We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great service”
Review of Riad Al Bartal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Al Bartal
Ranked #13 of 210 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place, great service”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

A very pleasant stay at end of January. From the moment we were greeted at the train station, to the moment we were hailed a cab to leave three days later, we wanted for nothing.
Entering the Al Bartal through a very unassuming door only heightens the surprise of the beautiful interior that greets you beyond the few internal steps. Elaborately worked plaster and mosaic decorate all surfaces of the central court (which serves as both breakfast and dining room) and its pillars, while the unusually high ceilings, of both ground and upper floors, add to the sense of grandeur.
The ground floor is guarded over by Poulette, the resident tuneful and inquisitive parrot. Breakfast was of the continental type with eggs anyway, but plentiful and tasty. Had dinner here on our first night, and that too was very well prepared and enjoyable. Also, look out for the well-priced wine list and good quality alcoholic drinks. We had one of the larger rooms on the upper floor.
As others have commented, rooms are well-presented, comfortable, spacious - all with high ceilings. Rooms are decorated in a rustic Moroccan style with a charming and eclectic mix of furniture and lighting. Aircon and heating with in-room control. Our room became a suite when we were upgraded because the riad is quiet this time of year. It had a large bathroom and a fabulous bath; with a supply of hot water to match.
Finally let me mention Omar and his colleagues looking after us. Great service and very professional in manner. All in all, great value for money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2VauxhallGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    24
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
121
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Udine Italia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We have spent four nights at the Riad on New Years Eve 2012-13. It is absolutely quiet and relaxing, with a few rooms and suites and high level services. The atmosphere is very tipical and somehow magic. We had two excellent dinners and wonderful breakfasts. The staff has been extremely gentle and ready to satisfy guests' requests (eg. as the Post office was closed, we asked them the courtesy to send to Italy a big wooden frame bought in Fes medina). When we'll be back again in Morocco (hope soon) we will return for sure in Riad Al bartal.

Room Tip: The quality is very high for all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta_Gianluca_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Riad Al Bartal is a flat-out fabulous place to stay.

First, the courtyard is one of the most gorgeous spaces we saw anywhere in Morocco. You get the feeling that Peter Lorre could pop out from behind a potted plant at any moment! A talking bird ("Bartal" in Arabic) adds a final touch to the exotic ambiance.

Our room must have had 20 foot ceilings, and a 15 foot doorway (with a normal sized inset door we actually used). Unusually for riads in the median our room had windows opening on the street as well as on the interior courtyard. There was no view, but the cross-ventilation was welcome.

Next, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The manager and his chief assistant are both under 30 and fully fluent in English. We assumed they had studied in the U.S. but they explained that they learned from video games!

The breakfasts were tasty, as was a dinner.

The riad is located near the southerly edge of the medina, and it took us a while to master the route into the center. It was convenient, however, to be near the circumferential street when we arrived and left with luggage.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MergyMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We knew that food was good in Fez but did not expect such amazing feasts, the food was varied and beautifully served by efficient and friendly staff. We did think that the greenery and some of the decor could do with some refreshing. Our room was a mezzanine up very steep stairs which was not ideal and the small sitting area downstairs had no window and was more of a cave than a lounge.

Room Tip: Do not take the twin downstairs, we did not see the other rooms as they were all booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiers_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We spent three nights in Fez and had a wonderful experience at Riad al Bartal. The room was very comfortable and and the indoor garden area was lovely. We had the option to have dinner there each night and we were very glad that we took them up on this. The food was amazing and the service and atmosphere was wonderful. We were unable to obtain a guide our first day in Fez, so we just walked around the Medina and found an "unofficial guide" that showed us the city. They were two college students who are currently studying in Fez and ended up showing us the entire city. They also arranged for us to go to a traditional Hammam and get Henna Tattoos. Our experience if Fez was amazing. We would definitely recommend Riad al Bartal when visiting Fez!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

A week ago spent 2 nights at Riad al Bartal which was absolutely fabulous! Staff was amazing friendly. We had a room on the ground floor which was nice because of the high ceiling of the room (around 7 metres high), which made the room HUGE! The inside garden is really nice with a lot of green and birds (and don't forget the parrot). Al Bartal is not in the centre of the medina making it good accessible by car or taxi.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob1710NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We spend one night in this Riad a couple of days ago. At the begging we really had some trouble finding it, so you better go prepared with a good map. Once we find it all the hot and noise of fez disappeared! You will find a comfortable, relaxing and typical Riad in Al Bartal. Just a 10 minutes walk and you'll be in the heart of the Medina...and when you get tired of the chaos of Fez just 10 minutes walking and you will be back to this oasis. Delicious breakfast and comfortable big rooms with clean bathrooms. Totally recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Vanegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#3 of 99 in Fes
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#18 of 99 in Fes
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Bartal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Bartal

Property: Riad Al Bartal
Address: 21 rue Sournas | quartier Ziat, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Bartal 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be charmed by this riad in the Arab-Andalusian architecture. the limited capacity of 5 suites and 3 rooms, allows you to customize the contacts and to take the time to settle down in an harmonious décor. the patio filled with green plants offer more intimate corners for reading. A library is available and full of books on the history and cultures of Morocco and the art of oriental cooking but also something to prepare for documenting his visits to the medina and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Riad Al Bartal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Bartal Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing