We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sanctuary in Fes”
Review of Riad Louna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Louna
Ranked #57 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2011

It's hard to describe this home away from home in a way that doesn't sound like I'm trying to sell the place. A riad where you find a little slice of paradise and still it's inside the medina of Fes. It's hard to imagine that it can be so peacefull and beatyfull and still be so central with all the restaurants, shops and donkeys just outside the door. The service is excellent and not in any way pushy. The rooms are tastfully decorated and the garden and terrasses are hard to leave. In short: A wellcoming sanstuary.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjellraeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Riad Louna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

A beautiful Riad set within the medina, very easy to find and close to everywhere you want to go whilst remaining quiet and peaceful. Delicious food, both the included breakfast and the dinner that we ordered on two occasions- LOTS of food!! All the staff were most welcoming and very friendly and helpful. We arranged to go to the local Hammam with Otmane which we would highly recommend doing!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14Zoe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

we stayed at riad louna for 4 nights and found it to be a quiet and restful place in the middle of the bustling medina. beautiful courtyard with a fountain, and leafy trees made for a very cool retreat during a hot fes day. the staff were very helpful and everything was in good working order. our room was well decorated, the breakfast was delicious and the mint tea was very refreshing.
would recommend this to anyone, and if we are back in fes would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pigbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

I stayed here for one night in 2011, and overall had a very nice stay. The owner and the staff were both quite helpful, and I enjoyed the terrace quite a bit.

Moreover, the location of Riad Louna -- just off Tala'a Sghira and minutes away from Bab Boujloud is unbeatable.

The only reason I didn't give this otherwise fantastic riad 5-stars is for the following reasons:

1) The interior needs a facelift. The wall paint, bed linens, and room decor are all slightly fading. These are minor things, but they do impact your experience of the riad.

2) The price. I paid just over 110euros for a suite facing the courtyard, which is about on par with how much other, comparable riads charge per night. However, given the fact that the decor is starting to fade, I would have expected some kind of small discount. In my opinion, for the room I stayed in, I should have been charged between 80-90euros, and not 110 euros.

However, I want to emphasize that my overall experience at this riad was positive, and that the location is great.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mischiska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadLouna, Propriétaire at Riad Louna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

First of all, we would like to thank you for both your comments and compliments.

Indeed, at that time, you were our guest, we were not able to repaint a wall because the riad was fully booked for a long time.

We always try to ensure that our guests will not be disturbed by any noise, dust or odors during their stay.

We just waited for the moment when we’ll have less guests in our riad to do the necessary maintenance.


Thank you for your advice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Wow - what a superb place! We stayed here for a week with our 17 month old and have experienced the best service ever, having travelled extensively over the past 10 years staying in many different hotels. The Riad itself is lovely, a real oasis in a perfect location for exploring the Medina but it is the fantastic team at the Riad who do everything possible to make you comfortable in every way. They were wonderful with our toddler,entertaining her while we tucked into delicious Moroccan starters and tagines cooked by Jean-Pierre's (the owner), wife Naomi. While I'd recommend this as a top place to stay in Fes for anyone, when travelling with children (which can always make things a bit more complicated) it comes with 100% recommendation because they are so accomodating here, letting us use the kitchen to cook food, offering to tumble-dry clothes, I could go on.
Jawad, the Manager, deserves a special mention for the attentiveness given to every detail and he was so wonderful with Issy, she loved it. We would stay here again in a shot, great value for money.
As a tip, when staying at Riad Louna use Bab Boujeloud (one of the main gates into the Medina) as the reference for petite taxis and any directions when you get lost in the Medina - everyone knows it and it's easy to get back to the Riad from there.
Overall, we were very impressed by the warmth and hospitality of everyone we met in Morocco.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TyrrellRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We do recommend riad Louna in Fes, Morocco. The riad is very well located in the medina (the old town). The decoration is amazing and the rooms are cozy and very beautiful. In fact, it makes you feel like a dream! But above all, the kindness of the staff and warm reception, particularly by Jawad, are unforgetable. Once in Fes don't miss it! Congratulations for all the staff!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larissacorrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

My boyfriend and I loved our stay here. The staff couldn't have done more for us and were helpful and welcoming, for example taking me to a hamman, lighting fires in our room, bringing us mint tea and bottles of wine. The meal was the best one we ate in Morocco. Another great plus is it's really quite easy to find, a very good location! The only very small negative was the lighting in the bathroom was poor - would rather have proper lights than cold dark fluorescent ones. We would definitely recommend people to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonCat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Ryad Mabrouka
Ryad Mabrouka
#22 of 100 in Fes
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Toyour
Riad Toyour
#39 of 100 in Fes
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#17 of 100 in Fes
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#21 of 100 in Fes
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Tahra
Riad Tahra
#41 of 216 in Fes
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Louna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Louna

Address: 21 Derb Serraj,Talaa Sghira | Bab Boujloud, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £31 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Louna 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More tyrical than a hotel, Riad Louna is a unique traditional Riad restored in the old medina of Fez ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Louna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing