We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad, Horrible location”
Review of Dar el-Ghalia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dar el-Ghalia
Ranked #61 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed 21 August 2008

The Riad itself is lovely. An 18th century palace converted to a riad. Our room on the first floor was just remarkable, with amazing decor. There is a hammam in this Riad which is well worth it...be sure to book one along with a massage. Great value for your money and you will be incredibly relaxed. The terrace is lovely however the view is primarily of the rooftops of the medina and lots of satellite dishes. However, is it lovely to sit there and hear the azzan being called. The food is not bad either and reasonably priced. The staff is quite helpful, and will even run down to the market to make purchases for you. I highly recommend getting some of the olive soap used in the hammam to take back.

The only downside to this Riad is the location. It is located about 5-10 minutes walk inside the Medina, but not in a good area of the medina. There are quite alot of young men loitering about, which would make you feel very unsafe. I did not feel comfortable walking around at night, and even during the day , on occasion. If you wouuld like to stay at this Riad, I highly recommend you ask them to meet you at the train station or wherever your point of arrival is. Also, ask them too book you a tour guide to take you around the souks and anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloridaTravelGirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Dar el-Ghalia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2008

This place is like a palace and the staff treat you like royalty. The price is not cheap, but compare it with what you get for the same price $220/night in America or Europe, and I am sure you will see it as a bargain. Just decide whether you want to be pampered like royalty or have a no frills budget accommodation. This place is all frills. The architecture and craftsmanship of the building is finer than many of the touristic monuments in Morocco and some of the most impressive photos we have brought back are from the Dar El-Ghalia rather than from heritage sites. Our "room" , one of the smallest, called "Ezzarqia" I think, was actually more of a suite. All mod cons, but in medieval Moroccan style with stained glass windows, period furniture, mosaic floors and two sitting areas in addition to the bed, which was up some stairs like a loft (the on in the main photo for this hotel, I believe).

Breakfast is upstairs on the fantastic roof terrace. They bring you a set menu, but will cater to your needs if you say you would prefer something else. Service is first-class.

The only issue is the location. You need a $1-2 taxi ride to get to the touristic sites and the venues for the music festival. But after being treated like royalty at the Dar El-Ghalia, you are hardly going to trek through the medina with a backpack. The only problem is late at night when taxis may be difficult to find and the stray dogs of Fez are roaming the streets in packs. Tip: Getting to the hotel, don't give the address but tell the driver you want to go to Raseef Square and get off just before that square (a petit taxi stop) when you see the bank and pharmacy.

Overall, this hotel is a luxurious treat at a price which compares favourably with what you could get in Europe or the States.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

Dar El Ghalia (called Riad El Ghalia on Hostelworld) was like no place I'd stayed before, really beautiful. For a suite for two people when we booked, it was only 120$ per night. If you've never been to Morocco before, I highly recommend flying there and getting in during the day. We had a 20 hour bus-boat-bus travel from Seville, Spain and arrived at 2:30am and had a bit of a shady experience with the cab driver and the Medina is not a place you want to try to navigate on your own at night...a bit scary. If you call the hotel ahead of time to let them know you are coming, someone will meet you on the main street and walk you in (cars cannot drive through the medina, it's too narrow). We were also worried about walking around at night to go to a show/dinner on the second night. One of the staff personally walked us there and spoke with someone at the restaurant to make sure that they called us a cab, walked us out to it and called to hotel to let them know we were coming so they could meet us out side...and they wouldn't accept tips, how's that for service? We only had a short time there and I wish we'd hired a guide to see all of the high points of the city, but there are always the random people in the medina that can cheaply take you to any specific place (tanneries-amazing, pottery, rugs-"Tissage Berbere" is a great place, the lovely owner Driss gave my friend and I BOTH a free rug and only I bought from him!!) if you just want that...just don't hire a kid...they should be in school!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bluebeary45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2008

This is a lovely riad, but not quite worth the rather exorbitant holiday rates...and the holiday meals are not nearly special enough to warrant the price. Additionally, the staff seem pretty clueless most of the time. If you are an adventurous, well-informed traveler, you will have to take charge of your own experiences in Fes, as the staff aren't particularly knowledgeable about what is going on around town. Friendly and as helpful as they can be, but not very clever.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank khaleesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2006

This was our first experience of a riad. It was pretty and our room was pleasant, if long and narrow and very dark.
The worst thing was that on one night there was no water at all in the hotel and none the next morning when we were given two large bottles of water to wash in(not quite the same somehow!). The other nights we only managed to get a little warm water into the bath and even that took ages. At least we didn't have a shower! We were told that lack of water wascommon in that quarter of the medina, owing to the antiquated systems .
The riad's meals were good, if not cheap, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elizalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2006

Dar El-Ghalia is superb. Hidden behind an unpretentious front door is a palace, with a huge courtyard where you can sit and enjoy a glass of mint tea or coffee; or wine or beer if you prefer. My room was in fact four rooms: a bed chamber; a dressing room; a sitting; a bathroom. Okay some of the tiling is old and coud be replaced, but, for me, it just added to the ambience.

The staff are genuinely friendly and very helpful indeed. The food....you really must have a delicious Tajine and a bottle of Mogador wine on the roof terrace, which overlooks the Medina. Hamid and Touria will look after you in fine fashion. It was here that I dressed for dinner, no where else.

Some aspects of this riad are a little tired, but it is a 300yr old palace. It is superb and worth every penny.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2006

I stayed at this Riad while on the last leg of my Morocco tour and the riad is truly breathtaking. Tucked away in the maze like outskirts of the Fes medina, rests the Dar, an old mansion house converted into hotel. I recommend anyone visitng Morocco to stay at riads, not chain hotels. The rooms here were large, well appointed, with nice bathrooms. Make sure you specify what type of bathroom you want,b/c not all are the same. When I stayed here, I was the only guests at the riad,so the whole staff was there for us. For the price, the rooms and overall look are amazing, nice mosaics, and heavy wood fill the establishment (see pics). The meals are ok; I would only eat their once and spend the rest of the time exploring Fes dining choices. The included breakfast (poached egg, coffee/tea, bread) is average, so don't expect to get full. The staff was attentive, but the guide they provided was more interested in making sales than showing off the city. However,the staff did make sure to wake us up real early the day of our departure and arranged good transportation. Another gripe, the tv only had arabic/french language channels.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank inspdeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Toyour
Riad Toyour
#38 of 100 in Fes
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais d'Hotes Suites & Spa Fes
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#43 of 100 in Fes
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Safadi
Dar Al Safadi
#50 of 100 in Fes
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#49 of 100 in Fes
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad-Boutique Borj Dhab Fez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el-Ghalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el-Ghalia

Address: 13/15 Ras Jnane | Ross Rhi Medina de Fes, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £49 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar el-Ghalia 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Ghalia is a prince palace built back in the 18th century.Located in the heart of the old medina's Andalusian district, this magnificent 18th Century palace belongs to a well-known Fassi Family At Riad El Ghalia, all the rooms are organized around the central patio (space dedicated to main activities). There are a variety of different room types, each named after ancestors of the family who still own and run it. Each room is en-suite, and other facilities include lounge areas, internet access, and traditional hammam. On our terrace you can appreciate the Fes gastronomy while enjoying a unique view on the whole medina with its uncountable minarets. You can also relax there sipping a drink at any time of the day. Faithful to its culinary tradition, the palace houses a well-known restaurant with a table d'hotes of great finesse serving true Fassi cooking, the most famous of Moroccan cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar el-Ghalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El-Ghalia Hotel Fes
Dar El Ghalia Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing