We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not more water shortages?”
Review of Dar el-Ghalia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dar el-Ghalia
Ranked #60 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed 11 December 2006

This was our first experience of a riad. It was pretty and our room was pleasant, if long and narrow and very dark.
The worst thing was that on one night there was no water at all in the hotel and none the next morning when we were given two large bottles of water to wash in(not quite the same somehow!). The other nights we only managed to get a little warm water into the bath and even that took ages. At least we didn't have a shower! We were told that lack of water wascommon in that quarter of the medina, owing to the antiquated systems .
The riad's meals were good, if not cheap, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elizalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2006

Dar El-Ghalia is superb. Hidden behind an unpretentious front door is a palace, with a huge courtyard where you can sit and enjoy a glass of mint tea or coffee; or wine or beer if you prefer. My room was in fact four rooms: a bed chamber; a dressing room; a sitting; a bathroom. Okay some of the tiling is old and coud be replaced, but, for me, it just added to the ambience.

The staff are genuinely friendly and very helpful indeed. The food....you really must have a delicious Tajine and a bottle of Mogador wine on the roof terrace, which overlooks the Medina. Hamid and Touria will look after you in fine fashion. It was here that I dressed for dinner, no where else.

Some aspects of this riad are a little tired, but it is a 300yr old palace. It is superb and worth every penny.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2006

I stayed at this Riad while on the last leg of my Morocco tour and the riad is truly breathtaking. Tucked away in the maze like outskirts of the Fes medina, rests the Dar, an old mansion house converted into hotel. I recommend anyone visitng Morocco to stay at riads, not chain hotels. The rooms here were large, well appointed, with nice bathrooms. Make sure you specify what type of bathroom you want,b/c not all are the same. When I stayed here, I was the only guests at the riad,so the whole staff was there for us. For the price, the rooms and overall look are amazing, nice mosaics, and heavy wood fill the establishment (see pics). The meals are ok; I would only eat their once and spend the rest of the time exploring Fes dining choices. The included breakfast (poached egg, coffee/tea, bread) is average, so don't expect to get full. The staff was attentive, but the guide they provided was more interested in making sales than showing off the city. However,the staff did make sure to wake us up real early the day of our departure and arranged good transportation. Another gripe, the tv only had arabic/french language channels.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank inspdeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2006

This riad was a palatial gem hidden behind a deceptively modest door. In the middle of the hectic medina the Ghalia is a tranquil oasis. Our family of 6 stayed in an enormous suite with a sitting room, 3 beautifully appointed bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. We were pressured into partaking of their Christmas meal which was a bit pricey. But otherwise the staff was very friendly and attentive without being obsequious. The breakfasts were a feast, the food delicious. It was a pleasure to come home to this riad after a day of wandering around the streets of Fez. By the way, would recommend having a guide in Fez.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank annasterne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2005

Dar El Ghalia was an average experience. The people are great: very helpful, knowledgeable, kind & curteous (and speak excellent English & French). They found us a guide for half a day - - Hameed - - who was excellent, friendly, and was way above steering us into shops. The location is very good, close to the Bar Rcif and well signposted (which is important if one does not speak Arabic). Good roof terrace and the food is above average. Problems: rooms are dark and cluttered, the cheapest rooms are really dodgy (we upgraded to a medium tarrif room due to the lousy low end one. I feel like we suffered bait & switch), it's a very formal place in that the staff all wear traditional costume that makes them look like uncomfortable Swiss Guards, and it's overall very expensive. For about GBP100/night I was expecting a lot more. If they layed off the formality, lightened up the rooms (and cleaned up the lowest fare ones), and did away with the nickel & diming then I think we would have found value.

23  Thank jkofman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Carlos_Barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Stevens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#53 of 100 in Fes
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Safadi
Dar Al Safadi
#55 of 100 in Fes
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#19 of 100 in Fes
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Dmana
Riad Dar Dmana
#65 of 100 in Fes
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Anebar
Dar Anebar
#39 of 100 in Fes
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#46 of 100 in Fes
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el-Ghalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el-Ghalia

Address: 13/15 Ras Jnane | Ross Rhi Medina de Fes, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £50 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar el-Ghalia 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Ghalia is a prince palace built back in the 18th century.Located in the heart of the old medina's Andalusian district, this magnificent 18th Century palace belongs to a well-known Fassi Family At Riad El Ghalia, all the rooms are organized around the central patio (space dedicated to main activities). There are a variety of different room types, each named after ancestors of the family who still own and run it. Each room is en-suite, and other facilities include lounge areas, internet access, and traditional hammam. On our terrace you can appreciate the Fes gastronomy while enjoying a unique view on the whole medina with its uncountable minarets. You can also relax there sipping a drink at any time of the day. Faithful to its culinary tradition, the palace houses a well-known restaurant with a table d'hotes of great finesse serving true Fassi cooking, the most famous of Moroccan cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar el-Ghalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El-Ghalia Hotel Fes
Dar El Ghalia Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing