We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice spot to unwind for a day or two”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Menzeh Zalagh Hotel
Ranked #86 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A nice spot to unwind for a day or two”
Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

As part of a tour this hotel was booked for us and it was a nice choice, with a very comfortable room with all the amenities. Could not get CNN but BBC filled in nicely. The pool area is great and only wish we had been told to bring ourswi suits. Very nice patio area off the lounge to enjoy a few cold ones but hope their keyboard player has a sore throat, as he has one of the worst voices I have ever heard. Nice background music from his keyboard but baddddddd singing

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank toberua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    76
    133
    63
    51
See reviews for
40
130
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granby, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We spent two nights at the Menzeh Zalagh. Our room was on the second floor with a nice view over the old city in the near distance. Although there were train tracks below we were not disturbed by any noise and we are light sleepers. The room had the usual amenities and everything worked and was clean. WiFi worked only in the lobby area. Buffet-style breakfast and supper were good.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back on the second floor and higher will give you a nice view, the trains blow are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WolfyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

when we arrived at this hotel the Reception staff greeted us politely however straight away tried to scare us about the local area saying we should not go out of the hotel its dangerous!!! (we did not come to remain inside the hotel) they tried to sell us a trip to see the old madina for 250 quid for four of us (four girls) we haggled and managed to just pay 15 quid each big differance ! they explained that outside the hotel its not safe and we should eat,shop and do everything only in the hotel!! this made us laugh as clearly they thought they could profit from our stay as much as they could.
we went half board the food was ok not great (rice, chicken, pasta beef,and salads very basic but ok breakfast was rubbish nothing much to eat salad...boiled cold eggs and some form of fried bread.
Room are basic but cant complain they were clean and comfy..at night it gets very noisy with people coming to the shabby pervy club or shall I say Brothel downstairs..although we only heard this one night as the rest of the nights we went out...but not to this club!
drinks in this hotel are more expensive then drinking in Londons westend and watered down, pool area is nice aswell as garden area...inside decor needs a bit updating but its not that bad.
the beauty and spa place it great we all went for the hamam I must say it was one of the best really worth doing (better then the turkey ones) massage was great too the girls who work there are lovely.
Fes is a beautiful old city the loaction of this hotel is ok not far from the old city 10 mins walk to the new city and mcdees 5 mins walk, you can take a taxi to the old madina...the locals are the best people and made our holiday one to remember the cafe/pool place across the hotel was great for breakfast and afternoon chill out the owner and his family couldnt do enough for us....the convienent shop across they own too and does everything at a reasonable price
the new market is the best as the old madina is pricey but for a tour its defo worth going its amazing.
Fez does not have much night life how ever we managed to find a few the Ramada hotel has a club and we went to two more ...fez is more of a chill out place.
ok before you check out from this hotel please check they do not try to add taxes as they did to us saying "its taxes in Morocco and you must pay this" after arguing for half hour I asked the man if I could show him my booking confirmation on my hotmail! after showing him this and showing him the bit it said "all taxes included" his answer was "ok sorry"
security guards however were ever so helpful always helped us get taxis and negotiate prices although they could not speak english they went out to help as much as they could.
overall Fez made me change my mind about Morocco and I would 100 percent return to the city as I have met and made some lovely friends...I doubt I would ever return to this hotel though.. as try to rip you off at every chance

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AyshaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fes hotels

1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week and on arrival we were very worried because of some of the reviews we had read. However the service we received and the experience we had was wonderful, maybe we were lucky I don't know. The porter at that hotel is an asset to the business and I hope that is recognised. He went well out of his way to help us every day and refused our thank you gift of money upon leaving. He made that our experience with the hotel one we would and have recommended to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haychel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isipingo, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

When I entered the reception area , I was impressed by the retro styling and decor. Had a glitch with the bidet and door lock, one call and was sorted. No internet wi-fi in the room. had to come into lounge area and use same. very chilly in this area. The worst part was this morning at 3 a.m. onwards. They had a live singing and this went onto 5 a.m. This started at 8 p.m. the previous evening. I phoned the reception desk and complained. This did not help and continued. It seems that the bar manager wants you to come and join them and drink oneself to sleep.Apparently this happens the whole week thru and this was Monday! Alas, I still have another night to go.I think I will have to take a sleeping tablet or ear plugs. since I do not consume alcohol.The night clerk suggested he will change my room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rasheed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Room was nice. Lights easily blown out. Little direction from the staff in locating the room. Pool was nice, but took forever to find someone to supply towels. Not well staffed. WIFI worked well. Dinner and breakfast were subpar. Would not be my choice if visiting Fez again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

unfortunately I did not book this Hotel directly it was done by Evadamo & Luxatours of Spain. But that being said If I had know or planned to stay here I would have first confirmed a few things with them, Like the A/C operation which is set to less than a childs breath. I had to change rooms 3 times before getting a room that was marginally comfortable ( Understand that the tempreture in Morocco is 35 deg. C at night in summer with a humidity of ± 25% ) And our tour operators did nothing to imprve our stay no matter how much we complained

Room Tip: Don't use shady tour operators, book and confirm your own rooms and requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
2.3 mi away
Zalagh Parc Palace
Zalagh Parc Palace
#85 of 98 in Fes
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Menzeh Fes
Menzeh Fes
#89 of 98 in Fes
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#42 of 98 in Fes
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#56 of 98 in Fes
593 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Fes
Ramada Fes
#71 of 98 in Fes
232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menzeh Zalagh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzeh Zalagh Hotel

Property: Menzeh Zalagh Hotel
Address: 10 Rue Mohammed Diouri, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Fes
#43 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzeh Zalagh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Menzeh Zalagh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzeh Zalagh Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing