare somehing simple. Ai.... Also, staff go about their assigned business but they do not "see" things like absence of towels at the pool. Again, you have to ask. In a place like this (yes, I am being very demanding), staff should notice these things and take care of it automatically. But probably, there is a "towel" person who is assigned to do this rather than all members of staff feeling responsible for and hence seeing and dealing with all aspects of service. Then we ordered a coke light. We get a regular coke. They were out of coke light. Two days later, same thing. It's a hotel! How can you be out for three days of such a basic thing? It's a 25 room hotel. How difficult can it be to stock up in time? Someone forgot to communicate with whomever does the purchasing perhaps? We also had ordered a day trip to Meknes. Reception told us the pick-p time was 9h30. But the driver does not show up the next day. After checking apparently the reception told him to come at 10h? At breakfast, they do not notice quickly enough the hot water has to be replenished; one day there was a full range of fruit, the other it was not being replenished; tea pots also were not being replenished, etc. .... In the Spa, staff were very friendly, but while doing the massage, something must have been very funny as both masseuses (who did a good job otherwise) were chuckling all the time. I wish I knew what was so funny. None of all these things individually are a big issue. But it is the fact that all of these small things happen in a few days that is a problem for a place that clearly has very high aspirations. It has been running for a year so this kinds of things should be sorted by now.

One bigger problem that the palais should really deal with is the fact that there are really too few sunbeds around the swimming pool. There is space for about 4 more without crowding the area. They are really needed.

But let these comments not put you off to book a room! It is a great place. I'm sure they will sort out these little things.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freqbelgiantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Let me start off by saying that I was very excited for my stay here coming from NYC. I had contacted the manager before my visit telling him it was our honeymoon and he even upgraded us to a suite prior to our arrival and gave his personal cell phone for questions.

Once we got there is where the problems started. The woman at the front desk just checked us in and never bothered to even show us around. once in the suite we see two random construction men on our terrace (the terrace has two doors one in our suite and one in the adjacent hallway) The employee with us wasn't appalled by this so I guess this is normal. Not typical of a five star.

As for their "renowned" restaurant: we wait 10 mins with noone seating us, get our own menu, when the waiter finally comes we tell him we don't speak French or arabic yet he keeps speaking French to us and looks at us puzzled. He then continues to ignore us for 15 mins and serves another table who he is speaking in Arabic. We finally get our drinks. He tells us that there is no regular coke in the entire resort (meanwhile the other table is being served regular coke). I ask for bread and it never comes. Finally after 45 mins to 1 hour in the restaurant and noone taking our order (the waitstaff kept saying yes and then leaving the room) I went back to the kitchen doors and found a moroccan waiter (Ahmed) who took our order. The meal tasted good but that was ridiculous.

The following day for breakfast Ahmed was the only waiter who was kind enough to serve us also. It seems that the other waitstaff is bending over backwards for guests if they speak French or Arabic but if you speak English your second class and noone cares or understands you.

In terms of beauty and decor this place is 5 stars but in terms of service it's a 1 star. I would definitely never stay here again. Its unfortunate because the manager who i had emailed and the manager who checked us out were so sweet and professional. Their other ancillary staff is clearly not up to par for a five star hotel especially for American/English guests.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iris0333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Originally, we had booked into the Sofitel Palais as we had heard it was thee best and unmatched hotel experience in Fes..
However, when we arrived the lobby seemed a little dark and dingy. My son didn't like it at all as we had arrived from a a very new big bling bling hotel from another city. Even though the doorman was very sweet and showed him around, my son just didn't take to it, so the only other 5 star hotel in a similair price was Palais Faraj. We took a petite taxi there hoping he would settle down and approve.
We spontaneously walked into the hotel to be greeted very warmly by Nasser the hotel manager who pacified him and allowed us to choose our room.
Each and every corner of the hotel including our suite without a doubt is the epitome of aesthetics. The hotel has a very cosy riad type feel lots of beautiful cosy corners (library, bar etc..)
*The bed quality was divine with the finest bed sheets
*The bathroom was fantastic, even my hydrophobic son wanted to have a shower under the rainfall shower head
*The sitting area gorgeous overlooking the Patio
The detailing in the room the tiles, the cornicing, the granite, the furniture, the handicrafts were exquisite and unique.
*We ate at the restaurant every night (ranked 2nd best in Fes). Yes that too lived up to it's reputation.
*On the weekends the bar had live guitar singers singing to requested songs which wass very sweet of them.
*Service and friendliness factor from staff was appreciated.


Didn't try the Spa so can't comment.

The only negative would be the one previously cited, i.e. improved concierge service/ advice on getting a guide from the hotel or better shopping recommendations

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ucl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at Palais Faraj on April 26-27 and loved it. We were in suite #21, which is gorgeous and huge (sitting room, walk-in closet/dressing area, massive bedroom, massive bathroom, good-sized terrace). The room was beautiful, decorated with traditional cedar/plaster/mosaics. We were welcomed with mint tea and cookies, both of which were delicious.

We drove from hotel to the souk, but it was a very manageble quick drive (less than 10 minutes). I'm not sure how accessible it is by foot.

If you are planning to stay here for several nights and want to have dinner somewhere other than the hotel, I'd suggest researching in advance and making reservations - unlike other cities, it's a bit more difficult in Fes to walk out of the hotel and find something to eat. That said, the restaurant at Palais Faraj is very good. The staff was fantastic and did a great job of making my husband's 30th birthday dinner very special. The restaurant on the top floor has a great view overlooking the medina. The decor inside is modern (matches the bar next door), but the food was more traditional (pastillas, tagines, etc.). If we had been in Fes for more than three nights, I would've explored another restaurant for a change of scenery - not because the food isn't up to par. Breakfast is served in another (bigger) restaurant. There is loads to choose from.

We did not use the spa facilities but have heard from others that it is top-notch. Our only constructive criticism about Palais Faraj is that the hallways are a bit dark - in the grand scheme of rating a hotel, this did not negatively impact our experience one bit.

Overall, we both would recommend Palais Faraj without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

As we passed through the arched gateway into the Palais Faraj we were a bit anxious after just checking out of a different five star that was a huge disappointment. Aha! Palais Faraj to the rescue. After entering the reception area and immediately being offered and enjoying a delightful Moroccan tea we were given a tour of the hotel and premises. The facility shows the attention of a superbly managed five star hotel. Everything from the reading library to the terrace cafe, the restaurants to the terrace bar are maintained and staffed professionally. We were and ready to relax. We were on the tail end of a long journey and needed a place that would provide us a nice atmosphere where we could kick back, read, sort through our pictures, enjoy the pool, enjoy the views from the many terraces and eat a well prepared lunch and dinner. We made two visits to the spa for enjoyable treatments with black sands and oils followed by a massage; what more do I have to say, we went twice! The staff are professional, attentive, and energetic. They are led by a superb individual, Mr. Mederic Fauchillle the General Manager. Many thanks for a fabulous stay in Fez.

Room Tip: If you book a massage I highly recommend you request the young lady who manages the facility if she...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acruzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed at the Palais Faraj in Fes with a group of 10 people in November of 2012. The staff were professional at all times and courteous to my group. I needed some help behind the scenes with my group and hotel management was professional. The architectural details were amazing, food fabulous and plentiful, bar quiet and inviting. We stayed three days and loved every minute of our stay. Hotel is central to everything in historic Fes. Luxurious, inviting, welcoming, and perfect.

Room Tip: Many rooms are two stories. If you have trouble with stairs, then as for a single story room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathyadamsclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#17 of 100 in Fes
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palais Amani
Palais Amani
#14 of 100 in Fes
483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Faraj Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Faraj Suites & Spa

Address: 16-18 Quartier Ziat, Derb Bensouda | à côté de BAB ZIAT, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: £151 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Faraj Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique luxury is taken to the next level on the doorstep of Fez’s Medina, where unparalleled comfort meets exquisite artistic flair and rich Moroccan tradition at Palais Faraj Suites & Spa.Explosions of colour and examples of ornate intricacy infuse the design-inspired interiors of this luxury boutique hotel. Each of the suites is a haven of meticulously mastered style, immersed in beauty and adorned with exquisite features. Elaborately carved wooden pieces and comfort-steeped designer furnishings mingle with vibrant tiling, sculpted ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palais Faraj Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing