We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar el-Ghalia
Nearby Hotels
US$165
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$364
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Tizwa Fes(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$205
US$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dar Hafsa(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Dar Guennoun(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$116
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$244
US$226
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Jamai(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
46
28
13
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
28
13
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscovered courtyardfountainmazetaxiroyaltyhammaminteriorriadmustafarooftop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Descriptions of the suboptimal location are apt. You will need the escort that they provide to find it. You do NOT want to be wandering the medina in the dark trying to find this place. As they open the door to the interior, however, prepare to be amazed. We thought this was a beautiful place and was a truly memorable place to stay (not only because it was our honeymoon). Best orange juice I had in my entire life.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MinnesotaDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2008

The Riad itself is lovely. An 18th century palace converted to a riad. Our room on the first floor was just remarkable, with amazing decor. There is a hammam in this Riad which is well worth it...be sure to book one along with a massage. Great value for your money and you will be incredibly relaxed. The terrace is lovely however the view is primarily of the rooftops of the medina and lots of satellite dishes. However, is it lovely to sit there and hear the azzan being called. The food is not bad either and reasonably priced. The staff is quite helpful, and will even run down to the market to make purchases for you. I highly recommend getting some of the olive soap used in the hammam to take back.

The only downside to this Riad is the location. It is located about 5-10 minutes walk inside the Medina, but not in a good area of the medina. There are quite alot of young men loitering about, which would make you feel very unsafe. I did not feel comfortable walking around at night, and even during the day , on occasion. If you wouuld like to stay at this Riad, I highly recommend you ask them to meet you at the train station or wherever your point of arrival is. Also, ask them too book you a tour guide to take you around the souks and anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloridaTravelGirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

This place is like a palace and the staff treat you like royalty. The price is not cheap, but compare it with what you get for the same price $220/night in America or Europe, and I am sure you will see it as a bargain. Just decide whether you want to be pampered like royalty or have a no frills budget accommodation. This place is all frills. The architecture and craftsmanship of the building is finer than many of the touristic monuments in Morocco and some of the most impressive photos we have brought back are from the Dar El-Ghalia rather than from heritage sites. Our "room" , one of the smallest, called "Ezzarqia" I think, was actually more of a suite. All mod cons, but in medieval Moroccan style with stained glass windows, period furniture, mosaic floors and two sitting areas in addition to the bed, which was up some stairs like a loft (the on in the main photo for this hotel, I believe).

Breakfast is upstairs on the fantastic roof terrace. They bring you a set menu, but will cater to your needs if you say you would prefer something else. Service is first-class.

The only issue is the location. You need a $1-2 taxi ride to get to the touristic sites and the venues for the music festival. But after being treated like royalty at the Dar El-Ghalia, you are hardly going to trek through the medina with a backpack. The only problem is late at night when taxis may be difficult to find and the stray dogs of Fez are roaming the streets in packs. Tip: Getting to the hotel, don't give the address but tell the driver you want to go to Raseef Square and get off just before that square (a petit taxi stop) when you see the bank and pharmacy.

Overall, this hotel is a luxurious treat at a price which compares favourably with what you could get in Europe or the States.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

Dar El Ghalia (called Riad El Ghalia on Hostelworld) was like no place I'd stayed before, really beautiful. For a suite for two people when we booked, it was only 120$ per night. If you've never been to Morocco before, I highly recommend flying there and getting in during the day. We had a 20 hour bus-boat-bus travel from Seville, Spain and arrived at 2:30am and had a bit of a shady experience with the cab driver and the Medina is not a place you want to try to navigate on your own at night...a bit scary. If you call the hotel ahead of time to let them know you are coming, someone will meet you on the main street and walk you in (cars cannot drive through the medina, it's too narrow). We were also worried about walking around at night to go to a show/dinner on the second night. One of the staff personally walked us there and spoke with someone at the restaurant to make sure that they called us a cab, walked us out to it and called to hotel to let them know we were coming so they could meet us out side...and they wouldn't accept tips, how's that for service? We only had a short time there and I wish we'd hired a guide to see all of the high points of the city, but there are always the random people in the medina that can cheaply take you to any specific place (tanneries-amazing, pottery, rugs-"Tissage Berbere" is a great place, the lovely owner Driss gave my friend and I BOTH a free rug and only I bought from him!!) if you just want that...just don't hire a kid...they should be in school!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bluebeary45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2008

This is a lovely riad, but not quite worth the rather exorbitant holiday rates...and the holiday meals are not nearly special enough to warrant the price. Additionally, the staff seem pretty clueless most of the time. If you are an adventurous, well-informed traveler, you will have to take charge of your own experiences in Fes, as the staff aren't particularly knowledgeable about what is going on around town. Friendly and as helpful as they can be, but not very clever.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank khaleesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews