We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“appalling value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“appalling value for money”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We arrived at Palais Faraj suites et spa with great expectations...(as you would when you are paying for a 300 euros/night hotel in Morocco!). All in all our whole stay was one big frustration. Most of the staff is kind but doesn't have a clue about what the quality of service in a five stars hotel should be. They obviously have no training. All our requests were dealt with a " yes, sure" with not one follow up, we just had to repeat our requests over and over again. The food and the room were overall nice but not amazing and totally overpriced. The hotel is not that calm neither, we were kept awake by a constant grinding noise that seemed to come from the basement...My daughter was laughing telling us there was a "truck factory" under the hotel...! When we asked about this, our questions were deliberately ignored. This hotel has some serious management issues, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eabrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    70
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
146
326
28
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

What an amazing hotel and experience in Fes! The hotel very graciously upgraded us to a suite as we were on our honeymoon. The suite was very impressive, with a walk in wardrobe, spacious living room very intricately detailed Moroccan handiwork and a beautiful bedroom that overlooked the facade of the palace/hotel. Every detail of the suite was beautifully thought of, with fresh flowers in our room everyday. We used the spa facilities on both days and thoroughly enjoyed the hammam and massages. The rooftop restaurant and bar overlooks the medina and the food was delicious, and the staff very attentive, despite the restaurant being very crowded. Best hotel in Morocco!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Raishalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at Palais Faraj for three nights and absolutely loved it - THe staff at the hotel and restaurant were all great - Nasir, Tariq, Rachid, Mohammed were all courteous and made us feel at home. We liked FES, but our stay at Palais faraj made it more memorable. The rooms and palace are beautiful and the view of medina from the room made it a great place for mornign tea. Will definitely stay here again when back in FES

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jatin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The building itself is a gorgeous renovated palace with spacious rooms nicely decorated in Moroccan style. The restaurant is probably one of the best places you could eat in Fes and we loved the breakfast and dinner.
The only thing that should be improved is the staff. Some of them act as if they don't really care about the guests . I had a bad experience with the guy in reception when I decided not to go to his suggested restaurant and asked him to make dinner reservation some where else. He started acting rude all of a sudden. I think being treated rudely is the last thing you would expect in a five star hotel.
Many other staff members were really nice and polite and room service was really good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roozbeh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I loved this hotel. We were here for three nights, could have spent the entire time in the hotel but had to spend the time enjoying Fes. Our room had two terraces, one overlooking the swimming pooling and hotel and the other overlooking the medina. Just lovely.
Breakfast was great and just a short walk upstairs from our room. We had a great time educating the bartender on how to make a proper "American Martini" with our limited French. He kept insisting on adding too much sweet vermouth.
Our room was large and included every comfort. The hotel staff could not have be more accommodating, thanks for the help when we left the hotel at 5am on our last day.

Room Tip: If you are staying at this hotel expect to spend money. Book the Royal or Junior Royal suite. The vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bothercollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I felt at home staying at this amazing hotel. The staff was helpful and attentive to every request. They do their best to recommend tourists/women friendly places for dining in the city but I realized there are not too many options to choose from in Fez.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Convev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

This restored palace was so impressive, it spoiled us for some of the royal palaces we visited. We kept saying -- this is OK, but its no Palais Faraj. Service was great, location is ideal (on edge of Medina so accessible by taxi). We stayed at 4 very nice hotels in different cities and this was our clear favorite. We'd love to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DartProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#15 of 99 in Fes
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
490 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Faraj Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Faraj Suites & Spa

Property: Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
Address: 16-18 Quartier Ziat, Derb Bensouda, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Faraj Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique luxury is taken to the next level on the doorstep of Fez’s Medina, where unparalleled comfort meets exquisite artistic flair and rich Moroccan tradition at Palais Faraj Suites & Spa.Explosions of colour and examples of ornate intricacy infuse the design-inspired interiors of this luxury boutique hotel. Each of the suites is a haven of meticulously mastered style, immersed in beauty and adorned with exquisite features. Elaborately carved wooden pieces and comfort-steeped designer furnishings mingle with vibrant tiling, sculpted ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais Faraj Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing