We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Moroccon beauty and wonderful staff”
Review of Riad Rcif

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Rcif
Ranked #7 of 217 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

We only had one night in Fez and decided on this Riad as the pictures and history of the Riad is beautiful and fascinating. Aisha who is the Manager made the stay even better. She gave us information about Fez and made most of the arrangements for us. Its definitely advisable to make arrangements for someone to pick you from the airport if you haven't been to Morocco before. The map i found via google is useless as the Riad is hidden within windy paths well into the Medina. We were totally amazed when we stepped into the Riad as te exterior is nothing in comparison to what we saw inside. Such beauty and colours awaited us.

We also decided to take up the hamman treatment which was performed by Aisha herself. It was a great introduction to hamman treatment.

Aisha also arranged a guide to bring us through the medina. He was wonderfully informative and we saw a lot more then imagined.

Definitely highly recommended for great service and beauty of the place. Thanks to Aisha and the whole team for making our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryCCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

We were staying at Riad Rcif with my daughter for 10 days. Aisha the manager is a wonderful host, and the lovely family who runs this place- were both helpful and full of useful information. Not to mention the amazing meals, and great service. If you come to Fez, I full-heartedly recommend for you to stay here. Good vibes!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iconklub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Deep in the medina this Riad oozes elegance and history. All the staff consistently give friendly
helpful service. As first time traveller to morocco I found the riad rcif to be like a good friend.
kinga bisits sydney australia.

Room Tip: ground floor
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kinga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Riad Rcif is a jewel. An immaculately restored 14th century private home, it is one of the oldest buildings in the oldest part of the city. We stayed in the Ambassador Suite, which was extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated, with a coffered Andalusian ceiling, metalwork chandeliers and traditional zellig tiles. You awake to light streaming through glowing stained glass.

The staff are jewels, too. Hisham, Selim, Aisha and Lahcen helpfully assist visitors not only in the riad, but on specialized tours. Riad Rcif is more than a beautiful place to stay, it is an intimate cultural center. It is both a beehive of activity and an place of tranquility. Fes is a fascinating city, but labyrinthian and disorienting. It's great to have a base that is beautiful, serene, and an entree to cultural events we otherwise would have missed. Our only complaint is that we can't live here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnetteandCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Of all the riads we stayed in during our trip round Morocco this was the best and therefore the only one I have rated as excellent. All the other riads were lovely but there is something about Riad Rcif that marks it out as special. From dealing with an overbearing porter who demanded more than the agreed price to carry our luggage when we first arrived, to arranging an early breakfast for us when we left Aysha was just superb.After a warm welcome when we were given a map of the medina and all our questions were answered we were taken to our room, the upstairs Fatima suite.It is a good size and has a beautiful bathroom and like the rest of the riad the decor and furnishing are sumptuous and very comfortable. We were able to keep up with the news on the unobtrusive flat screen TV and it was lovely to have a room with a fridge in where we could store cool drinks ready for our return from the hot and busy medina. We opted to eat in the riad for both nights of our stay and I am so glad we did so. The food is freshly prepared,delicious and plentiful both in the evenings and at breakfast.We were able to eat on the terrace the first night and as we sat down Aysha introduced us to a 'Kiwi' family who were staying there. She is keen to ensure that all the guests enjoy their stay and feel a part of the riad family. We got on extremely well with the'kiwis' and shared a few bottles of wine before we finally went to bed in the early hours. We asked Aysha to arrange an official guide for us the following day after an unfortunate tour by a faux guide in Rabat and he was so interesting and took us to some places we would never have found on our own both inside and outside the medina and the day just flew by. He advised us to haggle in the shops but my husband couldn't bring the price down on the fez he just had to buy in Fes! We had the lamb tagine on the second night and once again it was very enjoyable.The meals may be considered by some to be pricey but, like our entire stay they are worth every penny. Aysha's mum and some of her family had arrived from Australia for a visit and we were introduced to them as we ate our meal, this time downstairs because it was windy and rather cool on the upstairs terrace.Two days in Fes just isn't long enough to fully appreciate this Imperial city, full of history and interesting buildings. I was so sad to be leaving Riad Rcif and the friendly staff we had met there, especially young Lahsen and his lovely smile, nothing was too much trouble for him. Regretfully I didn't have time to fit in a massage on this visit but hopefully we will return for a longer stay in this delightful riad.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs in the Fatima suite and found it to be a good size and very comfortable with a sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hillcroft_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I stayed at Riad Rcif in January for only 2 days on our way to the desert and knew I wanted to come back. I brought another group of writers with me for a writers's retreat in conjunction with the Fes Sacred Music Festival. A stay at Riad Rcif is more than just a hotel/ guest house holiday. We have been so well looked after by the staff and manager at Rcif they it feels like coming home. Breakfasts, lunches and dinners are the best you will find in the medina. Hischam, the owner, and the staff are so welcoming and friendly, but gold stars must go to Aisha the manager, who goes way beyond the call of duty, looking after her guests with such attention to detail,making sure they can find their way around the medina safely, ferrying people from here to there, arranging meals, tours, itineraries, and through her local knowledge leading us into unforgettable moments and experiences. Thanks Aisha. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jnana511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here, we requested for airport transfer from the riad which really helped, as to get to the riad can be quite confusing (lots of small alleys), the driver will show you directly to the front door. The interior is beautifully furnished and decorated. The bed was comfy, and the bathroom in my opinion fabulous.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a man who acted like one of the owners (forgot his name), he mentioned he has worked with unesco and is a qualified architect. Indeed we think he did a good job restoring the riad. However, he also told us it is our lucky day as it was the last day of handicraft festival (we did a google search and found nothing on it), and carpets were on discount up to 70% off. He suggested we take an official guide as he said it was difficult to navigate around the souks. We agreed and took the official guide, who then led us to the carpet store and he told us the same thing, carpets were on discount because of the last day of the festival. The carpet store quoted us of a ridiculous price of 1000 Euro for a small rug which he claimed had been highly discounted. We later found out from the souks the same carpet is only 1000 Dirhams! And apparently no one in the souks have ever heard of this handicraft festival. Go figure!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank muddie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadRcif, General Manager at Riad Rcif, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear guest, I was sorry to read about your negative experience in Fes and regret that you didn't say anything while you were here so we could have fixed the situation. We always encourage feedback so we can improve your experience immediately.
There seems to be a misunderstanding in relation to the celebration of handicrafts in Fes.
Handicrafts are a well known specialty here and part of the city's history therefore artisan co-operatives are a part of all tours. Sometimes the co operatives want to move stock if it has been quiet ( like shops all around the world) so are more open to discounted prices. 
It is very difficult to compare prices for carpets as the quality varies so much. Something similar looking may be found in the the souks but it is not necessaarily the same quality. 
The first prices quoted are always ridiculous, that's part of the culture here, then starts the bargaining!
Upon arrival, all guests are given a map of the medina, a detailed map on how to get to the riad and access to many guidebooks in all languages should they wish to explore the medina on their own. We warn guests about hustlers & false guides and offer to book an official guide through the tourist office if they choose.
The riad is not responsible for what happens on the tours. If we get bad feedback, we pass that on to the tourist office. Our aim is always to make our guests' experience as positive and memorable as possible. 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#7 of 100 in Fes
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 100 in Fes
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#5 of 100 in Fes
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Rcif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Rcif

Address: Avenue Mohamed Ben El Alaoui | No. 1 Takharbicht Laayoune Rcif, Fes 30200, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £66 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Rcif 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house Riad Rcif is located in the nicest district of the old Medina of Fez, in Morocco, at a very short distance from Bab Boujloud, the famous blue gate of the Medina. The riad benefits from its easy access with a free parking just on place, at the riad's door. This charming riad in the heart of Fes has been completely renovated in 2012. Rcif offers 8 bedrooms with air conditioning and heating, with luxury features : A panoramic terrace with a stunning view over Fez and its entire Medina.-The guest house offers free Wi-Fi in the all riad and satellite TV.-An attentive staff will ensure your well-being & comfort. A cook is at your disposal to prepare the best local specialities.-A true art of living in Moroccan style, a land of peace in the heart of Fes Medina, will ensure you an unforgettable stay in Riad Rcif. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Rcif reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing