We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“inside the Medina like at home”
Review of Riad Nassim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Nassim
Ranked #190 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
Naples, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
1,490 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,143 helpful votes
“inside the Medina like at home”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Life inside the Medina of Fez is a powerful and strong experience ... Riad Nassim is a cozy place where you can really feel at home, like Omar immediately will remember (perhaps even in your language!) Of course, as indeed in the rest of the Medina, you have to keep your eyes wide open ... Omar manages to get you everything (really everything!) and advise you the best places to have a lavish dinner or a quick lunch. The staff is quite friendly and is even fun to communicate with a puzzle of different languages ​​.... The breakfast is good and plentiful (especially "lu pan salee," the corn bread). The rooms are very nice, romantic and richly furnished, windowless although because of the structure of the riad. Cleaning is not always flawless. You sleep well. There is hot water and the air conditioner. You can smoke ... and not just tobacco. Very nice terrace with a view of the city full of contradictions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atepais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    20
    18
    9
    40
See reviews for
7
52
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed in this Riad for three days, during my visit in Fes. It's located in Medina, not far from Palais Jamai, famous hotel located on the main road. When I came from Train Station, taxi driver just dropped me in front of Palais Jamai, but one staff from the Riad, named Omar, was already there to pick me. At the beginning, It was so confusing to remember how to get the Riad. There are many small streets with the same looks. But, after two or three times, you would get used to. Omar gave his mobile number to me, in case if I get lost, he could come to pick me.
It has very nice living room, with beautiful coloured tiles and paintings on the walls. It was really Moroccan Style.
The bed room was small, it was a little bit smelly of smoke. It has no ventilation to the outside, but it's equipped by air conditioning. But, since I just stayed there for three days, and spent most of the times outside, It didn't bother me so much. It has roof top terrace where I could see whole Medina from the top.
The staffs were incredible friendly, especially Khalid and Omar, which never hesitate to assist guests anytime. They helped to arrange the guide, and atmy last night, they prepared very nice dinner. It was incredible stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nurul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I spent 2 days in Fès and it was just awesome to stay in Riad Nassim. The facilities are Ok, the decoration has a genuine and beautiful Moroccan style, but the best is undoubtly the staff. Khalid is a really nice guy, extraordinary host and can prepare you a spactacular dinner. I have much to thank him for the nice journey I've done.

Not that hard to reach from outside the medina (really close to Palais Jamaï), you'll be frankly surprised.
Make sure you visit the terrace, it has a great view and is just powerfull at night.
P.S.: If you do need a guide, just ask for Amit! :D

Great trips!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabarete, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I spent a couple of days exploring Fes and had a small room in Riad Nassim, which is also known as Riad Doha. It is a lovely small hotel with lovely staff and excellent food. You cannot get more value for your money. On top opf the hotel there is a very nice outdoor terrace with a lovely view to the Medina. The only reason which could NOT make you happy in Riad Nassim would be if you are sociophobic, because you are close to real Moroccan life. Any other person must be happy in this hotel. The atmospere was pretty cosmopolitan, as there were other hotel guest from Israel, South America, Spain. Most of the staff speak very good English and Spanish, and, of course, French.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JW-RD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This riad has a very nice lounge/common area and the rooms have some very interesting decorations, especially the suites. Our group of 4 stayed in two different regular doubles (different nights) and one of the suites. One of the doubles was very small and dark, the other was a more reasonable size with a cabinet and a window to the outside. But both bathrooms were ridiculously dark and the stench from the drains soon became almost unbearable unless you left the door open and let the smell waft into the room. The suite was very nice, although very dark throughout, but it had windows that open on to the lounge and windows in the bathroom which limited the smell somewhat. Khalid and the others were very welcoming and helpful, and breakfast was good. The roof terrace was another bonus. The location had some pros and cons - fairly close to the most interesting areas of the medina (tanneries, etc) and Bab Jamai (where you could get taxis) but also down a confusing maze of alleys with absolutely no signage (not even at the door) and lots of really sketchy young guys hanging around watching for opportunities. Some people would not be comfortable walking around by themselves here. All in all, loved the hospitality but there were some serious downsides. Just a little bit of work would go a long way.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taormina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Being a queen on a budget, I love feeling pampered on a budget!

This is a good catch, only Eur15 for a double for single in a quiet area of the medina.

Very close to Palais Jamai, easy to find, good comfy bed, and a lovely terrace with stunning views!

In the medina, yet close to the taxi carpark, this is a very convenient choice for
sightseeing.

Strongly recommended! Go for it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aqueenonabudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosmalen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

The hotel is really beautiful and decorated in Maroccan style. The bed was clean and the room to. The shower could be cold. The staff is frendly although they may have a way to shake money out of you. Like the guide they arrange for you, in the end it cost more as expected, and so on.
The vieuw of the roof tarrace, where you can have your breakfast is in the sun, is very beautiful. The place it self is hard to find, best is problaby to call the hotel when you have parked at the Bab al Guissa.
The location is very good. ONly at night is very hard to find a restaurant there, so you are almost left to eat at the hotel, wich is not cheap. Better is to take a taxi to the blue gate.
When you have a room on the first floor the window is at the insight where you can hear the other guests and staff when they sit down and have a talk.

Room Tip: When you have a room on the first floor the window is at the insight where you can hear the other gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja1087427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Haj Palace
Riad Haj Palace
#34 of 99 in Fes
43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
941 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Tafilalet
Riad Dar Tafilalet
#20 of 99 in Fes
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Riad La Source Bleue
Riad La Source Bleue
#162 of 216 in Fes
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#2 of 216 in Fes
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Nassim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Nassim

Property: Riad Nassim
Address: Riad Nassim 11, derb El Miter, Quartier Zanchfour, Medina Ancienne, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Nassim 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Riad Nassim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing