We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice views, but surly staff, and way overpriced!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai
Ranked #43 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice views, but surly staff, and way overpriced!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Here's the good part. It's a fine looking hotel inside and out, with a great view over the old town of Fes from half the rooms (the other half facing the opposite direction have no view worth looking at). The viewside rooms are lovely with great balconies. Just make sure you get a higher floor or you wont have a view.

Here's the bad part.

1. Staff are evasive, unresponsive, careless, and badly trained. They act as if they are doing you a favor to register you or take your money. They couldn't find our reservation at first, and couldn't get an accurate bill together at the end. Other people waiting in line before us at check in and check out had problems. If you look through previous Trip Advisor reviews you will see that complaints about the staff at this hotel are a regular feature, over and over and over again for several years now!

2. Don't get suckered into using one of the guides the hotel recommends. They are overpriced because the hotel takes a great chunk of the fee. Official guides can be hired for half the price or less. Don't believe hotel staff if they tell you that you must have a guide. Don't let them book a taxi for you or provide a car and driver for you because you will be overcharged. Just walk outside the hotel toward the main road and you will find plenty of taxis.

3. The views over the medina are good but the most interesting part of the medina is around the blue gate, which is quite a distance away and requires a taxi ride. You're basically isolated from most of the action when you stay here so be ready to take taxis throughout your stay.

4. The restaurant is too expensive for what you get and service is erratic. You can eat just as well in the Medina for much less money.

There are lots of riads in the medina that offer better accommodation and attentive service. Most of these have only a few rooms and guests get great personal attention. They are usually cheaper and give much better value. Morocco is not an expensive country and this hotel is way overpriced.

Ask yourself: if this is really a great 5-star hotel, why does it rank so low on the Trip Advisor list of Fes hotels?

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor facing the medina because these views are great. The views on the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jethro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    171
    80
    40
    22
See reviews for
124
280
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

This hotel is my favourite in Morocco. The decor is stunning and the service is friendly and efficient. The view across the medina is fantastic and you can walk there easily. It's a bit disappointing that you can't get the buffet lunch anymore, but the food (particulalry breakfast) is very good.
My advice is not to buy anything form the souvenir shop however as prices are expensive and you cn get better jewellry and Mococcan artefacts in the Medina.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed at the Sofitel Palais Jamai in Fes, Morocco. My stay was horrendous. The staff aggressively pursued guests for tips. We witnessed two doormen actually publically fight to carry in a guest's bag. When I requested information about the area, the concierge told me it was too unsafe and I must hire her guide (this turned out to be a scam and a lie). The concierge went so far as to tell me it was illegal for me to visit the area on my own. I successfully managed to tour the area on my own without a problem. When I requested a local taxi from the doorman, explicitly asking for a "petit taxi", he contacted his friend in a luxury sedan which charged 10 times the average taxi cost to my destination.

The high-speed internet even had issues. I paid close to 20 Euros extra for high speed internet access so I could complete my work only to discover the speed was so slow I was unable to make calls via Skype or access my online databases. The final issue was upon departure when the in-room safe stopped working and I was unable to remove my passport in a timely manner.

The staff at this hotel is greedy and inhospitable. A primary component of a five star hotel is service which this hotel lacks completely.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TxRoadWarrior82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

The staff and atmosphere at this hotel are wonderful. The hotel has an incredible location right on the medina, and the waves of sound with the call to prayer is truly magical.

The hotel itself is absolutely gorgeous, and the Moroccan restaurant inside as well as the Hamam are the best I've ever experienced.

Tips: arrive right after New Year's which marks the beginning of their low period. You'll likely get better rates and an upgrade.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hellokate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, India
Level Contributor
378 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Although only on a night stop, we had enough time to enjoy the property. Well appointed rooms with a large balcony overlooking the city. An excellent Moroccan restaurant where we could sample beautiful couscous with excellent local wines.
A nice buffet for breakfast with table service for the hot dishes. The building itself is beautiful being an old palace. Lots of antiques around the place.
Excellent housekeeping and late laundry service for ironing clothes after a full day trip

Room Tip: Room overlooking the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeromeMarrelGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
166 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

The location of this modern hotel is perfect: in the border of the old medina. It is accessible by car and it is near the best places inside the medina.

Room Tip: Best rooms have view to the old medina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ro_teixeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

If you can bottle great hospitality, fantastic comfort, impeccable service, perfect location it would be called Sofitel Palais Jamai.
This hotel has managed to create the perfect mix of real Morocco with western luxury without overdoing it. The staff are very warm and friendly which is rarety in luxury establishments. The food was of a very high standard. Eating breakfast on a glorious terrace overlooking a glistening pool at the end of December can't be beaten. The medina is a stone's throw away and the hotel can arrange a very knowledgable, friendly guide to take you round. Not once were we confronted by pushy traders.
The room has the most comfortable bed you will ever sleep in. The bathrooms are to die for. Lots of fluffy white towels, rose petals at turn-down service and the best shower in the world.
After a day's relaxing you can take your aperitif in the bar where they serve up a buffet of lovely appetisers. There is a choice of 2 restaurants, Al Fassia which serves wonderful Moroccan cuisine in beautiful surroundings. The restaurant is 150 years old so you can't get more authentic than that. The international restaurant Al Jounaina served a wonderful New Year's Eve gala dinner.
We can't recommend this hotel highly enough if you are looking to be pampered in the most beautiful and authentic setting.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MizAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.7 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.2 mi away
Palais Amani
Palais Amani
#19 of 98 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#15 of 98 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai

Property: Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai
Address: Bab Guissa, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#31 Family Hotel in Fes
#36 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Palais Jamaï preserves the authenticity of Fez, the spiritual and cultural capital of Morocco. This hotel was built in 1879, in the finest Moorish style, and became the residence of the Grand Vizir of Jamaï. At this Morocco luxury hotel, you willdiscover Moroccan, international and French cuisine in 3 restaurants, a spa, a piano bar, and 5 meeting rooms for up to 200 people. A swimming pool, tennis court... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes Hotel Fes
Accor Palais Jamai Fes
Sofitel Fes
Fes Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing