We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location was everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Batha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Batha
Ranked #78 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Location was everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

You can't beat this place for its location, right near the medina. The beds were pretty comfortable by Moroccan standards and the air conditioning was good and I was actually grateful for the white noise it created to block out some of the noise coming off the street. The hot water was intermittent but I now see why after reading other reviews. The toilet was smelly but this too is pretty standard in Morocco.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank sarahl0uise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    77
    74
    42
    11
See reviews for
22
70
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

This hotel is very good for the kind of stuff you can find in Fez and it is right near the Medina entrance.
There are some good internet offers so you can get a good price for your estance.
Rooms are very old and sometimes the sheets are dirty as you come in.
The heating is not working and it can be cold in winter.
There is only hot water from 6:00-10:00 anb 18:00-20:00.
It is a good choice in Fez if you find a low price.

Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank eliahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
362 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

Unless you want to pay for an upscale Riad, this hotel is nice and 2 minutes from the Medina. Rooms were mostly clean.Morocco Clean-meaning they don't bother with walls or corners, etc. If they don't expect you to touch it, why bother cleaning it.
\You have to go in the back patio to get wifi.
Breakfast was the usual bad croissants and boiled eggs, they also have yogurt.
But the location really makes this place.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HnLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

Technically, I didn't stay at this hotel (THANKFULLY), my friends and I didn't make it out until quite late to get dinner one night, and seeing that its bar was still open, we opted to have dinner at the bar. Not the greatest setting for dinner, but it was the bar. I ordered the Steak Hache, while my friends ordered the pizza and one of the salads, and it's been 2 days and counting, and my friends and I are still suffering from the food poisoning.

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mun_on_a_quest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fes hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

Stayed for two nights on a planned tour around Morocco with an Explore group of 20 people. On first impressions the hotel looked smart, fresh and modern. Location wise it was perfect - very close to the medina and easy access to cheap restaurants. The rooms are ok, very dated and not the most comfortable but adequate for a short stay. Breakfast wasn't great.

On our first night of the stay however three rooms were broken into by someone having key access and bags were searched presumably for money. The entire group had gone out for dinner so it was quite obvious the intruder was either housekeeping or had borrowed the keys from reception and had been made aware we were out the hotel. Luckily nothing was taken but contents were strewn across the room. It was reported to reception but little notice was taken.

The locks are also pretty dodgy on the doors - you have to check its been locked correctly when leaving. If you can avoid it don't stay here but if you do make sure all your belongings are securely locked away or with you.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GagaAl1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

Do not stay at the Hotel Batha under any circumstances! Not only are the rooms rundown but the whole place is corrupt.

The first day that the maids made up our room, a large quantity of Euros and Dollars disappeared from inside a locked knapsack in our room. The thief took the time to figure out a way to get through the locked zippers and cleverly left all of the Moroccan money that was there, as well as a few Euros and Dollars – obviously hoping that we wouldn’t notice what was missing until we left Morocco (and this hotel). When we complained at the desk, they first accused us of lying and then, mysteriously, punished us by halting maid service to our room for the rest of our stay. They had us write down all the details of the theft and said they would take it up with the hotel manager. But we went to the police and, when they dragged the hotel manager in to meet with us two days later, he claimed that he’d never heard about it until then. It is clear that the staff was all trying to cover up and deny that one of their own took our money.

You should also know that, while this hotel does provide hot water, they only do so for a few hours a day. It stops at 10 pm so, if you are planning on taking a shower before you go to bed, you will be hustling to make it home from dinner in time – especially since all the decent restaurants in Fez are some distance from this hotel. Imagine coming home at 9:30 to beat the deadline, discovering that you had no clean towels (because they mysteriously stopped maid service to your room because you complained about the theft from it) and having to hustle to get new towels in time to shower before the water gets cut off. You see, all the problems of this place just build upon each other!

What’s more, the shower head in our shower wouldn’t stay attached to the wall in a position that sprayed straight once the water was turned on, even though the stream was just a trickle. The toilet was missing its handle and the door to the toilet wouldn’t actually close. The faucets on the sink felt like they were going to fall off every time we operated them. The air conditioning was noisy enough to keep us awake but way too weak to cool our room. The closet door couldn’t be opened without an epic struggle. The “breakfast” is just coffee, juice, and bread.

They’ve done a lot to pretty up the common areas but it is just lipstick on a pig. The bottom line is that it’s a shabby, dingy little place there to relieve you of your money and nothing else. The only positive thing about this hotel is that it is situated close to the medina but that is a mixed blessing, too – it comes with being far from the decent restaurants so you will be taking a long taxi ride away from the hotel every night as it is (you don’t want to eat at the hotel’s restaurant).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sftraveler2010_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

I was in Fes for business with colleagues and we clearly enjoyed the hotel because it was quiet and we could sleep well. We met partners in the 2 bar-restaurants and their impressions were good too. Breakfast can be improved but it is ok. I will probably come back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchieoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fes
0.2 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#50 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cascade
Hotel Cascade
#69 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#21 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#84 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ksar Tinsouline
Ksar Tinsouline
#7 of 12 in Zagora
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel
Blue Sky Hotel
#53 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Batha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Batha

Property: Hotel Batha
Address: Place De l'Istiqlal, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Batha 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Batha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batha Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing