We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick another hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Menzeh Zalagh Hotel
Ranked #86 of 101 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We stayed in room 415 as part of a large tour group. Our room was triple occupancy and so had 3 single beds. The room was all tile floor. The view out the window looks towards the McDonald's at the entrance to the block.

The room had AC, fridge and no in-room safe. It was not well-lit but there were lamps right by the bed. The entry way and bathroom, however, are brightly lit. There was plenty of counter space in the bathroom. There was also a hair dryer. The toilet and bidet were located in the worst possible place--they were at right angles to each other so when you sit on the toilet, your kneeds bump up against the sides of the bidet. It's a good thing we're short because I can't imagine how a tall person would be able to sit on the toilet!

The hotel is located 10 minutes by foot from the Royal Palace and the Mellah in the Nouville. It is too far to walk to the Medina.

The breakfast consisted of cold croissants and breads, yoghurt, juice, hot tea and (bad) coffee.

There is a terrace that also doubles as a restaurant. The hit-or-miss food served here are mainly BBQ'd items.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tardykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2010

This hotel has no respect for their guests. They allowed a loud disco to play unbelievably loud music past 2am. It's like we were in a nightclub. No way to sleep in this hotel. Unless you're not here to sleep, don't come here. The diner buffet is so so, but the breakfast is terrible. Only pastries, almost no fruits or anything else.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hyperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights while exploring Fez. The hotel lobby is adequate with a lounge and bar area. Rooms are quite spacious, quiet and they were airconditioned which was nice to come to when outside in the heat. Breakfast and dinner was buffet style for our group and you can eat as much as you want - hot dishes, salads and a variety of sweets / cakes for dessert. This hotel seems to be popular with tour groups as there were a couple staying at the same time as us. The pool is fantastic - but you need to bring some money to hire the banana lounges. There is bar overlooking the pool which you can order drinks. The business centre is very small but is has 2 simple computers to search the internet or type emails to friends and family. I went to the hotel's hammam which is run by a lovely lady - she speaks only a very little of english but boy does she work hard!! I thoroughly recommend this but be prepared to sweat - you will feel relaxed and your skin soooooo clean. I had the hammam only. The entrance to the hammam is via some stairs downstairs directly opposite reception. Next door to the hotel is a small gift shop and you can buy spoons, magnets, postcards and other souvenirs. Prices there were reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivi0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

those people at the hotel are stealing visitors not serving them, they extreamly change their way of dealing with you the day u r leaving the hotel, prices are very high inside the hotel, i cleaned 4 skirts and 3 t-shirts by 240 Dhs which is very expensive believe me it s higher than the price of all those clothes from scotland, the serves is very mean and the food r hurting, dont try that dirty hotel, u will regeret

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superbe0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Whilst the pictures of the pool might entice you to stay here I can not discourage other travellers enough from doing so! The hotel came with many promises which were unfulfilled. The first of these was air conditioning. We entered our room to find a man up a ladder apparently fixing ours and noticed that there was no dial on the AC unit on the wall so asked him about this. He explained this was because it was regulated throughout the whole building. This to me is ludicrous as people require different temperatures and are in their rooms at different times of the day. So there would be occasions when the room would be 'bearable' at best, then my travelling companion and I suffered through three sleepless nights because the room was so hot at night!

Internet service is VERY expensive. Breakfast is pretty rubbish. The pool is beautiful and if you're lucky enough to get there very early in the morning or very late at night when the mayhem has cleared it can be quite peaceful. However, as the pool is also open to people wishing to pay to use it during the day, it can get ridiculously busy which is the opposite of fun and relaxing. There are live musicians playing in the early evening, but usually at a stupidly high volume.

Despite all this, the MOST annoying thing about this hotel was the staff who were very abrupt and unhelpful (even those who could speak perfect English). And trying to get fresh towels for our room was like pulling teeth! When asking for towels for the pool we were told to collect them at the pool, then walked to the pool to be told we would need to use the ones from our room. So we trekked back up there again to collect them. Upon heading back up to our room, we asked reception for clean towels as we were about to shower and we were told they would be sent straight up. Half an hour later we were still waiting so had to go back down to reception to collect them ourselves. Having learned our lesson, the next day we insisted on waiting at reception to collect fresh towels for ourselves (despite the staff insisting we should go back up to our rooms and assuring us we would have the towels shortly) and STILL had to wait at least ten minutes in reception in our swimsuits while the girl on reception chatted away to the cleaning girl on the phone, in fits of giggles. When this girl brought the towels up to reception, the two of them continued their chatter for at least a couple of minutes, ignoring our presence until we interrupted and asked if we could please have the towels!

To end the saga perfectly, on our last morning, we had a quick swim in the pool and asked for new towels on the way up to the room (still only using one towel each per day!). We reminded the staff that we were due to be checking out in a couple of hours so would appreciate them promptly, they ASSURED us we would have them in five minutes. An hour and a half later, my sister and I ended up showering then having to dry ourselves with the hairdryer in the bathroom. To make things worse, when we actually checked out we reminded the two people on reception that we had asked for towels and not received them. One woman simply shrugged. When I told her we'd had to dry ourselves with the hairdryer, she laughed and said "Better for you" - despite the fact it was in the 40s outside!!!!!!

I can not emphasise enough how disappointed I am that I parted with my hard-earned money for this shamble of a venue. There are other lovely hotels in this area so don't be lured by talk of the great pool, because even if you like noise, it's not worth it to stay at this hotel. You'd be better off visiting the pool as a day guest!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

For the price and the number of stars, this hotel is a travesty. It has a great view and a beautiful pool, but that is all it has going for it. And the pool is always much, much too busy for comfort, between the large number of hotel guests and day guests.

Things that did not work in the hotel: the electrical outlets, which fell out of the wall (literally) when we tried to charge our cell phones. Both outlets. The refrigerator in one room and the tv in the other. The bathtub (it did not drain). The credit card machine - the staff asked us to pay our 6000dh bill in CASH, immediately, because the machine didn't work. One of our two rooms was swarming with ants, the other had a roach.

The customer service was ABYSMAL. At no other hotel in the world have I ever, ever had a hotel employee swear at me. Yet it happened here - I attempted to take breakfast on the gorgeous patio, as the breakfast hall was full and quite hot. I was told that I was not allowed, and when I asked for a manager, the employee swore at me! In another instance a friend asked for a towel at the pool and was told that she had already gotten a towel -yesterday- that she had brought up to her room, and therefore she was not allowed another.

Do NOT stay here. Stay anywhere else in Fes!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank formeracademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

This is a good hotel by European standards. It is not a great hotel but overall it is clean , comfortable and good for the price. It does not deserve rave reviews but equally it's overall performance does not deserve criticism.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan.G49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Menzeh Fes
Menzeh Fes
#85 of 101 in Fes
37 reviews
2.3 mi away
Zalagh Parc Palace
Zalagh Parc Palace
#97 of 101 in Fes
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#52 of 101 in Fes
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#60 of 101 in Fes
658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Fes
Ramada Fes
#87 of 101 in Fes
254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menzeh Zalagh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzeh Zalagh Hotel

Address: 10 Rue Mohammed Diouri, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Fes
#42 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £34 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzeh Zalagh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Menzeh Zalagh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzeh Zalagh Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing