We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect quiet place in the centre of Medina”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Riad Medina Fez

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Cool off in our beautiful plunge pool The Building
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Living Room
Cool off in our beautiful plunge pool
The Building
Main Salon
Living Room
Take tea in the garden
Living Room
Relax in wonderful surroundings
Kitchen
Relax by the pool
Kitchen
Master Suite - Bedroom
The Building
Master Suite - Through the arch
The Building
Master Suite - Salon
The Building
Master Suite - Reflections
The Bedroom 1
Jacuzzi Room - Romantic Jacuzzi
The Bedroom 1
Jacuzzi Room - Bathroom
The Bedroom 1
Jacuzzi Room - Bedroom
The Bedroom 1
Double en-suite - Bathroom
The Bedroom 1
Double en-suite
The Bedroom 1
Double en-suite - Bedroom
The Bedroom 1
Double Room
The Bedroom 2
Double Room
The Bedroom 2
The Bedroom 2
The Bedroom 2
The Bedroom 2
The Bedroom 3
The Bedroom 3
The Bedroom 4
The Bedroom 4
The Bedroom 4
The Bedroom 4
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 4
Bathroom
Patio
Patio
Patio
Patio
Patio
Patio
Terrace
Terrace
The Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
culverwel...
Berlin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not for the faint-hearted!”
Reviewed 2 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We stayed in the Riad Medina in February which had a number of disadvantages - firstly the rooms are designed to be cool and so it was difficult to keep warm. Secondlly, we were warned that it was not really safe to go out into the Medina after dark and anyway everything closed down. As it gets dark early in February, we felt rather trapped! It was possible to take a petit taxi to the Ville Nouvelle, but you need strong nerves to travel with these kamikaze drivers! Fortunately, we could get a simple but excellent meal in the Riad.
The room (the jacuzzi room) was poorly equipped - only a bed and a chest of drawers - nowhere to sit down or hang anything. There were a couple of coat hooks which fell off when we hung things on them. The jacuzzi was unfortunately not working, but there was plenty of hot water for showers and baths. As we only paid 40 euros a night (off-season price) for the room with breakfast, we felt that in spite of the shortcomings, it was reasonable value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The kindly housekeeper and the evening meal
Liked least: lack of comfort and facilities in room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2013
Big thank you for your response, I am sorry that your stay in Fes did not meet your expectation but we appreciate you honest feedback.

The winter season does offer a different perspective; February is "out of season" for tourists in Fes and therefore it is the perfect time to see how the medina operates in a traditional way withut the heat and busstle of the summer months. This time of year is favoured by scholars and historians who use it to get under the skin of the real and very unique medina. I have highlighted the need to Abdul to ensure that guests are made aware of the services of the official medina guides, who are highly educated and very proud of their medina, and also provide the assurance and well-being for our guests.....personally I have never experianced any safety issues and we have not had any reports or incidents with other guests.

February can be a cool month in morocco and i appreciate your view on the way the houses are built, I have asked Usef to ensure that there are sufficient portable heaters to ensure that bedrooms are warm and cosy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kesimi
Tarragona, Spain
1 review
“A perfect quiet place in the centre of Medina”
Reviewed 11 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

It was the right choice: a nice place in the heart of Medina with perfect rate between price and amenities. Thanks a lot to Youssf and Alliah for your kindness!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver...
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A sanctuary in the middle of the medina”
Reviewed 24 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Set in the heart of the old medina, this riad is a beautiful sanctuary to return to after a day in the markets. Beautiful rooms, great food, wonderful service. The decor is truly stunning. We ended up staying longer because we couldn't pull ourselves away from this calm oasis. This is for a traveler who wants to experience the real Morocco. A beautiful breakfast to start your day, ending off with mint tea on the rooftop patio.
There is a new parking lot a 5 minute walk away from the riad, which makes it very easy to find. The house manager met us there and helped with our baggage. They were very helpful with arranging transportation and restaurants... anything we needed!
This truly was a highlight to our trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2012
Thank you for your review and a BIG thank you for the wonderful photographs which you have agreed for us to use on our website.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David663
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Very Good”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

It all started at the airport...Abdel collected and welcomed me with a "Welcome to Morocco" and a big smile. This set the standard for the weekend! The drive to the Medina was like the best bits of F1 but without the crashes, the Moroccon driving code is based on "God Willing", and obviously he was smiling on us that weekend.
The arrival at the Riad was as if i was a long lost son. Snacks and mint tea were presented, and i was comfortably attended too while documents were sorted. The lady who cooks speaks even less English than Abdel, but it really doesnt seem to matter as their charming and relaxed desire to please says it all. The Riad is beautiful but not overpoweringly so, so it feels very homely very quickly. The pool is of great value in the shaded, but 35 degree heat of the garden and really nice to either plunge into, or just to dip your feet in off the end of the loungers. My room was the "jacuzzi room" , that opened strait into the pool/garden area. I didnt bother with the jacuzzi ( I prefered the pool ) but it was a very elegant room,with a jacuzzi bathroom and double bed. The food is fantastic, and everything is bought fresh, so if you order an evening meal of Chicken Tagine, the cook will source all the ingrediants from the Medina. The chicken will be bought live and "prepared" at the stall!
The Medina must be on everyones "Bucket List". There are no motor vehicles within its walls, whatever needs to be moved is either by barrow, donkey or mule. The list of hand made goods is vey long, from leather goods and carpets, cooper baths and lamps to ropes and buckets. The ancient tanneries and a view across the Medina can be experienced from the roof terrace (take a drink and a camera, its an experiance worth the trip in itself !)
I would highly recommend Riad Medina as being a welcome oasis in a fasinating and beguiling ancient city, and i've already promised myself to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Staff, Pool, Terrace.....
Liked least: Going Home
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2012
I'm glad that you had such a good time. To experiance Abdels driving is a MUST on any visit to Fez and a great introduction to the city and the Moroccan way of life!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie3012
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An amazing oasis of calm in the middle of the magnificent Medina”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

A wonderful Riad. Calm & cool. A paradise inside the wonderful Medina. A cultural holiday, made even more special by coming back to such a cool house. Zahara the maid is lovely and will give you the best breakfast. Abdel the taxi driver will show you places you would
not have thought to go to. Abdel the house manager will sort out anything you need. Return to relax and read by the plunge pool. Watch the tiny birds come to drink water in the early morning light. A very happy place to be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The courtyard. A small piece of paradise.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2012
Glad the riad met your expectations.
Everyone involved with the riad works hard to make sure that it is not just a holiday but a wonderful experiance to share with those closest to you and a memory to cherish.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Char...
Le Mans, France
1 review
“A comfortable approach to Fez”
Reviewed 16 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We have recently travelled from France to Morocco with a couple of close friends and their young child aged 5 and a half + our 11-year old boy. For our first two-week trip to this country, we had decided that we wanted to spend most of our time away from the tourist areas and therefore stayed 11 days in the Northern town of Al Hoceima, once a resort town, at a hotel with direct access to the Mediterranean sea (Hotel Amir Plage). The weather and the people were both mild and easy to live with. Since we were flying through Fez, we thought we could not leave the country without spending at least a couple of days in the famous Medina and experience the bustle, heat and pleasure of tourism, between the souk clichés, life real and the spiritual mosques and madrasas.

We had not make any arrangement in advance so that browsing the Internet a couple of days before we were to leave Al Hoceima, we came across Riad Medina website. The pictures, the price and the location just did it. A few emails with Julie, the owner, helped us plan out our arrival in Fez.

Julie has a very nice and efficient Moroccan manager in charge of the place and a couple of people for food, cleaning and repair as efficient and nice as the manager. The latter has basic, fair enough French, and the repairman is conversational in French and, somehow, a man of culture. The cook and charwoman speaks only Arabic and a few French words.

On arrival we were greeted as guests, with food and tea on demand ; it was past eating time, and a Ramadan day at that, but a meal was conjured up almost at once. Our general and immediate feeling was of comfort and safety after a long night journey by bus from Al Hoceima. The manager took care of our immediate needs, without ever pressing us, leaving us time to find our way through the mazy riad, serving tea, placing a nice word here, an answer to our questions there, while the pool was being filled up with fresh water for the kids already jumping all over the place. The manager’s positive casualness is no doubt an asset to the place. His brother does the repair work and has a room in the riad but does not live in when guests are around (although he does drop in on and off ; on our arrival, his young boy was around with him, giving a sort of home and family touch to the place).

The place itself lived up to our expectation. The riad is spacious, comfortable, impressive but not overbearing. The area where it is located is very calm with, on working days, the humdrum of muffled hammers from the nearby workshops. You also get passing whiffs from the Fez tanneries at the peak of a very hot day and bread smells from the next door baker. There is a 2-minute walk access to the riad from the car park of Rmila, much closer than the one indicated in the riad papers (of great help otherwise). I did not manage to find my way back from Bab R’Cif although I tried it twice. People readilly walked with me shorts stretches of the way in a sort of improvised chain that brought me back to the riad.

Prices for accommodation being fixed in advance with the owner and paid to the manager, we only had to arrange terms with the manager for our extras. Prices were in the end left to our appreciation, but I would not take it as a rule. We ask for a guided tour of the Medina and a Chauffeur for a tour of the New Town ; the chauffeur who owns a transportation company eventually drove us to the airport. Answering our demand, the manager led us to a neighbourhood restaurant the first night and had a Moroccan tajine meal prepared for us at the riad on the next evening. Our guide to the Medina, a women fluent in French and English, was also an asset to our stay in Fez ; the riad has actually developed usefull connections with reliable people from Fez and has built up it’s own network of competent people and services.

We did not understand it right away, but eventually realised that we could feel free to ask for people to be around or not according to what we wanted. Things have only to be said out clear. This would have saved us from having the riad manager awkwardly (on our part) waiting for us while we were dining at the restaurant on our first night (we could have fumbled our way back to the riad and only needed his help to get to the restaurant).

All things considered, we would unreservedly recommend Riad Medina to our friends for its welcoming, human and efficient approach to tourism in Fez.

Anne and Jean-Charles

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dedication of the riad people
Liked least: The unruly upstairs suite air-conditionning !
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, they are highly valued. It is much more than work for everyone that helps Riad Medina to be such a special place; we value each guest as though they are a member of our family and try to give them the best experiance possible. Thank you once again for taking the time to review our Riad.
Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasa g
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
“paradise :)”
Reviewed 4 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012

I was in the riad with some friends and we found it exceptional. It is placed in the center of old medina,great location. It is really a luxurious hideout in the old part of the city. The riad has 5 rooms, one is separated in like a guest house with its one beautiful and spacious bathroom. In front of it there is a beautiful Islamic atrium, where you will have your breakfast served if you visit it during the summer. After breakfast you can enjoy your own swimming pool, or in the night if you prefer. All rooms are spacious and air-conditioned, and I can say beautiful. You can also enjoy beautiful Islamic art and architecture in whole riad, from floors, over rugs, walls and windows to the beautiful roof with wonderful view on the medina. In few words it is quite a small paradise in the best location in whole Fez and you will definitely enjoy it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing