We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, right next to the medina”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Batha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Batha
Ranked #78 of 99 Hotels in Fes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value, right next to the medina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

As someone who loves visiting Morocco, I have stayed in the Hotel Batha in Fez several times, the last occasion being in June. The "Batha" Hotel is my favourite (incorporating the former residence of the English Consul) which I booked and paid for in advance, via the brilliant discount "Gala Hotels" website, for just £21 per room per night for a single occupancy (inc breakfast and taxes) or it would have been £29 per room for two people sharing (inc breakfast and taxes). It's Moroccan three star, which equates to UK two star, so don't expect luxury ! As other TripAdvisor reviewers have said, the main attraction of the Hotel Batha is its brilliant location, just a few minutes walk from the Bab Boujelou (the famous Blue Gate) which is the main entrance to the old town ("medina") with its souks (markets) and ancient medieval attractions. It's a hotel with a bit of character, as it's built round the building which was formerly the residence of the English Consul in Fez, adjacent to the Batha Museum, and entered from the square, where the Moroccan declaration of independence was drafted in 1944. Leading off the old Consul's residence building, the modern part of the hotel is set round a large, spacious courtyard, with fountains and a small pool. There are two bars, one in the former consul's residence building (very cosy in winter) and the other is part of the smaller courtyard on the far side of the old building. Given the difficulty of buying alcohol in the old town (the "medina") because of Islamic prohibitions on the consumption of alcohol, the hotel bars are very welcome after a hard day's sightseeing. The downsides of the hotel are the very mediocre breakfasts (the coffee and orange juice are pretty grotty) and the peculiar bathroom areas in the rooms, which involve climbing up a couple of steps to the bathroom level, and then the subsequent difficulties in reaching the taps on the "sunken" baths. However the rooms are perfectly adequate, with a Moroccan style and with basic air con and TV. Also the occasional meal in the snack bar of the smaller courtyard area is perfectly good. So, booking ahead (rather than just turning up) will get you a very good value deal, which you just couldn't get in any UK guest house or hotel, and a great base for exploring Fez's UNESCO world heritage sites in the imperial medieval city. And if you want an official guide(recommended), taxis, or advice on where to eat, just ask the concierge, who will be happy to oblige, for a small tip.

Room Tip: I like the rooms higher up, overlooking the square, where you can look out at the hustle and bustle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthlondonJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    77
    74
    42
    11
See reviews for
22
70
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

I booked a double room with private bathroom for 3 nights at Hotel Batha in Fez because if its convenient location close to the Medina.
I asked for a high floor and was given a room on the 4th floor.The elevator was functional, but most of the time I would take the stairs as to not have to wait for the elevator.
The room was very large, with big windows, and fairly clean. The furniture was a little worn though, and the bathroom needed remodelling.
The breakfast was included in the room price and was buffet-style.
The hotel is big, it has a lovely pool, and has at least a couple of shared areas decorated in the lovely Moroccan style (see attached photos). It also has its own restaurant downstairs.
However, while exploring Fez, I discovered a gem of a hotel (called Jnane Sbile) not far away, and for just half the price I paid at Batha!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pulcino3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESTER
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

I have stayed here 3 times now, and would say that it is a good base for Medina with all necessary home comforts ie en suite, air con pool. It has a certain character and lots of nooks and crannies for solitary types. If you want a sterile impeccably decorated hotel,
and european or US standards this is not for you! The breakfast is pretty basic too, shame with small effort it could be good (how about some fruit?) or cereals? I liked it mainly because it is uncrowded.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank jegthepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

This hotel was good i think. Clean rooms and relax place. An enough breakfast also.
It's the most important thing, very close to the Medina. If you're not looking for a 5 star, this hotel will be enough for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midgard87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Horrible experience!!
The sheets where dirty, all night there was a dripping tap combined with noisy surrounds ment I spent 2 days without sleep! Plus extra charges at the end! Breakfast is added not complimentary!
Also do not organize tours/taxis with these guys!!! They add alot of commission!!!
For the little extra stay at a raid!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikih222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fes hotels

Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

Just spent 4 nights here and liked it a lot despite tired room decor, very expensive beer and noise from the Square outside my window. But the position is fantastic, especially after working out which alleyways provide short cuts into the Medina. The open courtyards are relaxing, breakfast a bit uninspired but filling enough, staff on the desk are friendly and helpful. My room was great value with a comfortable bed though the traffic did wake me early, as did a group of kids playing football outside at 5 am on one morning. Evenings are fun in the square as the whole neighbourhood turns out to chat, play football, have a smoke, drink coffee or whatever. One annoyance was a wonky shower head which should not happen in a supposed 3 star hotel but on the whole I really liked the hotel and would go back. Outside is a taxi rank for petite taxis which is also handy.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wadiwadiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

It is very easy to check in to Hotel Batha which would be the only reason I would recommend it to a friend. Easy to arrive by car or get a petit taxi from the new town. The location close to the medina is great.

The hotel in it self has however seen its glory days and if something is not done about the room standard I am sure they will not be able to increase rates much before the convenience is no longer worth it. The breakfast was equally beige. Mainly, why save in on the orange juice when you have the best oranges in the world on your doorstep to the price of nothing and instead offer guests a synthetic and watery substitute from a pack?

We also had a crack at trying out the overgrown pool but this can not be recommended. Do not believe any staff has visited the pool area in the last year or so!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NinniTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fes
0.2 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#50 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cascade
Hotel Cascade
#69 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#21 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#84 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ksar Tinsouline
Ksar Tinsouline
#7 of 12 in Zagora
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel
Blue Sky Hotel
#53 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Batha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Batha

Property: Hotel Batha
Address: Place De l'Istiqlal, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Batha 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Batha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batha Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing