We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place, lovely people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar El Ouedghiri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar El Ouedghiri
Ranked #27 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here two nights, had a lovely time right from arrival. They made it really easy to get here by directing the taxi driver then meeting me as well. It's actually easy to find after you've done it once though. Love that the family live downstairs, and everyone was so nice and helpful, It's very beatiful inside, the roof terrace is great with amazing views, and the food was also good (and nice to have the option not to have to go out in the evening). Two families with kids were here, which I also thought was lovely. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tessalindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    22
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
51
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Really loved our stay here. The food was excellent, we ordered dinner one night from the Riad just to try and loved it so much we ate there for the rest of our trip! Rooms were nice, and was lovely to eat breakfast on the terrace. Staff were very helpful, it was mainly the daughter of the owner who we delt with, she was always around and gave us her mobile number for if we needed it. Would thoroughly recommend this Riad to all who are travelling to Fez.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimoraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We have spent four nights in this riad, placed in the heart of the medina.
Our room was clean, comfortable, big. We have been welcomed by Khadijia, who speaks a very good english.
Breakfast was simply but good; there is a good view from the terrace, from which you can have a look to the whole medina. The only "negative" aspect is that it was very hard, at least for us, find the way back to the road and in the morning find the way to the closest door to get out of the medina. We suggest the hosts to print a little map of the area marking the easiest way to get out of the area.
The wifi connection doesn't cover the whole place, but it works only in the common area.
Overall we have been very happy to be there and, if (hopefully) we will be back in Fes, our choice will be again this one.
Stefano and Nico

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefano77_nico83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this riad for 2 nights. The hospitality we've encountered is extra-ordinary. When arriving in fes, they told us to take a taxi to Batha and a member of the family picked us up and showed us the way to the riad. Almost impossible to find on your own. We had a very comfortable room, with good AC and a nice and clean bathroom. They also have an amazing roof terrass. You will find yourseld sitting on the roof again and again, enjoying the view, a drink or a shisha. They provided us with an amazing guide to explore Fes. We had dinner twice, and the homecooked food is delicious. We strongly recommend this riad for a stay in Fes. It has made our stay even better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThoiZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anvers en Belgique
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

When one gives an 'Excellent' quotation, what is there more to say?
We are regular travellers through different European countries and always looking for the bed and breakfast-formule. Experiences of our friends help us mostly to find suitable residenses. So we leaned on their advices this time too.
A friendly English speaking young men help us through the labyrint of narrow streets to the reserved riad. What seemed to be an anonymous house with only an small nameboard next to its frontdoo seemed to be our riad. A quite lane with a mosque at the corner, a good reference point, for the next 4 days of our staying. Outside it didn't give us a great impression but, once inside in the central patio, we were overwhelmed by its beauty. It made us think of the beautiful places we had seen once in Andalusia. Two large bedrooms on the ground floor and two equally large on the first floor. All rooms have a view on this beautiful patio. On top of the building there are two covered terraces giving an uncomparable sight on the city and the surrounding valley. Our room was large with a double and a single bed, table and bench and a small seperate bathroom in the corner. Everything clean and decent

Our friends in Belgium had warned us to pay attention to the hygienic conditions in Morocco. Their tap water is not drinkable for Europeans but our hostess and her daughter were very aware of our precautions. Bottled water for toothbrushing and drinking was always available. For the same hygienic reasons we chose not to have our meals in town and decided to have them in this riad. In one word: they were EXCELLENT!
One of our best experiences was the warm relations we had with the whole staff. The helpfull attitude of the kitchen- and cleaning help, the warm welcome greetings, everytime we met Fatima,the hostess-mother, and the the fascinating and enriching conversations we had with the daughter and her cousin who occasionally helped a hand. French or English, for both of them it was no problem. Who could ask for more? One can not imagine to have a better starting point for a Morocco travel. And so Fes became our favourite Kingcity, far better than Marakech, which is, for our taste, much too touristy.

Room Tip: We had our room of the ground floor, giving immediate access to the patio where you have breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abracadabra_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for a few nights in May. I'm honestly not sure how this Riyad got such good reviews. The rooms are okay, very basic. The bathroom isn't the cleanest and the shower took FOREVER to drain... not cool! It's about a 15 min walk to Medina, although walking back alone at night doesn't feel very safe. Breakfast wasn't anything special and we proffered to eat elsewhere. Service is ok, the staff are very friendly but only one spoke English and she was not always around. The riyads we stayed at in Marrakesh costs less and the rooms were more tastefully decorated. All in all, I don't think I will be recommending this place to any of my friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jazz_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

I stayed with my friends two nights here. The first impression was amazing. It was our first properly looking riad with a lot of colours in it. We were there in winter so it was cold but the owner's daughter (who speaks v.good english) gave us a small heater. there is also an air con in the rooms so you can use it to warm your room. The rooms are different so have a look first before you decide which one to choose. The bathroom wastn't the cleanest one but for the maroccan standards was good. there was no hot water but after telling that to the owner's daughter that was soon sorted as they have a lot of fuses at the exit to the terrace and people simple use them to turn the lights at the terrace and that oftec causes the problem.
Make sure you ask if something is not right as they are always eager to help - just tell them. This is not only here but everywhere. Don't expect that someone will bring you something - ask for it and make sure you agree price first not to be overcharged.
the vi-fi is not the greates. It only works in the sitting area and the signal is very weak.
We also ordered a dinner one evening. There was no menu at that day so we didn't know the price - that was our first lesson to ask for the price before. We were charged more for this one dinner than for our stay. I wouldn't recommend to buy anything to eat there. you can buy much better and much, much cheaper food in the restaurant (as we found out later). We payed through the nose for tajin that wasn't even tasty. Also every evening around 10 p.m the owner came and sush ewerybody. People were sitting and enjoying themselves and I felt like a child that mother's come to send it to bed.

overall My experience there was good but I will never forget how I was overcharged for the tajin. that was outrageous.

Room Tip: Always ask to see the room first. I stayed in a room at the top floor. It was good in the winter as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laothoe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar el Yasmine
Dar el Yasmine
#24 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Meski
Riad Meski
#45 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Drissi
Dar Drissi
#54 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#2 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Verus
Riad Verus
#33 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Rocco
Riad Rocco
#13 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar El Ouedghiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar El Ouedghiri

Property: Dar El Ouedghiri
Address: 49, Oued Souafine, Akibt Sbaa, Douh, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar El Ouedghiri 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar El Ouedghiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing