We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time”
Review of Riad Kettani FES

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Kettani FES
Ranked #18 of 223 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I type this review as we stay here, what a fab place to kick back and relax if that is what you are looking for. Great Management and staff make this riad the most chilled out B & B we have every stayed in. Nothing is too much bother, the rooms have a personal touch and are clean and tidy....The food is plentiful and wholesome and caters for veggies, thankfully for my wife. Wifi is available in the main entrance hall making your breakfast and evening drinks enjoyable while trawling the internet for other gems to visit. Book here and have Fes on your doorstep, a must for a visit to this magical city.....We are blown away and will continue to be so during our four day visit. Get onto the roof terrace with a bottle of wine and take in the Fes atmosphere before venturing out, its simply breathtaking.....

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

Great location - in the Fes Medina. The riad was beautifully appointed and comfortable. The tile work and wood carving were reminiscent of the the Alhambra - luxurious. The breakfast was sufficient and the restaurant for the evening meal was excellent. Although the staff and owner were friendly and helpful, better information (including a good map) about getting around in Fes would be beneficial. This is a wonderful place to stay at an affordable cost; we highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: If in room internet is important ask about service in the unit before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The owner, Dominique and her very friendly staff made us feel very welcome. It's a beautifully restored riad that transport you back into the grand old days of the Fes. We spent 3 nights in the Azizah room and enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdhilaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed at this riad for three nights. What an unexpected surprise to find the beautiful interior after negotiating the twists and turns of the narrow medina streets. We had dinner at the riad on all three nights and it was absolutely delicious. The service was excellent, the staff being friendly and attentive.They were also there to guide us from our car to the riad and back. (A good thing as we would almost certainly have got lost!) This was one of the best riads we stayed at in Morocco and if we were to go back to Fes, we would definitely stay there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights with 3 kids. This was the first riad we stayed in and it took some adjusting to a different bed ( they are really firm in morocco and pillows too) etc. but we had a lovely suite with two bedrooms and two showers and a private living room With open ceilings and roofless in summer! Dominique was so kind and helpful and thank god for her employee Latifa who chased after my 4 year old and got him to eat. The food was really the best we've had in morocco and the service amazing! We had someone meet us from the hotel. Our driver coordinated it and then we hired a guide as we could tell Fes was a sure to get lost type of place. I loved the people, food and riad- softer fluffy pillows would of made this ultra amazing but it was great!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nipperdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed in this riad for 2 nights, eating in both nights as the food was so delicious. Our room was amazing - decorated with authentic Moroccan furnishings, large and spacious, and opening out onto the delightful inner courtyard. From the moment we arrived Dominique was attentive and helpful, as were all the staff. We especially appreciated being served an early breakfast on the day we left. After wandering through the medina for hours it was lovely to be able to come back to the calm of the riad. Highly recommended.

Several reviews indicated travellers had trouble finding the riad. If you go to Bab Boujloud there are signs from the end of the street that lead to directly to the riad - about 10 minutes walk. You can also hire a trolley and the driver should be able to take you there.

Room Tip: All rooms are individually furnished; the website has good photos and descriptions. All seemed to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucybNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

If you rate this riad by standard criteria you normally use for rating hotels, you might find a number of points on a negative side, some of those many tiny nuances, which you normally expect as a must in a western world.
But hey, after a 5 minute walk through narrow and crowded streets of medina from the closest point, where the car could bring you, once you enter through the doors of the riad, you realize that you are in a world so far from the standard hotels and usual criteria used, that you just can't apply those.
Each room here is unique, most of them with ceilings some 6/7 meters high, each carefully designed and each unique. And the mosaic windows overlook a beautiful inner courtyard, with a small fountain in the center. The stairs up are narrow and steep, but the terrace on top is well worth the climb, especially so, if you're going up there to enjoy a glass of wine (yep, it's served here, local one, not perfectly good, but ok) and a dinner (chicken in some subtly sweet sauce was the best).
And yes, with all this, you still got some of the normal comforts you expect, like air conditioning.
On a negative side, the towels, while spotlessly clean, are not best quality, and the extremely narrow beds in our twin room made us envy the people, who stayed in doubles, and enjoyed the huge four-poster beds.
But, as said above, these are just minor things, otherwise, I totally recommend this place. Thank you, Dominique, we will return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pataphysicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
2.1 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#50 of 100 in Fes
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#4 of 100 in Fes
441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kettani FES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kettani FES

Address: 3, Derb Touil | Derb Jamâa, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £69 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Kettani FES 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic heart of the medina, Riad Kettani is a haven of peace; it offers you a kind of serenity, welfare, authenticity for an exotic stay. You will be astonished by this authentic Fassie Jewel with the harmonious lines of its patio, its zelliges, its carved stucco, a beautiful cedar wood ceilings, its sophisticated doors and its chantey panoramic rooftop as well. At Riad Kettani, you will be spoiled by a typical Moroccan cuisine, which is renowned for its finesse and flavor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Kettani FES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing