We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Ziryab

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Ziryab
Ranked #108 of 204 Fes B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
147 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing food, nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I picked this Riad up in the Marco Polo - Morocco, which praised the Riad for the quality of its food. The evening traditional meal is not cheap, but the food is brilliantly prepared by the owners wife and served by the wonderfully trained and very pleasant staff. I had a twin room the first night, which i found a bit small, but comfortable. I upgraded to the Royal Suite on the second night, which was well worth it for the price difference. I would highly recommend this Riad for the quality of its food, wonderful design, very comfortable rooms and the amazing staff...enjoy.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank BDBSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
6
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manresa, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Behind the Ahmed El Mansour square, lies this jewel of traditional Moroccan hotels, also known as riads. Delightfully decorated in a traditional Moroccan style it is one of the cleanest hotels were I have stayed. I discovered it during my first stay in Fez, when local people took us there for a traditional Moroccan dinner. I loved the place and I decided to stay there on my second visit to Fez, also for business. It has a small backyard with wifi coverage which was perfect for working with my computer during free time. Staff, leaded by Fatima, was very kind and always aware to any of our needs, we really felt like home. I definitely reccomend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xavier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

It was a pleasure to be in this hotel for a week! Located in the new part of Fez it is an ideal place to stay for those on business. 20 minutes by taxi from the airport. Taxis can be organised by this delightful riad to pick you up and return you to the airport at a much better price than you can organise for yourself. The double room was a tad small but beautifully and tastefully decorated, as was the rest of the riad.

While the staff do not have an expansive vocabulary in English they do their best to help in whichever way possible. Breakfast was more than adequate, albeit nearly the same everyday. The local bread is delicious!

The receptionist will organise a guide for a reasonable price to get you in and out of the Medina, which is the oldest and largest in the world.

I was on a business trip and it rained for most of my stay which was a disappointment as I could not work in the outdoor areas.

This place is definitely on my list for a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Walking into this Riad is a shock: modern neighbourhood, inconspicuous doorway and then... the Riad. A breathtaking, incredible dip into Arabian Nights. I have never seen such a beautiful hotel, I told the receptionist. That is because it is a Riad, she smiled.

Comfortable rooms, spacious general areas, a good restaurant (albeit pricey, in line with the room rates). Very helpful staff alas their English is a little bit rusty ;-)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARCELONA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

We have stay in that favulouse marroco's house for 3 nights. The service and hospitality was perfect, as if we were at home.
The room and the riad is totally designed with a great taste for his owner, who explaine everithing you need. Very hospitality.
Breakfast perfect for taking all the calories you need for walking all day through the medina, wich is a 30 min. walking or 5 min (1Euro) in taxi. Recomend the cuscus the wife's owner cooks for us.
Situated in the ville nouvelle in a quite place.
Maybe it's missing a little swimming pool but you can refresh in its magical and exquisite bathrooms.
I think it's one of the better places you can stay in fes, wich is favulouse.
Thanks for all. We sure come back.
Sergi&oscar

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — non swiming pool
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SERGICB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
2.2 mi away
Riad Ibn Battouta
Riad Ibn Battouta
#20 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
0.2 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#51 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dar Aliane
Dar Aliane
#133 of 204 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Al Batoul
Riad Dar Al Batoul
#160 of 204 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
14.3 mi away
Dar El Mandar
Dar El Mandar
#3 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Ziryab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ziryab

Property: Dar Ziryab
Address: 2 rue Ibn Badis | Ville Nouvelle, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Ziryab 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Ziryab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing