We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai
Ranked #44 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    171
    80
    40
    22
See reviews for
124
280
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
144 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

If planning a trip to Morocco, you have to stay at the Sofitel Palais Jamai.
From the moment you arrive until the end of the stay you feel like a member of the Royal family.
The service is perfect, the rooms are comfortable, the food superb and the view of the hold Medina breathtaking.
I recommend Fes and definitely the Palais Jamais as the place to be in town.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank G974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR-SPJ, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear sir,

I am very happy to read the comment that you wrote apropos of your stay at the Sofitel Palais Jamai, plus I am very pleased thank you from all the staff at our facility we have chosen, while you wish to receive for your next stay and serve you better service.

Karam Akjouj
Gust realations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
266 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Fes is a unique, charming city with an authentic Moroccan feel. The Palais Jamai is probbaly the best place to stay at while enjoying this experience. The decor and the rooms are all fabulous, nicely done in a traditional Moroccan style. There are lots of options in terms of pool, dining, terrace, and even some restaurant with a show nearby. The fact that a couple of movies and soap operas were filmed here also enhances the experience. Even the elevators are fantastic as well as the welcome tea. An experience that leaves behind great memories.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReyVas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR-SPJ, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear sir,

I am very happy to read the comment that you wrote apropos of your stay at the Sofitel Palais Jamai, plus I am very pleased thank you from all the staff at our facility we have chosen, while you wish to receive for your next stay and serve you better service.

Karam Akjouj
Gust realations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

This was the last hotel of our two week trip. We wanted a splurge but not in a riad so staying in an old palace fit the bill.
Our room - we tried to book one room for two adults and two children on expedia and failed. So we called sofitel directly about 3 times and on the third managed to get an agent who called the hotel to check if a double could accommodate us and they said yes. On arrival we actually got upgraded to a junior suite which was simply lovely. Huge bed. Lovely bath and separate shower room. Fluffy white robes. They actually bought us two foldaway beds vs one with lovely crisp white linen. The view of the city from our room on the fifth floor was spectacular.
The pools - there is a main pool which is really deep. Deeper than any hotel pool I have ever experienced. S if you are travelling with small children you may want to use the more shaded shallow pool in the courtyard below.
Breakfast - was a sumptuous buffet everyday. Over three days the menu items did not change but there was enough choice for us to have something different everyday. The female waiting staff were not very great at remembering your tea or coffee order and would get rather surly on being reminded. This was the only downside and the only negative experience of the staff. The spread is French, Morrocan and Continental.
The Bar - is in a lovely setting looking over the medina rooftops. As smoking is permitted indoors in Morocco you do have to move about a bit to be away from the smoke! Sitting on the terrace was our preference.
The Cafe - there is a cafe open all day serving food from the room service menu. We only ate there once and paid 650Dhms for three large baguettes and a bowl of pasta.
Concierge - was simply lovely. Always smiling. Always helpful.
Decor - I have read the reviews below about shabby interiors etc etc. This is an old palace! How amazing to stay somewhere with so much history and character. It's not spanking and shiny everywhere but it is full of wonderful antiques and nooks and crannies that are beautifully decorated in traditional Moroccan style. All areas are spotlessly clean and the gardens are lovely.

Room Tip: Try for a room on one of the higher floors facing the pool side of the hotel so you get the city and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoeFamilyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR-SPJ, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear sir,

I am very happy to read the comment that you wrote about your stay at the Sofitel Palais Jamai, plus I am very pleased thank you from all the staff at our facility we have chosen, while you wish to receive for your next stay and serve you better service.

Karam Akjouj
Gust realations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were in fes for a day and had read about the charming bar at the Sofitel and decided to have a post dinner drink. The bar was extremely smokey and so we sat in the area just outside the bar. Aside from the smoke, we didn't think that the bar was that charming. It was a typical old school bar. The service was average as our waiter seemed to have quite an attitude.
Overall, there wasn't anything super special about the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RadParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Fez is the most amazing place, my favourite of all places visited. Located overlooking the ancient city this hotel has the most wonderful views of the medina from the room especially if you are located on the upper floors (we were on level 5). The hotel is amazing with its mosaic work and the traditional feel that you are going back in time. The mosaics in the bathroom may need a bit of updating but that is all part of the charm. The staff are friendly, attentive and can't do enough to help. We arranged a Guide called Diss through the hotel who gave us a guided tour of the city and would recommend him. The breakfast was good with a good selection and we had an evening meal in the Moroccan restaurant which we thoroughly enjoyed. The room was excellent and beds comfortable with effective air conditioning and it was good to relax by the pool in the heat of the day although it was rather deep for a small person! My daughter used the gym and we both enjoyed the spa.
Recommended for a short stay if you want to explore Fez.
The plus was that it is in walking distance to the medina (in fact the wall of the garden is part of it)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the medina on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WatfordLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELFES, Directeur général at Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Fès Palais Jamaï. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.7 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.2 mi away
Palais Amani
Palais Amani
#18 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#15 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai

Property: Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai
Address: Bab Guissa, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#31 Family Hotel in Fes
#36 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Palais Jamaï preserves the authenticity of Fez, the spiritual and cultural capital of Morocco. This hotel was built in 1879, in the finest Moorish style, and became the residence of the Grand Vizir of Jamaï. At this Morocco luxury hotel, you willdiscover Moroccan, international and French cuisine in 3 restaurants, a spa, a piano bar, and 5 meeting rooms for up to 200 people. A swimming pool, tennis court... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes Hotel Fes
Accor Palais Jamai Fes
Sofitel Fes
Fes Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing