We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe I enjoyed an arms museum!”
Review of Musee des armes

Musee des armes
Ranked #32 of 81 things to do in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Can't believe I enjoyed an arms museum!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

After visiting the Berg Sud, we expected a similar underwhelming experience at Berg Nord which houses the Arms Museum. The men at the door were friendly, the building was cool and serene, and there was altogether a nice feeling about the place. I am NOT into arms and munitions etc. but the displays were interesting and well presented, with a collection of fascinating guns including a nine barrel pistol and a few ancient pieces that would tuck nicely into a lady's garter! A flight of stairs led to the battlements where there were some shady tables for coffee and magnificent views over the Medina and surrounds. I can't put my finger on why, but the whole place had a very mellow and relaxing ambience, so we just lazed and dreamed there for a while and pronounced the visit very enjoyable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    38
    11
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I'm not into arms and weaponry but this was fascinating. It was interesting to see the different weapons people used to use and the amount of detail in the pieces. Guns had intricate carvings and patterns on and swords seemed like only giants can hold them. A really interesting museum. I think it's worth the visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Famabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“good history of arms here”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Not just the arm museum but views from this location of fes are very good,its also close to merinid tombs,so you can see both at one go.Museum itself has excellent collection of weapons used by the moors

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank alamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fes, Morocco
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Its a very nice building the musee is in, and also great great view to the walled medina. Entrance fee is low and young childeren are for free. Go with taxi for about 5 dh and back you can eventually walk cause its downhill and not so far to the blue gate.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limoges, France
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

A petit taxi here will cost about one euro.........worth it for the view alone. We whizzed round the exhibits in 30 mins....interesting but no need to linger, then sat contentedly for half an hour on the roof terrace. Entry was 10 dhm (1 euro)......so not going to break the bank, and a decent addition to the whole Fes experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jennifer1983187159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee des armes also viewed

 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Musee des armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing