We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but not a "Palais"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai
Ranked #43 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Morocco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but not a "Palais"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Reasonable price, average quality service for a 5 star hotel, good location but definitely the best in Fez. The only hotel recommended in town!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Najib_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    171
    80
    40
    22
See reviews for
124
281
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

If you wanted to be treated like royalty for a very reasonable price-- an amazing value -- this is your hotel in Fez. It is the only place to consider.

From the moment our unlikely trio of grandmother, daughter and 23 month old grandson were greeted at the Tangier Ferry, we received a royal welcome. As a frequent traveler with the good fortune to experience some of the world's finest hotels, the Palais Jamai probably ranks # 1. The former palace situated in the heart of the Medina, is the perfect place to experience the true heart and soul of Fez. The rooms are palatial, spacious and comfortable. The room service was delicious and efficient, the Moroccan restaurant superb and the pastries rival anything in Paris.
But the secret of this Moroccan gem is not in the rooms, scented towels, lovely toiletries and majestic setting. It is the people that are as warm and lovely as I have ever had the pleasure to meet. Surely even Aladdin did not his ever wish fulfilled as we did. The hotel staff purchased a pool for my grandson to play in; Terik the pool lifeguard ensured his every whim fulfilled, the chamber maid and valet ran to retrieve the toy he tossed from the sixth floor window offering to piece it together.
The concierge, the general manager made this middle age woman on a budget feel like a queen and made our entire trip truly amazing and joyous. They arranged for transportation, tours and much more. They make you feel as if it is honestly their pleasure.

Splendor, graciousness, luxury and goodness await you at the Sofitel Palais Jamai overlooking the mythical and soulful city of Fez.


.

Room Tip: We were on a budget, but our rooms were heavenly though facing the front of the hotel. The Medina is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodymayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caribbean
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

It is disappointing to have to write such a report on this famous hotel, which has been an institution in Fes ever since it opened as a hotel.
In summary, it just has to be said that it is obviously very-badly managed these days. It is run-down, and shabby, in so many respects. For instance, it seems as if the silver (heavy silver plate) has not been cleaned for months; the bathrooms are not clean andrequire renovation and attention (and they are small); and, overall, the place requires a good cleaning.

They style themselves as a luxury hotel: give us a break! The towel supply in the bathrooms is limited (i.e. no small towels); they are not changed at all during the day/evening. There does not appear to be any turn-down service; there was no replenishment of bathroom items, stationary, snacks, bottled water during our two-day stay; room service was slow; the lift service was even slower; the breakfast buffet was boring and second rate. Service throughout the hotel was very variable - mediocre in fact. The rooms are shabby; the air-conditioning old fashioned (but it does sort of work).

The other guests are very mixed, but generally non-descript, and uninteresting; rarely stylish, etc. But I suppose their principal characteristic is that they have plenty of money, and are rather undermanding (and superficial, etc)??

The hotel is wonderfully located, and is an architectural gem. Currently, it needs a lot of care and attention; and someone in charge who knows how to really run a first-class hotel, and who has the ability to generate and maintain an ambiance which is consistent with the prices charged.

This has been my third stay over the years; I will not stay again, until I become aware of major changes.

Room Tip: Obviously the rooms overlooking the medina are preferred - and these are considerably more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldfairdealtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed here two nights last year part of The Global Scavenger Hunt travel adventure...a great place in the center of the old city and near the famed souk...a walk left, a walk right and you are there!. The grounds are stunning and the restaurant is fabulous...the staff is warm and helpful!

Room Tip: Hire a guide ASAP...it is worth it to NOT have touts bug you and you will see all the sights and vis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
291 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

The overall decor of hotel and rooms is superb; our room had a balcony overlooking pool and medina and was large and comfortable. Only complaint with room was excessive bird droppings on balcony. Meals excellent (both in Moroccan and European restaurants); pool heated and large; nice bar with occasional entertainment - prices a bit high, as are all hotel bars in Morocco. Location right on edge of Medina excellent. Be sure to ask to see royal suite if vacant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I was very happy with the service in general. The service and the food in the Morocain restaurent was excelent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

The Palais Jamais de Fes is an hotel in which superficiality and dis-attention can make you lose the comparative advantage of having the privilege of staying in a place like this: immersed into the history but strongly relying on modern services highest standards.
The Palace is really special, beautiful to the smallest detail, but the attention of the staff make you feel you are the detail they care most. Evidently the Palace complete the magic beauty of the royal Fez: you have to love the historical city and its atmosphere to really enjoy the Palace, and vice-versa.
That's why I am saying not to go to the Palace with hurry, looking for a quick bite. There is a river of culture that is laying below the City and the Palace, and you need time, attention, patience and love.
You may get more value for your money if you understand why this hotel is so special, even if the restaurant could be better! Really less superficial, it could be with the enormous savoir-faire that is present in the Palace.
you can disembark with the same spirit rk

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view on the old city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LNT07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.7 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.2 mi away
Palais Amani
Palais Amani
#18 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#16 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai

Property: Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai
Address: Bab Guissa, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#30 Family Hotel in Fes
#35 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Palais Jamaï preserves the authenticity of Fez, the spiritual and cultural capital of Morocco. This hotel was built in 1879, in the finest Moorish style, and became the residence of the Grand Vizir of Jamaï. At this Morocco luxury hotel, you willdiscover Moroccan, international and French cuisine in 3 restaurants, a spa, a piano bar, and 5 meeting rooms for up to 200 people. A swimming pool, tennis court... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes Hotel Fes
Accor Palais Jamai Fes
Sofitel Fes
Fes Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing