We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Dar el Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar el Bali
Ranked #17 of 217 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed at Dar El Bali in the beginning of January for two nights. The riad is run a by a very nice and welcoming family and is very well located in the Medina of Fes. If you are arriving by car (as we did), you can conveniently park nearby. Our hosts had organized a parking solution before our arrival to make sure we would not have any problems. This was very appreciated. We booked the Chefchaouen room, very nicely decorated and spacious, and with windows, which can be a plus if you are not a fan of the traditional riad room with windows only on the patio. We left with a very pleasant memory of the place, received very good tips by our hosts on food, what to visit in Fez and elsewhere in Morocco. They successfully manage to provide a "home" feeling to their guests while remaining discreet, with little extra touches such as the possibility to borrow DVDs or to take the time to share a glass of wine with you and go through maps and guidebooks to plan the next steps in your trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSBxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie S, Propriétaire at Dar el Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Thank you for your impressions and your comment on our house, which assures the link between Dar el Bali and you.

We hope that the continuationof your travel in Morocco passed well and that you keep for pleasant memory of this country.

Thank you for your confidence and for a next time !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

We are an italian couple and we've been in Riad Felloussia in the first week of December for one night.
The Dar is managed by a couple of 2 Belgans, for first one of them brought us directly from the square to the Dar, then they called a guide that showed us the medina of Fez.
When we arrived we've found a really nice place, the room was clean, large and in true Morocco's style!I love the furniture of this Dar!
The owners and their daughter were very kind and helpful, they brought us to the bus station for buy tickets and the day after at 6 AM brought us again to the station to get bus!
The dinner was cooked by the daughter of the owners and very good!!
They stay with us for the rest of the evening and we could understand how they love Morocco,
so if you want to share the joy of being in Morocco, go to Dar el Bali!Excellent!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie S, Propriétaire at Dar el Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Thank you infinitely for your contribution via Tripadvisor, it was a pleasure to share these moments with you and we are happy to know that your stay in Fes and to Dar el Bali stays a good memory for you.
We are happy to share with our customers our experienceand our love for Morocco. Goodbye and Thank you very much for you kindness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Very decent hosts. Excellent hospitality. It is a once in lifetime experience. Highly recommended. The Raid seems to have been lovingly restored with very good taste. Our French and Arabic was basic which can be a disadvantage in Morocco.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie S, Propriétaire at Dar el Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Thank you very much for your contribution via Tripadvisor.
Thank you for having chosen our house for you travel.
Thank you for your kindness. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

dar el bali is like an oasis in the chaos of the medina. the rooms are charming with plenty of detail and character. the staff was exceptionally hospitable and helped make the stay really memorable. it's a fairly small, intimate property that allows for a nice, quiet escape after a day's worth of adventure. cat lovers will enjoy the presence of an adorable "princess" cat (and the owners are conscientious of its whereabouts). wifi signal in the room was inconsistent, but plenty strong in the common areas. but who needs to surf the internet while in fes, anyway! book with full confidence and be excited about staying at this place!

Room Tip: the arabesque room was great! it's on the main floor next to the inner courtyard, but was not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie S, Propriétaire at Dar el Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Thank you for your opinion Tripadvisor, one thank you for your compliments on the house, the service and the staff.
We are happy to learn that you keep an excellent memory of your passage in Fes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We booked 2 nights stay at this Riad, lime many other places, based on the pictures, reviews, location and what we thought it was at the time a good quality-price ratio, only to find out that the quality exceeds the price by a country mile.
We left Merzouga by car in the early morning with the hope of reaching Fes in the evening but unfortunately the heavy snow in the mountains made us stop 100km away from our final destination. Luckily enough the following morning we were back in the road and reach Fes and this beautiful Riad before noon. We were greeted by the owners (mother & daughter), this is a family run Riad, and you can feel it straight away, the warmth and welcoming attitude from the moment they open the door and let you in. We explained the reason why we failed to showed up the night before, and they offered us a lot of sympathy and a tasty mammoth breakfast (exactly what we needed). We were shown our room and we showed them the pictures of the road blocked by the snow, the room won hands down. Ground floor, by the interior patio area, where wifi is available, nicely decorated, comfortable and ample double bed, sofa to relax, and adjacent bathroom with powerful (stay-all-day-under) shower.
After breakfast we were shown the rest of the Riad, I think it has 6 rooms in total, a lot to choose from, in terms of decoration, space and budget, but all them oozing elegance and delicate touches throughout. We went up the typical never-ending flight of stairs to the first terrace and then to the 2nd one where you have a 360 degree view of the medina and Fes (with a little more time in our hands, we could have stayed here all day).
In summary, to say the place is beautiful could be the understatement of the century. It has been rehabilitated to its former glory with precise charming details. The service is outstanding, we felt like we were visiting old friends, relax friendly atmosphere (all the noise is left behind as soon as you close the door). The rooms are spotless, catered for all our needs, and the only thing I regret is that we couldnt stay the 2 nights we had planned and booked (by the way, we only paid for one, even though they could have charged us for the 2, which it was very decent of them).
Highly recommendable, brand new, right in the center of the medina, , lovely breakfast, nice people running it, whom, in my view, deserve more and more people coming here. If I ever go back to Fes, this is the place I'd go without a shadow of a doubt.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie S, Propriétaire at Dar el Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

It is with the big enjoyment that we read your opinion.
Thanks to you for this laudatory comment on our house.
After a journey rich in feelings and in adventures, we are happy to learn that your stay in Fes and to Dar el Bali was as high as your expectations.
We would be delighted to see again you for a next stay in our house.

Thank you very much for everything and for your kindness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nicolasmorel51210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie S, Propriétaire at Dar el Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#6 of 100 in Fes
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#7 of 100 in Fes
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#5 of 100 in Fes
955 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#17 of 100 in Fes
359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#2 of 217 in Fes
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Bali

Address: 46, Derb Tadlaa, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £53 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar el Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to come and discover the beauty of this house built in 1905.House restored according to fassie tradition. Five bedrooms or suites.Maroccan living room.For your comfort, warm and cold air conditioning in each bedroom, additional heating and hair dryer in bathrooms.Terace and solarium.Moroccan breakfast, wich is included in the price, contains bread, cheese, pancakes, and homemade jam.Our cook will prepare traditional meals,depending on the market products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dar el Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing