We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar el-Ghalia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
46
28
13
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
28
13
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscovered courtyardfountainmazetaxiroyaltyhammaminteriorriadmustafarooftop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2011

This review is a long time in coming, as I visited in August 2008. I will admit I was nervous going to Morocco, concerned that Americans would not be treated well. Still I opted to stay here, to experience a traditional stay. The hotel staff, possibly proprieter (do not recall his name), was wonderful. We were looking for a guide, and he found one for us, that took us around for the day, the price was reasonable. His name was Cous Cous. Note, the tour will include sites with strong sales practices, thus if you're planning to purchase, understand prices for fountains, rugs, antiques, before visting. To get to the hotel, you do go through a maze of alleys, but all clearly marked and well lit. To go to restaurants, we did ask for escort to the site, as going through the alley at night was a bit disconcerting first time. We were the only Americans here, and met many Europeans, thus we were told not as many Americans venture here, thus we felt they made a special welcome towards Americans. The restaurant on the rooftop was ok, but an enjoyable experience. Hearing the call for prayers and staying at this site was one of my memorable experience in my travels.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We stayed in this lovely Riad in Nov 2010, there were 7 females in our party. The location was just inside the Medina, so peaceful that you were totally unaware of the hustle and bustle of the market. Excellent views of the mountains from the terrace, I can imagine how lovely it would have been to have dined up here in the evenings in the summer however food was not served up here in November. We found the staff charming and helpful, most evenings they allowed us access to the hotel's computer for internet use. The Hamman in the hotel was fun and cost around £14. We had booked three rooms between 7 of us but when we arrived we were shown a number of rooms and allowed to choose. Three of us were up graded to the Suite, 4 poster bed a little dusty but very authentic. Our best day out was taking a taxi for a 20 minute trip to a nearby Spa in the Mid Atlas mountains which for £40 each was amazing - walk in cave with with hot steam from the minerals plus various other hot pools, saunas - the Dar el-Ghalia staff will advise you of the name of Spa. Definitely recommend this hotel, however not the guide (they provided) as only interested getting you to buy carpets etc from his contacts. Overall a fabulous Riad, check-out the place at night with just the candles lit - magical!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolK86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

There is absolutely nothing bad about this hotel: once you learn how to come back to the riad it is very easy to find it. The staff is just great: kind, bright, funny and friendly. The restaurant is great as well, with traditional (and delicious), Moroccan food. The breakfast changes every morning and you will be able to taste Moroccan delights while looking at Fez sitting in the terrace. There is no noise at night and the fountain of the yard makes fresher the whole riad. Just wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ardeelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

After a hassling trip from the station by the taxi mafia, we arrived in a paradise through the wall to sit and sip mint tea before registration The interior area is large and the staff were very helpful and incredibly discreet. Rooms are spacious if the floors a little uneven, to be expected after 700 years I guess. The Manager gave us good advice on where to go and to get lost without a giude. Anyone will guide you home for 10 Dirhams (1 Euro) or less. Breakfast on the terrace with a view that was awe inspiring is a fantastic way to start your day before a wander through the souk.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedroziggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

My girlfriend at I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights in February for our first trip to Morocco. This hotel is located inside the Medina and you must walk about 1000 feet through narrow, winding passageways from the road. We arrived in Fes after dark, so we were a little concerned when our cab driver got out of the car and was leading us to the hotel. Fortunately, he knew where the hotel was, because a few other cab drivers that we rode with during our trip didnt.

For dinner on the first night, we were afraid to venture out our first night, so we ate at the hotel restaurant, which was extremely overpriced. Since the hotel is in a residential area of the Medina, there are no nearby restaurants. The best thing to do is to take a cab into New Fes to eat, which should cost $2. We stayed in the Yazmeen Room and to our suprise there was no tv.

On a positive note, this experience was authentically Moroccan. The decor inside the hotel, although a little worn, was excellent. There is a nice courtyard inside and even has a water fountain. The hotel was very quiet at night. There are only 13 rooms and it seemed like everybody went to bed around 9PM.

Overall, I think you get what you pay for. This property is one of the cheapest guesthouses that we found inside the Medina. It's priced a little less, because it's off the beaten path.

I think the only thing that makes it a 4-star is the lobby and restaurant decor. The rooms and bathrooms could definitely use some refurbishing.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewJerseyColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews