We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Terrace With View”
Review of Les Merinides

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Merinides
Ranked #67 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Likely the best view of the city there is, the terrace lounge was the place the be after touring the medina, buying carpets and seeing how the leather is dyed. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Many of the rooms faced the road but I did walk through a suite facing the city and it was lovely (not sure of the price difference - would have been much nicer - so check it out if you go). The breakfast was good but the dinner buffet not. I would have rather gone out or eaten elsewhere in the hotel such as the large Moroccan restaurant in the hotel. But no-one was in there. The menu on the terrace was international and limited but okay. The lobby was grand and impressive and the service very good. I would stay again but would look to eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Check the price for a suite facing the city over the regular rooms - would be much nicer and quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

We went to Fez for our 4th visit and decided to try a different hotel, following a road sign we came across this hotel, as we were only staying overnight we wanted something special and we certainly found it. On entering the reception area it was clean, cool and very comfortable, lots of comfy sofa's , a pleasant and traditional feel. We walked outside on the terrace and all said wow !! the view was amazing, high up over the old medina, enticing us to go and explore.The bedrooms were comfortable, clean and very nice, well appointed bathroom, no balcony though. The restaurant served an excellent breakfast , eat as much as you like service, the staff were very friendly and just what you would expect from a 4/5 star hotel. We will definatley be staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aitbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We visited this hotel for one night on a recent trip to Morocco.
The situation is fantastic, the reception, terrace and pool areas were impressive and as you walk out onto the terrace the view over the Medina is spectacular. The hotel is well situated for visiting the Medina (it would be possible to walk but is a steep climb back), we had a car and it was only a 5 minute drive to Bab Guissa where there is plenty of free parking space.
The hotel room was large (as was the bed!) with plenty of room to spread out. The room had an entrance lobby containing plenty of wardrobe space, off which was a good sized well appointed bathroom.
Breakfast was plentiful with a good selection of pastries and omelettes made fresh to order.
If there are criticisms it would be that the bedroom decor is a little tired in places, there are no coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms and the restaurant does not open until 19.30.,
these however do not detract from a fantastic stay and we would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and would certainly stay there on any future visit to Fes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Medina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We were on a 2 week trip all over Morocco, so my comparative ratings are based on Moroccan experiences. Beautiful location overlooking old Fez, but not close to much if you want to walk. Very large, attractive lobby and public areas. We ate one night in the restaurant, with a varied buffet, and another night ordered from the lighter bar menu (it was too rainy to go out). Breakfast buffet also very good. Comfortable room. Wi-Fi better from the lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a few overlooking the city, and will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dayhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Incredible view, incredible food, incredible city..... In one word is excellent. The staff is very respectful and helpful, the rooms are clean and quiet, good service. I enjoyed it very much and I recommend it for short and long visits.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mon_alsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Les Merinides during a tour of Morocco. The tour, organised by Titan was excellent and greatly enjoyed, however it had a low point when we took dinner at Les Merinides. We requested a half bottle of Guerrouane Blanc, a wine we had enjoyed at a previous hotel. The Wine Manager returned to inform us that the wine was unavailable and offered us an alternative. As the bottle was already open we reluctantly agreed to accept it though it was too sweet for our taste.
The whole matter would have ended there if had I not noticed towards the end of our meal that our requested wine was still being served on other tables. The information that we had received was simply untrue. I notified the Wine Manager who went off and returned with a bottle of Guerrouane Blanc, our previously requested wine, again already opened. I informed him that we had just finished our coffees and had no wish to drink a second bottle of wine, but since the initial careless error had been his I felt justified in requesting that the wine bill which I had paid should be refunded. This he refused.
As we left the restaurant I saw him talking to the hotel Manager and took the opportunity to inform him of what had happened. His reply was amazing....since we had drunk the alternative bottle of wine we had to pay for it! The fact that we had been given totally false information did not appear to worry him in the slightest.
I am simply astonished that we had encountered in one single incident a Wine Manager happy to give us false information, and a Hotel Manager who cared so little for the reputation of his hotel that he refused to refund the price of a half bottle of wine to right a mistake committed by a member of his staff.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank kingscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel has a magnificent view over the Medina in Fes and spacious public areas.The two bedrooms we used needed refurbishment.Water leaked into the bathroom of the first room we were assigned to around 1 in the morning and in the second room the shelf above the sink sloped so much that all objects slid off.Some small change I had left in the first room went missing as well.Wine prices were high-we paid less than half as much for the same bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon at another 5 star hotel in Morocco.Another couple ordered a 50cl bottle of white wine which they had enjoyed on the previous evening.They were told it was not available and an alternative was brought.When they remarked that this alternative wine was not very good they were first told that the cost of the wine would be refunded but then a bottle of the wine originally ordered was produced.I should add that they had finished their meal at this point.Naturally,they were not happy and the wine waiter did not placate them by remarking that he knew nothing about wine anyway!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the Medina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David190920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
1.7 mi away
Palais Medina & Spa
Palais Medina & Spa
#43 of 100 in Fes
503 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#64 of 100 in Fes
642 reviews
2 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#49 of 100 in Fes
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
4.6 mi away
Ramada Fes
Ramada Fes
#84 of 100 in Fes
248 reviews
3.2 mi away
Zalagh Parc Palace
Zalagh Parc Palace
#98 of 100 in Fes
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Merinides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Merinides

Address: Borj Nord, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £70 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Merinides 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Les Merinides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Merinides Fes
Les Merinides Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing