We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit for photographers. Surreal and interesting.”

Moulay Abdellah Quarter
Ranked #10 of 81 things to do in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Must visit for photographers. Surreal and interesting.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The tannery and dye pits are really a unique sight (and smell) in the MA quarters. You get to see how they make leather traditionally and experience the smells that comes with it because they use bird droppings to cure the material, thanks to the ammonia content. The best vantage points are of course through the shops trying to sell you leather goods at an insane price. This is really one of those places that you simply must visit to get a few guaranteed memorable shots. I fortunately was traveling with a group that was interested in buying some leather shoes, so i had a lot of time to take shots of the tannery process.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank yosoyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    198
    70
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Voronezh, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

It's really impressive. It seemed, that life had stopped there. As thousands years ago people did that ugly work with disgusting smell. Only one question was knocking on my head:Couldn't they find another work?Is it worth doing,I mean, money?
This place must be seen. Even for sum up,how they live and how live you.

Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool to see. Punto. Basta.”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hearing the process was interesting but I was more intrigued by the intensity of the colors all around us. We were expecting the smell and rather enjoyed the fresh mint they gave us at the door to hide the strong odor. As we were being told the details of the process, every once and a while he would repeat, "do not worry, you don't have to buy. You are welcome". I smiled as much as he did every time he said it. When it was time to see the end result of their work (the shop), he would repeat, "do not worry, you don't have to buy. You are welcome". When we finally said that we weren't going to buy, his super friendly demeanor turned to short and abrupt sentences to scoot us out as soon as possible.
Since it was free to tour the facilities and we did not buy anything, it was worth the time and effort to go. Would I recommend going? Yes. I gave a 4 star "very good" rating for this reason. Better than "average" but not "excellent" (I wish there was a "pretty good" rating). As long as you don't buy anything. Just expect, as I am sure you are well aware, the sales pitch to be given to you in the sort of kindness that is an obvious nonchalant reverse psychology. Did I say obvious? Good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really interesting!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Besides the strong smell and the fact that you feel almost obliged to buy something, the place is very interesting and a special part of Moroccan handicraft work.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CaroSanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Superficial Experience”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

A visit to the tanneries is but a superficial experience. You basically view the tanning area & activity from a leather shop three/four levels above. The leather shop of course tries to sell you there wares which are of poor quality, dated design, and overpriced. Perhaps the most interesting aspect of this visit was the juxtaposition of this traditional method of tanning/dyeing leather and the plethora of satellite dishes on surrounding rooftops.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 7469moog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moulay Abdellah Quarter also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Moulay Abdellah Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing