We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unparalleled panoramic view!”
Review of Les Merinides

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Merinides
Ranked #66 of 101 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

My husband's parents live in Fez, so every year when we visit we always make the trip to Les Merinides. I love to go during the late afternoon so I'm there long enough to enjoy the daylight views of the Medina just before sunset. It's the most beautiful panoramic view of the old city, just can't be beat. It's also very enchanting at night when you can see all the glittering lights below.

Having tea or coffee service on the terrace overlooking the city is an absolute must! Morocco offers some of the most sophisticated, delicious, bite-sized sweets. I would advise leaving your diet plans at home because you really wouldn't want to miss trying them. The waiters are very helpful and polite, so don't be offended if they don't come back to check on your every few minutes. It just isn't the same function here as it is in the states. If you need something else, wave them down.

I love that they don't rush you out to make room for more customers, no matter how long you stay. Our family and friends can sit and talk forever without the feeling that the waiter is hawking us. Moroccans know exactly the definition of "chillin" and will leave you to it in peace.

We've never stayed in their hotel rooms so I can't speak to that, but if you're planning a stay, I would ask the concierge to book you a room with a view of the medina.

Be careful to check the calendar for any religious holidays they may be celebrating at the time of your vacation because they will not offer alcohol. You will find this to be true of any establishment you visit during this time. Of course it's possible to find a sympathetic waiter, but you will have to be very private about it and not consume it in the open. A generous tip would be appropriate in this case.

Les Merinides is a meeting place for many a diplomat and important person. You may very well find yourself in the presence of wealthy Saudi visitors and representatives from both Africa and Europe. I would highly recommend wearing clean and neat attire, preferably a notch up from casual if you can. Although it's just a suggestion, not at all a requirement, because all types of visitors come here and they know especially with the youth that some only have hiking gear, etc.

Overall this is the place you will want to spend a relaxing time with your friends. I would make sure it is the last thing you have on your list for the day. With calming and spectacular views, you'll find that you may not want to leave!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Medina for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mezdancer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

This hotel has the most wonderful view overlooking Fez and a cocktail on the terrace in the evening is a must. Our room had a balcony from which the view was absolutely stunning. The rest of the hotel is pretty terrific also and the staff were extremely helpful and attentive. The choice of food was good, the bedroom wonderful, and the outdoor pool such a relief after a long hot day in the city. A truly memorable experience!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The hotel is a really classy,low profile hotel Nice pool, really good service!
The Room is huge, as well as the the bed!
Breakfast was amazing,
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to splash out on short break in fes. We ate in the restaurant once and it was very good, but we enjoyed better meals in the New Town,
The hotel is an oasis of calm in a pretty busy but fa ntasticcity.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sofak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

A lovely setting overlooking the Fez Medina--nice pool and bar but too many flies inside the hotel. Food was just average which was surprising given the apparent luxury of the facility. Service was fine but the staff did not go out of its way to assist.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kestrel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Formerly a Le Méridien hotel, Les Merinides – with its magnificent view over the Fes medina – has seen better days. It might have been a five star hotel before it parted from the hotel chain, but I am suprised to see that it still is (at least according to signs and brochures) a five star hotel; the staff is unprofessional, doesn’t speak good English, and the service is poor, the rooms (at least mine) need a facelift, the wifi is unstable (or not working at all) and the breakfast – although they have a variety of food - is not very delicate.

I arrived in what might look like a five star hotel reception a Tuesday afternoon. I was assigned a room in which the housekeeping crew was still cleaning. I thought they might only need another minute, but when they brought in the vacuum cleaner and asked me to sit I left the room. In their outdoor bar/restaurant (one of three restaurants), I had to wait about 20 minutes for the beverage menu although I specifically asked if I could dine there. Twenty minutes after getting the right menu (and several failed attempts to get the servers attention, I left. There were probably five other guests there, so weren’t too busy... I decided to have room service instead, which turned out to be a bad experience as well.

But then there is the view. If you get a Medina-view room, you get a magnificent view of the Fes medina, and the surrounding areas of the city. But does the view make up for the poor standard and service? I might recommend it to friends just because of the view, but expect nothing more than three stars.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Medina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Have been traveling to this hotel for about 5 times per year over the last 3 years and each time 3 or 4 nights. Each time we hesitated on going back, but the breath taking view convinced us of going back.
The hotel room and service is going down every time again. Wi-Fi is essential during our stay. They installed more and more wi-fi over the years, but none of them work.
When I ask the reception to do something about it, they look at each other and nothing happends.
Service could be a lot better, although we could not realy complain, maybe because we tipped quite a lot and were a regular visitor.
However, our latest visit was our last one !!!
The reception staff and the management is not ready to listen to our requests and not at all flexible. This situation closed the door for us.
We will never be back. Awful service.
Will try the Palais Jamaï or the Riad the Fes. To be continued.

Room Tip: ask definitely a room with view on the Medina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C-Vision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Stayed here with a women-only group tour. I really liked this hotel despite having to use the windows to cool down the room (no AC in winter so they can get a bit stuffy). The rooms were cozy and beautifully decorated. But the best thing about this hotel was the sweeping view of the old city. The staff was friendly and helpful. We ventured off with a guide recommended by the front desk one day and she was terrible (not the hotel's fault thou). This hotel had the most comfortable beds that we stayed in during our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Travel_Femme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
2.6 mi away
Ramada Fes
Ramada Fes
#87 of 101 in Fes
254 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palais Medina & Spa
Palais Medina & Spa
#40 of 101 in Fes
517 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#60 of 101 in Fes
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
2 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#52 of 101 in Fes
686 reviews
3.2 mi away
Zalagh Parc Palace
Zalagh Parc Palace
#97 of 101 in Fes
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Merinides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Merinides

Address: Borj Nord, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £64 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Merinides 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Les Merinides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Merinides Fes
Les Merinides Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing