We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden of Eden”
Review of Riad Al Bartal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Al Bartal
Ranked #18 of 210 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Garden of Eden”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

It was like walking into the Garden of Eden. Instantly we felt at ease and serene. Expertly designed and decorated. The courtyard is breathtaking. We stayed in the Nejjarine Suite it was the most beautiful room I have ever stayed in (I'm a seasoned traveler). Incredible for any price but unbelievable for 110 euros. Truly.

Service was impeccable. We had a 5 am flight back home and they arranged a taxi to pick us up at 3 am. We stumbled out of our room at 3 am to find a table arranged for us with freshly squeezed orange juice, cookies, coffee and tea. At 3 am we were greeted by a staff member with a smile. And the 50 dirham note we dropped on the chair the night before at dinner. Unbelievable. What a wonderful send-off.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrails365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    24
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
121
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Huge rooms - so big they are almost creepy. There are a lot of stairs unless you are staying in one of the downstairs suites, We were there in winter so it all felt a little bit cold. In summer it would be brilliant because it would stay so cool. Really helpful staff - fantastic English with an American accent - and the best breakfasts we had in Morocco. Fez itself is huge - rambles all over the place. This is on the edge so it is very very quiet.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs stay on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I booked this riad based on feedback found in Trip advisor. For one night during weekend. And was not disappointed. It's recommended to arrange a pickup because it's hard to find.
Then to walk from the riad to the city center Zouk takes a bit of time through a maze of small streets almost guaranteed to get you lost.
The food was absolutely great as was the room. Almost a waste that I was by myself as it's absolutely romantic.
Staff was very helpful and made sure my short stay in Fes was not wasted a single minute. They helped arrange a guide that appeared to be great, knowledgeable and professional. Only limitation was that on such short term no English speaking guide was available so I settled for a French speaking one. Which is a bit more difficult for me but worked out very well.
All in all a memorable visit.
There is a kind of library room downstairs also.
Note that the rooms are not like in a hotel. It´s like visiting a very old large family house. Rooms centered around the inner courtyard. Doors of rooms seem generally open and accessible. It doesn't seem like things get stolen here ever but on the other hand... it shouldn't be very hard if anyone would try it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This riad is a very nice building in a good location. The rooms are authentical as well as the overall feeling. We had breakfast and dinners there which was also very tasteful. Staff is friendly and helpful. The only objection we had is that rooms have a strange smell.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IIM612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

A very pleasant stay at end of January. From the moment we were greeted at the train station, to the moment we were hailed a cab to leave three days later, we wanted for nothing.
Entering the Al Bartal through a very unassuming door only heightens the surprise of the beautiful interior that greets you beyond the few internal steps. Elaborately worked plaster and mosaic decorate all surfaces of the central court (which serves as both breakfast and dining room) and its pillars, while the unusually high ceilings, of both ground and upper floors, add to the sense of grandeur.
The ground floor is guarded over by Poulette, the resident tuneful and inquisitive parrot. Breakfast was of the continental type with eggs anyway, but plentiful and tasty. Had dinner here on our first night, and that too was very well prepared and enjoyable. Also, look out for the well-priced wine list and good quality alcoholic drinks. We had one of the larger rooms on the upper floor.
As others have commented, rooms are well-presented, comfortable, spacious - all with high ceilings. Rooms are decorated in a rustic Moroccan style with a charming and eclectic mix of furniture and lighting. Aircon and heating with in-room control. Our room became a suite when we were upgraded because the riad is quiet this time of year. It had a large bathroom and a fabulous bath; with a supply of hot water to match.
Finally let me mention Omar and his colleagues looking after us. Great service and very professional in manner. All in all, great value for money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2VauxhallGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udine Italia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We have spent four nights at the Riad on New Years Eve 2012-13. It is absolutely quiet and relaxing, with a few rooms and suites and high level services. The atmosphere is very tipical and somehow magic. We had two excellent dinners and wonderful breakfasts. The staff has been extremely gentle and ready to satisfy guests' requests (eg. as the Post office was closed, we asked them the courtesy to send to Italy a big wooden frame bought in Fes medina). When we'll be back again in Morocco (hope soon) we will return for sure in Riad Al bartal.

Room Tip: The quality is very high for all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta_Gianluca_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Riad Al Bartal is a flat-out fabulous place to stay.

First, the courtyard is one of the most gorgeous spaces we saw anywhere in Morocco. You get the feeling that Peter Lorre could pop out from behind a potted plant at any moment! A talking bird ("Bartal" in Arabic) adds a final touch to the exotic ambiance.

Our room must have had 20 foot ceilings, and a 15 foot doorway (with a normal sized inset door we actually used). Unusually for riads in the median our room had windows opening on the street as well as on the interior courtyard. There was no view, but the cross-ventilation was welcome.

Next, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The manager and his chief assistant are both under 30 and fully fluent in English. We assumed they had studied in the U.S. but they explained that they learned from video games!

The breakfasts were tasty, as was a dinner.

The riad is located near the southerly edge of the medina, and it took us a while to master the route into the center. It was convenient, however, to be near the circumferential street when we arrived and left with luggage.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MergyMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#3 of 99 in Fes
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#18 of 99 in Fes
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Bartal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Bartal

Property: Riad Al Bartal
Address: 21 rue Sournas | quartier Ziat, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Bartal 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be charmed by this riad in the Arab-Andalusian architecture. the limited capacity of 5 suites and 3 rooms, allows you to customize the contacts and to take the time to settle down in an harmonious décor. the patio filled with green plants offer more intimate corners for reading. A library is available and full of books on the history and cultures of Morocco and the art of oriental cooking but also something to prepare for documenting his visits to the medina and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Al Bartal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Bartal Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing