We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view”
Review of Les Merinides

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Merinides
Ranked #66 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The view from this hotel is it's best feature. The terrace in the evening is a wonderful place to sit.If given a refurbishment the hotel could be a good choice but currently rooms seem a bit tired and some maintenance issues hadn't been addressed. Make sure that your room has a safe if you want one not all rooms do. Ask for room overlooking the town, views other side not great.
The swimming pool has not much of a shallow end so only for good swimmers but a pleasant area to spend the afternoon. Delicious desserts but breakfast had limited hot food. Lovely dates. Tour dinner was in upstairs Moroccan room complete with belly dancer & local musicians, soup & samosas lovely, roof opens to see the stars.

Room Tip: Ask for room looking over the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wunchapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

We just come home from Morocco, beautiful county and good persons to meet there.
We managed to book 1 room at the hotel "Les Merinides" for 2 nights through Hotel.com.

The hotel itself lies in the perfect position to have a breathtaking view of the city of Fes due to the fact that is positioned on an hill facing the city.
You can enjoy spectacular views of the city also from your room, especially if you ask for a "Medina View" room. From there, please prepare your eyes and your camera for the show!

Infact this is, for me, the only reason to visit the hotel (we can count also the free parking, the fact that the breakfast is very good and abundant and that at a walking distance you may find the merinides graveyard and the north tower of the city).

If I consider the other services, room condition, overall prices, I would not reccomend it.
The room bathroom was almost in disgrace with broken parts, calcareous spots on the sink and in the shower and the hairdryer usually emitted smoke and sparks.
The soundproofing was not good at the point that one night I woke up only to check if the windows were closed. Hotel should really invest in soundproofing to help the sleep and relax of their guests.
The wireless connection was working intermittently.
The TV was an old CRT-tube instead that having an LCD one.

The swimming pool is nice with decent sun coverage all day long but the appliances are quite old and not well mantained.

If you require a guide, please do not trust the guide suggested by the hotel, Mohammed, as he takes you only around shops!

Room Tip: Medina View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is a very nice hotel and we'll maintained, has great view over Fes and you can sit outside of a night time with a drink and take in the view, for food eat in the morocco restaurant of a night and they move the roof off so you look at the stars it's brill. It can look a bit tatty out side the gates but the young lads playing football are good well worth a watch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My girlfriend and myself went to Les Merinindes to see the view over the oldest medina in Morocco. The view was indeed magnificent. We ordered a bottle of rosé and waited to watch the sun set. There was duet playing and singing popular songs and it was very enjoyable. However, at the end of the evening the waiter that served us was very rude and was muttering to himself and gesturing annoyance at us.

We did not leave a tip.

However, the view was worth putting up with the rude waiter.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelCraigSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is a very attractive and well maintained hotel/restaurant overlooking the city of Fes. I didn't stay at the hotel but met a local here for lunch and respite in their air conditioned space. The menu is pretty Westernized - club sandwich - but the environment was relaxing, the service was prompt and it gave us a chance to see the city. Was perfect for our needs to just be comfortable - next time, I think I might check it out for lodging.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed here two nights as part of a group. The hotel is beautifully located, high on the side of a hill, with a great view out over the Medina. The hotel is at a guess 30-40 years old. The open lobby areas are spacious and attractive. Check in was speedy and efficient. The rooms were fairly standard but clean, with tired poor quality bedroom furniture in need of a refurb. Similarly the bathrooms were underwhelming, 1990's marble, and you should take your own amenities. That said, the shower pressure was great and the beds nice and firm.
Breakfast was an unremarkable buffet, with coffee service at the table, and an omelette station.
The concierge was very helpful, a real resource.
All in all average - there are better choices in Fes.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room overlooking the Medina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanosporumandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Likely the best view of the city there is, the terrace lounge was the place the be after touring the medina, buying carpets and seeing how the leather is dyed. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Many of the rooms faced the road but I did walk through a suite facing the city and it was lovely (not sure of the price difference - would have been much nicer - so check it out if you go). The breakfast was good but the dinner buffet not. I would have rather gone out or eaten elsewhere in the hotel such as the large Moroccan restaurant in the hotel. But no-one was in there. The menu on the terrace was international and limited but okay. The lobby was grand and impressive and the service very good. I would stay again but would look to eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Check the price for a suite facing the city over the regular rooms - would be much nicer and quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
1.7 mi away
Palais Medina & Spa
Palais Medina & Spa
#46 of 100 in Fes
499 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#61 of 100 in Fes
634 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ramada Fes
Ramada Fes
#84 of 100 in Fes
247 reviews
2.0 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#49 of 100 in Fes
652 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Merinides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Merinides

Address: Borj Nord, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £66 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Merinides 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Merinides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Merinides Fes
Les Merinides Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing