We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly palatial place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai
Ranked #46 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A truly palatial place”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed two wonderful weeks in the Palais Jamai in Febrary - I had visited the hotel and meandered around the medina over 40 years ago. The hotel was as charming as I remembered and the staff were wonderfully welcoming and obliging. I stayed around the hotel - escaping the snow at home and catching up on my reading and relaxing. The food was very good indeed - I don't think you can get a bad meal in Morocco - everyone loves their food and is more than willing to discuss cuisine with you. My bedroom had a lovely view over the mountains - they offered me one with a garden view - an upgrade - for the second week but I was quite happy with my room and the view. All the furniture is in the Moroccan style - the bedroom lamps have a beautiful breads filigree covers and the headboard is outstanding. The linens are pristine and the bed is very comfortable - the bathroom is clean and well stocked - and beautifully tiled. I loved the scattering of rose petals on my bath mat! A lovely touch. I particularly want to thank Jamal the concierge, always charming and very helpful, Mlle. Rajae at the front desk who was always smiling and a credit to the hotel, and the wonderful Abdelslim - a waiter in the Terrace restaurant (Oliveraie) who took me under his wing and set my table every breakfast and lunch ready for me - and brought my cafe au lair without even waiting for me to ask. That is truly anticipating a guest's needs. The gardens are beautiful and well kept. The medina is just outside the front door - but I recommend having a guide as it really is a rabbit warren - but it is a fascinating place and people really do live there and you see the donkeys and smell the spices and see a different way of life. I could have stayed another couple of months - it is such a special place. Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mzbrit1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR-SPJ, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feed back
I well share it with all the staff. We are very happy you appreciated your stay un Fès.

Hope to se you soon.

AMAL EL ARFAOUI GUEST RELATIONS MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    171
    80
    40
    22
See reviews for
124
281
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

There is so much to enjoy and experience in Fes that your don't want it to end at the end of the day. By staying at the Sofittel Fes Palais Jamai you won't have to. You must stay in a room with a view of the Medina. Open the door, pull up a chair and watch as the sun sets and you listen to the last call to prayer. You know you're in Fes, one of Morocco's oldest cities. Or rise at dawn and watch the Medina come to life as the birds begin their slow flight over the city. Amazing.

The hotel is richly decorated in the Moroccan style. The food is lovely. We especially enjoyed a lunch buffet outside overlooking the gardens. This hotel is what we hoped to find in Morocco.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR-SPJ, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,
we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Fès Palais Jamai
Our staff sork exceptionally hard to make sure that every guestfeels special
thank you very much for staying with us.
We hope to see you in near future.
Sincerly,

AMAL EL ARFAOUI GUEST RELATIONS MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Sofittel Fes Palais Jamai was a welcome site after our second week in Morocco, the hustle and bustle of the Medina and life in Fes is 5 minutes away but tranquil gardens, fantastic moroccan/french cuisine, beautiful views are what the Softel is about.

The hotel it what you probably would expect of a fine European brand. Not a true cultural representation of typical Moroccan life but a nice treat if your desiring such. The staff at the property were attentive, helpful and accommodating. There was confusion though about the restaurant choices and menus for both breakfast and lunch, (still not sure) there were buffet choices on tiers of menu but for breakfast we just asked for the basics and ended up full buffet?

Room Tip: ask to for room viewing Medina, ours faced the other direction and was fine but the preference is fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR-SPJ, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Fès Palais Jamai on your visit to Fès.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Fès.

AMAL EL ARFAOUI GUEST RELATIONS MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The Sofitel Fès Palais Jamaï is exactly what you would expect - truly outstanding service and accomodation! The decor and construction of the hotel is a perfect mix of Moroccon and French architecture. The location is amazing and the view from our hotel was absolutely breathtaking, amongst the landscaped gardens that dominate the medina.

The breakfast buffet was fantastic with all the usual variety you would expect on a 5* star buffet.

The service was prompt and all the staff were courteous and receptive. We received some goodies and refreshing towels upon arrival.

The only disappointment was the children's swimming pool, which we requested them to clean up. They were unable to do that, however, they did manage to get a life guard (and some swimming aid) who looked after the kids in the adult swimming area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tahirasahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR-SPJ, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear guest,

We are deleighted to hear that you has a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Fès Palais Jamai.
We also thank you for the positive review of our Hotel
We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feed backs helping our ambassadors motivation and recognition.
Our ambassadors work axceptionally hard to make sure that every guest feels special.

Thank you so much for staying with us.

We hope tosee you in near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Older but beautiful and charming hotel. A step into the past with modern conveniences, great location and views next to the Medina. Naima the morning concierge was excellent and organized four totally enjoyable tours with Transport Touristique (Aziz). Food at Moroccan restaurant was good accompanied by belly dancers accompanied by a typical "gnaoua" band! Beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amachadoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here in Fes in October of 2013. The palace itself is gorgeous and the location and view of the medina may be the very best. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

Because the hotel is so impressive, it was disappointing that it was diminished by a series of little odd experiences.

The Internet connection was frequently an issue.

There were swarms of bees about our table each morning at breakfast (some friends we made while there actually had a birds' nest in the light fixture above their table, and I would choose the bees).

When your key is not plugged into the socket in your room, there is no electricity. We were only given one key and had to specifically request another (after realizing all electronics left to charge were dead). When we returned to our room to retrieve our charged electronics, we found them still uncharged and our extra key apparently reclaimed by housekeeping.

The pool is gorgeous and we enjoyed relaxing there, but the staff member there only very begrudgingly gave out towels and we noticed that guests who came down and didn't specifically request towels did not receive them.

Also (and lastly) there was much confusion each night when we ordered a bottle of French wine- not Moroccan- and we're presented with various bottles until receiving the desired one.

Let me emphasize that these quirks did not tarnish our stay. We laughed about them and it made the experience more personal, if anything. But judging on the image of the hotel, they were surprising.

The staff on the whole were fabulous. Kadija, the breakfast / lunch f&b manager was outstanding.

If I ever do return to Fes, I would stay there again- even with the same issues!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I appreciate that this was a vizier's palace however, the rooms were not up to par for a luxury hotel. They were small, and looked a little worn. The lighting was terrible and the bathroom very small and not well serviced. Ventilation very poor.

The rest of the hotel was fine and the food very good. Location was in the old city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.7 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.2 mi away
Palais Amani
Palais Amani
#17 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#15 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai

Property: Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai
Address: Bab Guissa, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#30 Family Hotel in Fes
#35 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Palais Jamaï preserves the authenticity of Fez, the spiritual and cultural capital of Morocco. This hotel was built in 1879, in the finest Moorish style, and became the residence of the Grand Vizir of Jamaï. At this Morocco luxury hotel, you willdiscover Moroccan, international and French cuisine in 3 restaurants, a spa, a piano bar, and 5 meeting rooms for up to 200 people. A swimming pool, tennis court... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes Hotel Fes
Accor Palais Jamai Fes
Sofitel Fes
Fes Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing