We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Al Bartal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Al Bartal
Ranked #14 of 204 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This Riad is a truly nice surprise in Fes. As always with Riads, the entrance is deceiving; inside there is plenty of light and you are surrounded by high columns (about 10 meters), plants and chanting birds. The atmosfer is great, personnel is fantastic. I highly recommend eating there as well, we decided to explore and give other restaurants / hotels / Riad a try but they were not at the same level (and more expensive).

Room Tip: Only little advice is on the room choice, we were in the Berber that, although very nicely decorated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catello L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    24
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
120
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Al Bartal is a beautiful riad in Fes maybe one of the best in Fes or even in Morocco.Many beautiful plants, skilfully crafted doors, stairs, furniture. A truly beautiful place to have breakfast, dinner, to chat with Marc, to play with Poulette the parrot. A magnificent visit indeed!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nicu_moraru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

This a magical place. Architecture art design decore all are perfect with high ceilings that take your breathe apart and great food
Don't stay anywhere ...stay at Riad AlBartal if you want a real complete magical romantic experience

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalaa' A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was my second visit to Riad Al Bartal and I brought two friends with me this trip. We were all 3 amazed and transported! The setting is magical: beautiful plants, loving attention to details, unique personalized environment, magnificent building, light pouring in. The personal could't be more helpful and friendly. Smiling faces, help with all requests, well organized staff all made for a stress free stay. We asked for a driver to make visits outside Fez and were extremely satisfied with their connections. I loved my rooms both last year and this year. I had a smaller room this time and it was still spacious, well appointed and had a very comfortable bed. The location near one of the gates and close to the markets makes it a super place to be. So glad to see that Poulette the gray house parrot was still in residence! It's a special place, I highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcolivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

What a magic place!! And also best assistance in finding a guide and a car to go to volubilis.. I will return there!!! The atmpsphere was pleasant.. Everybody was helpful.. Fes is an incredible place with its wonderful Medina.. We had to buy one more bag...!!

Room Tip: It was low season so we got a suite.. We felt like being in a fairy tale.. Breakfast is gorgeus!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sergiewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Arriving in Fez after dark following a 7hr. train trip from Marrakesh, our taxi backed up a narrow, unlit lane and stopped at an inconspicuous door set in a blank stone wall. But the door opened and we were greeted by our smiling host standing in the warmly lit entrance and the fabulous aromas of dinner. Ushered down a broad staircase to a covered inner courtyard, we were seated at a candle-lit table among other guests in a garden of Eden. We had clearly arrived in Heaven! Our stay was fabulous in every way

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron42154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

characterises this amazing restored Riad. I am a seasoned traveler and Riad Al Bartal tops my list for hospitality, friendly service, ambiance and meals. Omar and Mehdi, the managers, took care of our every need. One of the owners and his family was present and made us feel very welcome. It is like staying at a private home. The renovation is breath taking. A library, roof terrace and various seating areas allow ample space for relaxing, reading, visiting with guests or just enjoying the spacious tiled courtyard, bird songs and peaceful ambiance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgnesCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#9 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Bartal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Bartal

Property: Riad Al Bartal
Address: 21 rue Sournas | quartier Ziat, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Bartal 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be charmed by this riad in the Arab-Andalusian architecture. the limited capacity of 5 suites and 3 rooms, allows you to customize the contacts and to take the time to settle down in an harmonious décor. the patio filled with green plants offer more intimate corners for reading. A library is available and full of books on the history and cultures of Morocco and the art of oriental cooking but also something to prepare for documenting his visits to the medina and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Al Bartal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Bartal Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing