We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad experience”

Hotel Tomboukto Fes
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tomboukto Fes
Ranked #43 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Fes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

- Expensive for the quality of the palce and compared to similar hotels
- staff very poor performing
- they tried to sell us any sort of service - all not required
- they supposingly organised a tour for us with an official guide who turned out to be a fake one who hardly spoke
- dirty room
- the moment we decided not to buy anything, the staff lost interest in us
- no hangers/nails/wardrobe to hang clothes
- no shower curtain
- nobody did the room for 3 days
- absent receptionist almost always
- no windows, including the bathroom
- no aircon or heating
- door lock hardly working

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackHank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2012 via mobile

I checked out right after checking in.
Run down and cold feeling.
The toilet was bare with no toilet paper.
Just doesn't have that appealing look. I was given a room in 3rd level and I was all alone... The corridor to the rooms are dark with all of the other rooms door left opened, made it even scarier...

However the lady was very apologetic that I didn't like the while zen of it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NurAkmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

For the price, it is ok. But you will need to be willing to put up with a smell of urine, endless flies, and facilities that are sub-par. We would write a whole long list of the things that did not work in our room, but that would take forever. Instead, just know that you are close to the Medina (but on the opposite side as the main gate), close to the Tanneries, and perhaps, in a little less touristy area. But the rooftop terrace does not have a single chair, so not really sure what a benefit it is to the customers. The locks are all deteriorating and we had just a simple padlock on the door. No hot water in our show ensuite, so we had to walk down the hall. Wardrobe door was locked, so we couldn't use, and window didn't shut completely. No curtain, just a sheet to drape over the window. It was amusing though to think about how this place may have been a nice hotel back in the day, but sadly, it has been left to rot and deteriorate to a 0 star hotel. Yet, for what we paid (which we bargained) it was worth it for us.

Room Tip: Look at prices online prior to arrival. They tried to charge us more than the rooms are listed onlin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin-RTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at Hotel Tomboukto for four nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful (especially Omar, the young waiter), but you have to keep an eye on the bill: they could try to overcharge you a little. The best way to avoid this, is to agree on the price at the beginning of your stay. The room was quite big and clean, the bed was ok. They have works going on to modernise everything, e.g. they recently changed the locks on the doors.
The location of the hotel is great, it's at the beginning of the Old Medina, so you're close to the greatest attraction of Fes.
Breakfast is included in the price (bread with jam, butter and tea). Dinner was good, it's a lot: they give you a three course menu. They probably will try to convince you to eat at the hotel: for 1 night they asked 150 Dh per person, and that became 80 Dh when we agreed that we would eat there for 3 nights. If they charge you more than 80 dh, it's best to go somewhere else for dinner, there are plenty of good restaurants close to the hotel.
The terrace is great to relax and enjoy some mint tea. Overall it was a great hotel to stay in and we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I stayed there for a day, but they treated me like a family member. They helped in everything that they could. It is very well located, just in the entrance of the old medina. The food of the restaurant is delicious, but be careful with prices. They charged 20dirhams for each coke. The hotel is kind of old, with some broken things in the rooms, nevertheless, the owner works to fix things up or to help for anything. The other 'negative' point is the brother of the owner, who regents a store of natural medicines. He does some extra money with tourists staying in the hotel. Sometimes he cheats a little bit to sell something (prices, services included, etc), so be careful on trusting the things that he says (he makes you feel like he cares about you..). If you are looking for something exclusive in Fez, this is not your hotel. But, I have to recognize that if I went back to Fez, I would stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cflor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: la chambre avec la terrasse est excellente
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank city group b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CB39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
4.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
577 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#64 of 100 in Fes
101 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#46 of 100 in Fes
229 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
580 reviews
4.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tomboukto Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tomboukto Fes

Address: 32 Bis Woued Zhoun | Medina, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Fes
Price Range: £33 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tomboukto Fes 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Tomboukto Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing