We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Youth Hostel in Fes”
Review of Youth Hostel Fes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Youth Hostel Fes
Ranked #15 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Fes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This Youth Hostel is spectacular. The best part of staying at the youth hostel was the friendliness of the staff. We were greeted by a gentleman named Abdellah. He is the reason we had a great time in Fes. He helped us for everything from getting a guide for the Medina to setting up the a trip to the Sahara Desert. I had the time of my life thanks to him. The hostel is very comfortable for the unbeatable price you pay (around 10 U.S. Dollars a night).

It is improved greatly since I last visited 3 years ago. Bathrooms are clean, breakfast is good and great environment for meeting other travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Youth Hostel Fes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

The first place we stayed at on our trip to morocco.
Abdellah, the host, is a very kind, warm and welcoming man, that gives you good advice on tours and guides around town. We´ve had a nice tour through the medina, that also contained a little shopping but in quite nice places. For another day, we´ve had a car tour through beautiful middle atlas with a very nice guide.
The place is very clean and has a beautiful yard, that i guess is very nice to hang out in the summer. In winter, this hostel is a bit cold, but you will be provided with lots of blankets to keep you warm!!!
The hostel is located in the nouvelle ville, so you need to walk a little or take a taxi for about 8dh to get to the medina (we did not mind)
hint: ask for opening hours in the beginning, with us, the hostel was locked in between 4 and 6 pm and from 10 pm at night.
All in all a really nice first stay in Fes!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

Well, this hostel is a near-perfect option for the budget traveller. Rooms are squeaky clean, but quite cold in winter, though nice warm blankets are provided so at least you won't be sleeping cold. The hot water is actually hot, not tepid, but only provided between 8-9 am and 8-9 pm. Breakfast is simple, but good, we got two croissants and a café au lait. Toilets are western-style and clean. The hostel got us a medina guide for 150 Dh who was knowledgeable and helpful. You'll be taken to carpet, leather and cloth shops, but only the carpet dealer will push you into buying. Just be firm and say no politely, and if the hassle gets too much, tell the guide and he will reproach the salesman firmly.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrederikT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We went out for a bite to eat came back and the door was locked from 3pm till 6pm. Noone told us of this. Had to wait for hours for the person to open the door. no apology. dont do the tour they offer. it a load of crap. they force you into buying carpets. it was informative though so if you do it just say straight up that you are not interested in buying or selling anything!

Room Tip: end room free wireless internet or go on the roofp
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helpfullady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

This is a youth hostel, so you can't expect luxury. However, it's a good cheap place to stay in Fes. We booked a double room and it was very affordable and about what we'd expect from a hostel. The breakfast is very good and the staff is friendly and helpful. The hostel has a beautiful courtyard.

Unfortunately, it's not good for winter weather. I bet it would be a very fun place to stay in summer but it was cold when we were there and everyone stayed in their rooms. You have to go outside (and freeze your tail off) to go to the bathroom. There's no heat in the rooms but lots of warm blankets. Also, the hot water is very limited (during limited morning hours) and the gate is closed at certain times. In summer, none of these things would be issues.

Overall, though, I recommend this hostel for budget travelers. It was an unbeatable price and a pleasant place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rei-chan35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We slept here for three nights and really liked the place! It is a bit difficult to find, and in an not-so-nice neighbourhood, but the hostel it self is lovely! The staff is very helpful and friendly, they gave a lot of good advice. The breakfast was simple, but among the best we ate in Marocco! Croissants to die for. I really recommend this hostel to everyone going to Fes!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

This place is ok if you want a cheap place to stay in Fes, and the rooms seemed clean enough. However, if you are going to stay here, consider the following:

1) One of the hostel staff (can't remember the name) will come across as the friendliest guy in the world, until he has convinced you that you would be suicidal to go into the old medina without a guide. We bought his story and got a guide, and also believed him when he said official guides don't get commission on things we buy. Turns out we would have been much better off without a guide - our tour was simply the guide taking us to a load of his mates' shops to see if we would buy anything - he clearly was going to get a commission. Makes us suspect the hostel staff member and the guide were mates. Funnily enough, he didn't seem as friendly afterwards.

2) The hostel has some random opening times. It closes from 10am-12pm (supposedly for cleaning), so if you're not out of your room by 10, they will knock on the door and wake you up!!

3) The hostel locks up for the night at 10pm, which rules out any late arrivals and also means you can't go out for a late-night snack or anything else. We had to ask permission to go out at 9:30, incase we got back after the doors had closed - makes you feel like a 6-year-old asking the teacher for permission to go to the toilet.

4) The toilets aren't very clean and there is no toilet paper provided.

5) If you go in winter, the rooms will be freezing. No heating is provided.

6) You are not within walking distance of the old medina, so will have to take a taxi every time you want to go there. Nothing to see around where there hostel is located.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank explorer0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#42 of 100 in Fes
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#15 of 100 in Fes
343 reviews
1.9 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 100 in Fes
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Across Hotels & Spa
Across Hotels & Spa
#71 of 100 in Fes
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#57 of 100 in Fes
616 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#56 of 100 in Fes
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Hostel Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Fes

Address: 18 Rue Abdeslam Seghrini, Ville Nouvelle, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Fes
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Youth Hostel Fes Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing