We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Bedrooms”
Review of Les Merinides

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Les Merinides
Ranked #65 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Although the Les Merinides offers outstanding view over the city, the bedrooms are in desperate need for a major refurbishment . I travelled as part of a group (16 people), the rooms were extremely dusty due to the fact there was an inch gap in-between the sliding window panels . I was kept wake most of the night by dogs barking all night, which I accept is beyond the hotels control however if the windows were installed with double glazing and there wasn't an inch gap In between the sliding glass panels the noise of barking dogs and traffic would certainly be reduced . Very poor guest rooms which were shabby and dirty. This hotel rates itself as 5star ( Moroccan standard ) , It was more like a 2 star hotel . There are far more superior hotels in Fes, AVOID the Les Merinides !!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel with a passion
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Les Merinides
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

A very nice and quiet 5 stars with a lovely view on the old Medina of fes. Although The rooms are very well equipped, the management has decided to give a fresh refurbishement toThe hotel.The food is excellent and the service is memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Medina
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AgadirEddaifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel is located It’s on a hill overlooking the old town including the Medina.We only used it as an overnight stop so my comments are limited.
The food was of a reasonable standard with fair choice-buffet.However, I didn't appreciate being chased into reception over not paying for a bottle of water- we had assumed that as our room number was taken .......
The rooms ,however , were very tired and somewhat grubby.The window would not open, the safe did not work and it looked as if no furniture was ever move for cleaning.
To be fair the management was aware and whole parts were shut for renovation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldboyIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Location

It’s on the hill overlooking the medina. The walk is a long one or you can easily get taxis. Two of the king’s palaces are nearby so this is definitely an expensive view.

Entry

The exterior entrance is traditional Morocco with an upscale hotel feel. As you drive up, the bell staff greet you and help you into the hotel with a smile.

Front Desk

Some of the staff are helpful and friendly. Others are somewhat stiff and distracted. Depends on who you get. The managers are outstanding.

Lobby

Spacious with couches and seats throughout. This is important because the free wifi is only available in the lobby. At peak times you will want to get a seat early.

There’s also a sprawling patio and bar connected to a pool. The view is spectacular. There’s also a bar and waiters will bring you drinks.

Tip – grab a seat on the patio an hour or so before sunset. Have a drink and relax enjoying the view and listening to the birds chirping nearby. By sunset the deck will be full with other people, but you will be in the prime position.

Wifi

Free, but only works in the lobby. Can be slow at peak times.

Food

Free breakfast which is pretty good. It’s not the largest buffet I’ve seen, but they do have fresh made omelets and the servers are friendly.

Room

Decent size. Be sure to get one with a view of the medina – BTW, the medina is farther than I thought.

As others have said, the rooms need to be renovated. They have CRT TVs, for example. But they are clean and classic in feel. Nothing to be embarrassed about. it has a 90s feel.

You can tell that this hotel was once the best in the city. It just needs a little work and it could be again - it has a priceless view.

Toiletries

Bring your own. The soap is nice, but there’s no moisturizer and the shampoo has a horrible smell.

Bottom Line

If you’re tired of riads or if you don’t want to carry your luggage through the streets of the medina, this is the perfect place for you. It’s a quality hotel with a fantastic view. The people who work here try really hard and that makes it worth the stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the medina.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angmohgao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Les Merinides is a lovely hotel but certainly no longer warrants 5 star status, more like a 4 star hotel. I stayed here in September 2013 for 3 nights.

The hotel has a reasonably sized lobby, but is not that impressive. I believe from other reviewers that this hotel was once part of the Le Meridien chain, but has since been sold on. This is clear as I don't think the hotel has been renovated/improved much since then. The staff on the desk are polite enough and helpful, they will book taxis for you if necessary which we had to do to go back to the airport. The hotel is incredibly clean and the cleaners do a great job in making up the rooms every day.

Our room was facing the medina and the view is amazing! It was a good size and had all the facilities you would expect, except tea/coffee making facilities, but we did not find that anywhere we stayed in Morocco. We were welcomed with a fruit basket too. There aren't many TV channels for English-only speaking guests as they are mostly Arabic or French. The bathroom was nice but out dated and showed signs of wear, such as slight rusting on the towel rails and markings in the bath tub.

The pool is good and very clean. There are nice chairs outside too for people to relax, however music is played at night and doesn't stop until about 12 midnight/1AM, even afterwards you can still hear people chatting which is a downside!

The breakfast/restaurant room is large with lots of seating, and a large selection of food is served in the mornings with omelettes available at request. The restaurant is pretty standard and mostly western food, however is limited in choice. It overlooks the pool and the medina.

In terms of walking to the medina, this takes about 20/25 minutes depending on how fast you walk. It is down hill on the way to the medina. During the day time this was fine, however at night it didn't feel 100% safe so I would recommend taking a taxi back. During the day this should cost around 10-15 dirhams, and expect about 15-25 at night time although the cab drivers will try to rip you off so be cautious (this is where knowing some French may come in handy!)

Overall a good stay but the hotel needs improvements.

Room Tip: Choose a medina view that is on a higher floor to avoid the noise of music/chatting guests
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

The only positive thing about this so called "5-star" hotel is the view. However this is something that does not have to be maintained. The pool was dirty, the breakfast lady didn't know how to serve a 4-min egg (it came on a plate :-)), the receptionist was a grumpy and incompetent indidvidual. Seriousely in need of some attention. Please invest 3 million dollars and we'll be back...maybe.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Larabest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The view from this hotel is it's best feature. The terrace in the evening is a wonderful place to sit.If given a refurbishment the hotel could be a good choice but currently rooms seem a bit tired and some maintenance issues hadn't been addressed. Make sure that your room has a safe if you want one not all rooms do. Ask for room overlooking the town, views other side not great.
The swimming pool has not much of a shallow end so only for good swimmers but a pleasant area to spend the afternoon. Delicious desserts but breakfast had limited hot food. Lovely dates. Tour dinner was in upstairs Moroccan room complete with belly dancer & local musicians, soup & samosas lovely, roof opens to see the stars.

Room Tip: Ask for room looking over the town
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wunchapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
1.7 mi away
Palais Medina & Spa
Palais Medina & Spa
#40 of 100 in Fes
486 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
2.6 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#58 of 100 in Fes
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#41 of 100 in Fes
639 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ramada Fes
Ramada Fes
#74 of 100 in Fes
238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Merinides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Merinides

Address: Borj Nord, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £75 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Merinides 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Les Merinides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Merinides Fes
Les Merinides Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing