We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful little heaven in the old Medina”
Review of Dar Faracha Fes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Faracha Fes
Ranked #4 of 207 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful little heaven in the old Medina”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is a beautiful house! Joelle and the staff are amazing! and the riad is so tastefully decorated.

We arranged for the Riad to send a taxi to pick us up from the train station, which is a great idea and reasonably priced. We also had dinner the day we arrived, and it was delicious, I’m just sorry I was so tired to finish the complete meal!!! It was delightful.

We arrived there at night so it was a bit shocking to be in the very narrow streets, but it passed after we got used to it, once you actually get to know the history of the Medina it becomes friendlier. I recommend to ask for a map or a explanation of how to get from the riad to R’Cif, with daylight, so that you don’t get lost.

The breakfast is wonderful and Joelle goes out of her way to make sure you are satisfied. She also provided us with a tour guide, which is not even our style, but we had very little time that we thought this was a great idea. We were so happy with this decision, Abdul, the tour guide was extremely knowledgeable of the Old Medina, he managed history and very interesting political views.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli_Per_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
126
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SG
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

This is a gem of a property 5min from R'Cif, the main transportation hub of the old city. After winding through the impossibly narrow alleyways we felt as if we stumbled into a fantasy when we were ushered into our new home. The decor was tastefully pieced together by our host Joelle, who definitely has an eye for good style.

Its location is close to the major attractions of the old town. Rooms are well adorned and water pressure was fantastic. Do have at least one meal in-house, the staff are so friendly and made my stay that much more enjoyable.

I will recommend friends to stay at this place when in Fes.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancisSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoogeveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

A beautiful location in the middle of the medina, especially since it contrasts with the very narrow streets to it is huge. You will be welcomed with mint tea and homemade cookies. Joëlle, the French hostess at this bed and breakfast is genuinely interested, speaks French and English and no effort is too much for her. You feel quite at home. Delicious breakfast, genuine interest and tips. We had an transfer from the airport and the day trip to the Middle Atlas Mountains is a must.
Do you enjoy a personal approach then this is the place to be!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marijke-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This B&B is the best place in Fes to stay. It is a wonderfully renovated and decorated old Riad and located in the middle of the Medina. It has only 4 rooms and each of them is decorated with great care and typical Moroccon decor. The rooms are clean and big and bathrooms wonderful. But what makes this place really special is the staff. I have stayed in many hotels but have never received such personal service. Joelle, who welcomes guests and runs this place is just so nice and will go out of her way to give you advice. I also recommend having dinner there at least one evening, The food is really good and it feels like eating in a family home. I love this B&B and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawu33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vidreres
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Undoubtedly the best in Fes. It is not a big, luxiourious, five star resort and we were very happy about that! This is the place you want to stay if you are looking for the nicest staff ever, yummy yummie meals, a cosy, clean, classy room, and a place that feels like home. I am a vegetarian AND I avoid carbohydrates and no problem at all! we loved the food. Close to the Rcif square and conveniently a little bit further away from Bab Boujaloud. We will definatly repeat. Don't think about it twice. Book. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aloha17411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

After spending a week in Morocco and staying in several different riads, this was definitely our favourite. Down a tiny road in the medina near the Place R'cif, the riad has been lovingly restored with historical charm as well as a contemporary touch. The bedrooms have wonderful colored themes, the terrace is fantastic with several levels, and there is even a pet turtle! The night we ate dinner in the riad the food was very well prepared and as good as anything we'd had in a restaurant (you can order wine as well) and and the service was delightful. The riad is well located for visiting the medina and is also near the large food market at the place r'cif, making it easy to pick up a snack or a quick street food dinner on the way in or out of the hotel. Joelle has really made the place her own, and met us at the place r'cif on the way in as well as arranged and took us to the taxi at 4am for an early flight out of Fes. She knows the area well and when we were walking to the hotel greeted all her neighbors on the way, which contributed to the welcoming and friendly vibe of the place.
Next time I'm in Morocco, I'm definitely coming back!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank evvyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

As soon as we booked the place, superior customer service started! Joelle ensured we got everything we needed, explained inter-city transport, pick up from train station, etc. Already then I felt welcomed!
It was scary arriving through medina after the sunset, but walking into Dar Feracha was breathtaking! The stay there - superior: quiet rooms, clean space, delicious food, and excellent location! The rooftop was enjoyable even in February!
The only regret I have is not booking this for the end - since other stays couldn't live up to Joelle's Dar!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamraTurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Faracha Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Faracha Fes

Property: Dar Faracha Fes
Address: 16 Derb Lamkouass | Laayoun, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dar Faracha Fes, we hope you will enjoy your stay and come back! You can rent rooms or all the riad. Some rooms are made for 3 or 4 personns. In each room: you will find: bathroom, toilets, queen size bed, wifi, egyptian cotton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dar Faracha Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing