We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Mehdi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Mehdi
Ranked #45 of 204 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Could not recommend Dar Mehdi highly enough. The location in the medina is ideal and the dar itself is lovely. But what really makes it particularly special is Mohamed and Latifah. They were incredibly helpful and friendly - advising us what to do, taking us to the local hammam (great experience) and even allowing us to chill out in the reception area and have a shower while we waited for our train to Marrakech at 2.30 in the morning. All in all the perfect place to stay in Fes and hopefully we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hbj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    28
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
73
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horw, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great house, great location, great people (the girl Latifa and boy Salah). Small entrance, small rooms, beautifull hall, narrow starcase, panoramic terrace. Soooper to stay here and explore the medina (you will not get lost...). Dar Mehdi's location ist on Google maps.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This riad is perfectly located for visiting the medina and is well signposted from within the medina. However, since we were arriving by car one of the staff, Salaheddine, had agreed to meet us at one of the city gates & direct us to a secure parking garage & also help us from there to the riad. If it wasn’t for his directions, we would have been properly lost.
The riad is arranged around a beautiful, traditionally decorated inner courtyard, where we were welcomed with some mint tea before being taken to our room. This was up some steep staircases but again the staff helped us with our bags. The room too was decorated in traditional style & included a very small wet room ensuite with a shower in the middle of the floor. This was adequate for a day or two but could have been much improved with a larger conversion within the bedroom area. Upstairs was a roof terrace with expansive views across the roofs of the medina to the surrounding hills.
We chose to have our evening meals in the riad on both evenings and enjoyed homemade soup, salad, tajines & desserts for €10.00 each including soft drinks.
In the mornings, over breakfast, Latifa, another friendly staff member, provided plenty of useful information about where to go, what to see and how much to pay for the souvenirs we wanted.
All in all I would have no problems recommending Dar Mehdi to anyone visiting Fez.

Room Tip: Steps to the upper rooms are a steep workout!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LePhews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Lovely Dar in Fes. Easy to find! Just follow the signs! And the staff is so friendly! The food was great too! We ordered dinner and it was above all our expectations! Also, we arrived on a bus from Merzouga at 4 a.m. (all the city was asleep) and we had a reservation only for the next night, but the friendly guy helped us with everything and let us stay and wait for the breakfast on a couch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eltimoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. Whatever you need (guides, tours, special food, recommended restaurant), they will help you. Clean rooms, very quiet area day and night. Nice view from roof tarrace. Close to shops and restaurants. 7 minutes drive from train station.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fidel_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markelo
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a wonderful decorated Morrocan dar. They arranged a taxi for us from the airport and Mohammed came to pick us up at the port. I'd recommend you to do is this way, because the dar is difficult to find on your own. We arrived around 10 o'clock and got a great breakfast (one of our best in Morocco!) from Lamiyae. She's very lovely and helpful. In the afternoon, they had arranged a guide for us - Ali - who was very friendly and told us a lot about Fes. The room was good as well as the bed. The bathroom was small, but okay for us. Mohammed is always in for a chat, we appreciated that very much. I would stay here again when I'm in Fes!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Excellent Riad to stay in when visiting Fes and its medina. The service was truly fantastic and not only helped us to get round the city but was also there to have a nice conversation with and treated us like family. The location is perfect right in the beginning of the medina, easily accessible when you enter from one of the main gates (Bab Boujloud). Room was beautiful and very comfortable, great decoration everywhere.

Thank you Abdul for treating us like good friends, we truly hope to see you again in Fes inchallah and enjoy a good coup of Bisara with you!

Many hugs,
Silvia and Charif

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charif en Silvi... v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Adarissa
Riad Adarissa
#24 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Meski
Riad Meski
#52 of 204 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar el Yasmine
Dar el Yasmine
#25 of 204 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Fes Medina
Dar Fes Medina
#6 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Sienna
Dar Sienna
#20 of 204 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Mehdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Mehdi

Property: Dar Mehdi
Address: Derb ben Salem 40, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Mehdi 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dar Mehdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing