We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best holtels, fes, Morocco”
Review of Royal Mirage Fes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Mirage Fes
Ranked #54 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Dayton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one of the best holtels, fes, Morocco”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 6 days in September, as part of our tradition to visit a deferent country every year. And I can honestly say Pickalbatros Royal Mirage Fes, is one of the best hotels we have stayed in.
The staff often went out their way to make sure we had a great relaxing vacation. Especially the manager Mr. Rachid El hani, with his professional attitude and his warm and hospitable personality made our stay their very comfortable.
The view from our room over looked the beautiful and sparkling pool.
The hotel is located at the heart of the city, yet once you’re inside, you could not hear the raging traffic on the out side.
Every thing you need is in walking distance even the train station.
You can get a taxi just out side the hotel, day or night.
We fail in love with the traditional Moroccan cuisine at the hotel, they had so many choices and the prices were reasonable. Needless to say, the food was absolutely delicious.
The room was very clean, the A/C worked great.
We were amazed by the beautiful paintings and the detailed architecture throughout the entire hotel witch clearly reflected the deep tradition and pride of the city.
In short, would I recommend this hotel? Yes; Absolutely.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    169
    152
    49
    51
See reviews for
135
151
61
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2011

To organize an event, you will not find better than the hotel pickalbatros. a big meeting room, equipped well (Laptop, microphones, blocnotes, flipchart, datashow...) with a daily technical support. My stay lasted one week with about twenty guests, the hotel welcomed well to us and spread a lot of effort to put us in the restoring comfortably.
A good restaurant where we find a good sideboard there, highly varied, With a very good service for the whole hotel's staff.Without forgetting served commercial, where I was supported and assisted by Mrs.Nora El Yacouti and Mr. Rachid (deputy director) during all the organization of the event.

You do not regret if you try Pickalbatros Hotels in Fez !!!!

Room Tip: Rooms view on swimming pool and hotel's gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikram i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Myself and my boyfriend aged 25 and 26 stayed at this hotel in September 2011.
The hotel is actually called 'Albatros Garden' but you also may hear it be calle Pickalobatros and Mirage hotel.
We stayed for 5 nights on an All inclusive basis.

Overall this was a great stay!!! I would reccomend this hotel as it was great value and overall a nice expereince aside from a few minor issues.

LOCATION - Great location only 5 minutes from the airport. I was a little worried about this incase you could hear the noise, but you can't and I saw only 1-2 planes fly a day.
Close to the main square and souks, roughly 15 minute walk, but nice to stroll around and take a look at the city.

TAXI - A taxi tried to charge us 200 Driham for a 5 minite jouney to the hotel, but instead opted to take the bus which you can jump on straight outside the airport and is only 20 dirham a person which was well worth it as it seriously is within walking distance.
A taxi from the hotel to the souks at around 4pm was 30 dirham and he also took us to see a few other sites. The later it is the more the taxi charges, but for a 10 minute journey you shouldnt be paying more than 50 dirham

HOTEL SERVICE - We didn't expereince the greatest reception and wasn't given any information about restaurants or times for meals, but it was easy enough to work out ourselves.
The reception staff were a little rude especially if you don't speak French.
Overall staff were ok.

ROOMS - We had a really nice room, however on the first night at around 11pm, really loud morrocan music started to play. It was so loud it sounded like we were above a nightclub.
We were in the 'Riad' section of the hotel 'DO NOT STAY IN THIS SECTION IF YOU WANT TO SLEEP!!!!!!
I called through to reception at around 11.30pm and asked where the music was coming from and they told me a place called 'Mirage' which was just outside the hotel which we could see from our room. The night manager told us that it will be finishing soon. After trying to sleep for 2 hours we went down to reception to ask to be moved rooms as the music was way too loud. We were then told it would be finished at 4am but will only be for tonight.
The music however was way to loud that we then called down to say we needed to move which they agreed so we packed our bags and waited for someone to come to our room to move us. 30 minutes later no-one had come so we went back to reception (now 2.30am)
The night manager then told us he had no rooms and couldnt move us. We were furious as we were just told to pack out things.
A long story short we moved to a better room the next night.

Overall the rooms where very spacious and clean and the werid thing is they give you 2 double beds per room, so lots of space.

SWIMMING POOL - Great pools, not much going on aside from a few games and some loud French/Morrocon music around the main pool. Relaxing and always got a sunbed

FOOD - The food was nice and quite a variety, however a buffet always gets a little same same. There isn't alot of options for kids, they basically eat what the adults do which is nice and more nutricious than the chips they have for the kids.
There are also a few other restaurants in the hotel for self catering guests, but we didn't visit any of these.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the RIad section as the music from the nearby Mirage is VERY loud until 4am each n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarajean902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PickalbatrosFes, Directeur général at Royal Mirage Fes, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feed back regarding Albatros Garden , Howerver, your comment was misseplaced under Pickalbtaros Fes which is a different Hotel, we will relay the message our sister Hotel in MARAKECH in order for them to improve their services .

we take your feed back very seriously and we we look forward to welcome you and thus you can experience our Pickalbatros Royal Mirage FES.

Once again, we thank you for your honest feed back and we highly recommand you to come and experience the city of FES. We have a lot of natural and healthy atractions and resources such as the Thermal stations Moulay Yacoub, Ain Allah and Sidi Harazem. Moreover, the Atlas mountains are 01 hours by car where there are lakes and breath taking sceneries and adventure.

Sincerly yours

A.Ibrahim
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed for 2 nights as a tour group. The hotel is well appointed with marbled public areas, some small shops, and a large pool and outdoor bar. very pleasant for a nightcap by moonlight.
Rooms are very much like any other 3star hotel, larger than the normal UK, with twin double beds.
Food for breakfast and dinner is buffet-style and acceptable. Not something to savour but you won't starve. Staff are pleasant and generally helpful.
The hotel motto is 'Bien plus qu'une illusion' which can be understood in more than one way!

Room Tip: Do not have a room facing the main road. There is no double glazing, and the traffic is non-stop all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppnumerianus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

the hotel was very clean , great location walking distance to the square (souk)a great bargains must barter that's the fun of it . make sure you take your credit card much easier to exchange .must go to the atlas mountain amazing !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! would deffo go back but not in august to hot hot hot air con was amazing .food got a bit boring but you wouldn't starve .during the day there was things for you too do water sport ,.darts .evening there could be more entrainment for teenagers even a disco for !13 -16

Room Tip: the rooms are fab 2 large double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULINE056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I organised a trip to Fez for 20 people from Belgium...
All the members of my group enjoy their stay, the service, the food,...everything was more than expected...we'll back.

Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank tbsunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Well, first of all it should be mentionned that this hotel is centrally located whithin the new part of Fès (quite far from the old médina), which can come with its advantages of being close to facilities such as post office, big cafés, and transport..
That said the hotel is quite old and needs some serious lifting , especially the rooms. In my case, i requested and changed rooms three times only to find that the mattresses were all the same: spongy, old and super uncomfortable , not at all of the standards of a respectable hotel that cares about the well being of its guests. the Breakfast is OK but basic. I did not venture to order any food because of an earlier experience at the same Hotel where i had been served meals that was tastelessly prepared and showed the lack of professionalism ( a manager later apologized and explained that it was prepared by an "intern" ..I refused to reorder..).
Anyway, average Hotel for those who are looking for quality service and comfort, but surely can prove a bargain for budget hotel seekers such as the several tourist groups who you meet often there!!

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room (normally has an LCD screen) though it itself needs an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangolover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PickalbatrosFes, Directeur général at Royal Mirage Fes, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Our Dear Welcomed Guests,

We would like to Thank you for your feedback.

Please allow us to introduce ourselves, We at “Pickalbatros Royal Mirage” are a New Company had taken over April 1st, 2011 , since 3 months ago, we would like to kindly share with you that we have done a Make over in the Restaurants & Outdoor Pool area with the Décor & Ambiance, Buffet Presentations, Food selections on a daily rotation, Music, Lighting & Entertainment. Upgraded and Modified Rooms 80% of the 1st floor, 58% 2nd floor, 50% 3rd floor and ongoing upgrading of the product will continue. There’s also plans in the upcoming months for Entertainment additions commencing construction and it will be external in order not do inconvenience our Guests.

We welcome you back Home away from Home and we are there for you and Family.



Regional General Manager Operations – Pickalbatros Maroc

A. S. Ibrahim & Pickalbatros Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fes hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#42 of 99 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Fes
Ramada Fes
#69 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Volubilis
Hotel Volubilis
#84 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palais Medina & Spa
Palais Medina & Spa
#31 of 99 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa Agapanthe
Villa Agapanthe
#48 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mirage Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mirage Fes

Property: Royal Mirage Fes
Address: Avenue des Far, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Mirage Fes 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Mirage Fes Hotel is a modern hotel, but one which has been designed to reflect the rich past of the city in which it is situated. Its 271 air-conditioned rooms including 27 non smoking rooms, 7 Junior Suites and 5 Royal Suites, all modern, elegantly furnished and offer easy access to guests with wheelchairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Mirage Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickalbatros Royal Mirage Hotel Fes
Royal Mirage Hotel Fes
Fes Royal Mirage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing