We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very chic place to stay, great breakfast!”
Review of Dar Faracha Fes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Faracha Fes
Ranked #6 of 226 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a BEAUTIFUL house, very elegant and so well done! We stayed in the green room with 3 children. The owner and staff were welcoming and service was impeccable.
The breakfast was great, fresh and filling and much better than the usual Moroccan breakfast fare. Coffee was good too!

Just a couple of things that could be improved: though the room is gorgeous there is simply no room to put the bags, especially in a room designed for 4 people..a small suitcase stand would be great (it would ft in the spacious bathroom I think)...also, I would have appreciated some bathroom amenities besides soap (maybe shampoo in one of those pretty Moroccan ceramic bottles?). Lastly, the terrace was lovely and I was REALLY looking forward to having a cold beer watching the sun set after a long, hot day of sightseeing...alas, they had beer but not cold! :(

Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlariaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

A fantastic place to stay, especially as a first timer in Fes. The staff organised our pick up and transfer from our rental car place to the Dar and then also helped us get to the train station when we left - this was an enormous help.
In terms of the place itself - it is fantastic, a wonderfully restored residence. Our room was huge, spotless, amazing shower and bathroom, and the bed and bedding were top notch.
The central courtyard was serene and there was even a turtle wandering around. The rooftop terrace has spectacular views of the medina, feels like you've gone back in time. The breakfast was delicious and very big - drinks, breads, pancakes, fruits, yoghurt, home made jams, and was served on the terrace. We also had dinner at the Dar too and that was also fantastic!
The staff were enormously helpful and made us feel very at home - we lazed around on the verandah or the terrace in the evenings. Joelle showed us how to find our way from the Dar to the main landmark (very important), we were welcomed with mint tea and small thoughtful additions like water in our room made all the difference.
I also recommend the guide that Joelle organised for us, he came with high esteem from another guest we met there too. I highly recommend it because it was a fantastic break from constant hassling and meant that we were able to actually appreciate everything the Medina has to offer.

The attention to detail and the service were the best we saw anywhere in Morrocco and it made for a fantastic stay. I would come back again and recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: We had the blue room and it was huge and had a fantastic bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaSydney26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had the pleasure and good fortune of spending a couple nights at Dar Faracha Fes in the middle of May and have to say that it definitely lives up to its Trip Advisor reviews. Joelle and her staff were very warm and welcoming. As first time travelers to Morocco, we were a bit out of our element so we opted to take up the offers of an arranged taxi ride to the dar and dinner for the first night. Though a bit pricey, in our opinion, we're glad we did. The dinner was very good and very filling and just what the doctor ordered for weary travelers in a strange and a bit intimidating new environment. The dar and our room were beautiful, very clean and very comfortable. The weather was perfect during our stay for enjoying the rooftop terrace during the evenings and mornings. The breakfast on the terrace was satisfying and filling. It consisted of bread, homemade (I believe) preserves, delicious couscous crepes, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, and a heaping helping of hospitality. The only thing that didn't work out as well as we'd hoped, was the guide we'd booked through Dar Faracha. We asked for an English guide but ended up with a guide who's English was very poor. I can't remember her name, but it starts with an 'M', so English travelers beware of her. On top of very poor pronunciation, she spoke very quickly and we could barely understand a word she said. We were also asked to share the guide with another group, but were charged the original full price at the end (400 MAD). We were also gouged in my opinion for an additional 300 MAD (split between the group) for a taxi to the top of a hill and down to the Jewish Quarter, where we spent most of our time looking for an ATM so the other members of the group could get cash to pay the guide for money she lent them to purchase goods at the vendors she directed us to. Can't really lay the blame for the guide on Joelle, but it's something travelers should be wary of if making arrangements through the Dar Faracha. One other thing to note, is the alleyway leading to the dar. The entrance is very narrow, so if you're claustrophobic, it may be a problem. Also, the neighborhood kids can be a bit of a nuisance. They tried guide us early on hoping to earn a trip and when we politely refused, the would tell us the route back to the dar was closed and try to block our way. They appeared harmless and would always get out of the way if you continued walking, but they might make some travelers nervous, so be advised. All-in-all the experience was very pleasant and we're glad we selected Dar Faracha Fes. Thanks to Joelle and her wonderful staff for a maintaining a top notch establishment and making us fell comfortable and at home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank futurevacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at Dar Faracha Fes for 5 days in May 2014. We were made to feel at 'home' immediately. Joelle is an outstanding host, very friendly and hospitable. Joelle and her staff are extremely helpful and were always willing to help with any questions or queries. Breakfast is included in the room rate and it was fantastic! Great variety and fresh everyday. Including tea, coffee, fresh juice, fruit, various types of jam (home made), yoghurt, sweets, dates, almonds, fresh omelettes etc. The Riad and rooms are very clean. A bottle of water was provided in our room everyday. Joelle and her team pay attention to every detail. I highly recommend Dar Faracha, without hesitation! Thank you, thank you, thank you for making our stay comfortable and memorable!

Room Tip: We stayed in the purple room, it was spacious and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParraChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The stay at Dar Faracha Fes was amazing. Very nice house, wonderfull owners and staff.
We stayed in six hotels during our trip trough Morocco. It was the best by far. You can get much less at the same/similar price at some other places in Morocco. I gave a combination of four to five stars rating(s) because there is always something to improve...but generally the stay was just perfect!!!! One tip for the guests: do not miss the wonderfull dinner!!!
Greetings from Slovenia!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristijanMarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Everything was 5 stars: staff, room, terraces and food!
We stayed 2 nights and on the first one we had a magnificent moroccan dinner. The french owner was very helpful to find us a guide.
I recommend this amazing riad in the medievel Fez medina.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidBarbosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed two nights, separated by one night in a much more expensive and far less satisfactory riad. we booked our first night on booking.com about 3 hours before our arrival. what a find! this was by far our best hotel in three weeks of independant travel around Morocco. the warm welcome by Joelle and the rest of her staff immediately put us at ease after our day long drive from Merzuga. fabulous bed, linens and pillows and fabulous shower. wonderful breakfasts and dinner on the roof. it felt as though we were part of their family. we really cannot say enough good things about this place. the only thing i could recomment they improve is the wifi which was spotty througout the riad. all in all eleven stars out of ten!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 101 in Fes
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#5 of 101 in Fes
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#9 of 101 in Fes
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#1 of 226 in Fes
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Rcif
Riad Rcif
#5 of 226 in Fes
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Faracha Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Faracha Fes

Address: 16 Derb Lamkouass | Laayoun, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £64 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dar Faracha Fes, we hope you will enjoy your stay and come back! You can rent rooms or all the riad. Some rooms are made for 3 or 4 personns. In each room: you will find: bathroom, toilets, queen size bed, wifi, egyptian cotton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar Faracha Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing