We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful riad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Al Bartal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Al Bartal
Ranked #16 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
andalucia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful riad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

Lovely riad in the old Medina. We had a beautiful suite with a very comfortable bed and a fabulous round copper bath (big enough for two). The food was very good and the staff friendly and helpful - and of course the parrot that could almost whistle Colonel Bogey

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    24
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
118
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lija
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

Imagine an awakening of your senses to the long-forgotten aesthete in you. Imagine being surrounded by objects chosen with taste, the sounds of birds and the by staff always to help you. The courtyard, the terrace, the vast rooms, the bedding and the towels, the food and the ambience make this riad, something special. I have visited Morocco six times before and can differentiate the excellent from the very good. The new owner puts in so much effort to feel you home that it's worth a return trip. A real value.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chefdoeuvre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

My friend and I stayed 2 nights at the Riad Al Bartal. We loved the beautiful interiour of the Riad and delicious dinner&breakfast. Everything seemed so tasteful until we found the towels in the bathroom which were old, hard and stained(with big brown stains which looked like blood stains!). The bathroom smelled of fungus. What most put us off was the attitude of one of the staff who seemed to be young but probably a senior staff (we assumed from his bossy attitude). We did not know who was the owner of the riad). My friend and I are in our early thirties and may look young but he really looked down on us and the way he talked to us was very rude all the way during our stay. Some of the other young staff were friendly but overall impression was really negative especially because of this particular staff. If I know that he wouldn't be there any more, I would like to go back to stay at the Riad Al Bartal...but, please do not leave stained towels in guest rooms!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bc canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

We stayed 4 nights at Riad al Bartal in October 09. The courtyard of this riad is a real beauty, very large and very well restored. The center guests rooms which we saw are very nice and large, the corner rooms have a small sitting area leading up a steep stair to a tight loft bedroom and was not so comfortable, but the worst part was the pervasive sewer odor in the room which the staff always tried to cover with fragrances, which are not so great when you have allergies. Breakfasts were excellent, dinner very good the 1st night, but a bit pricey. Tables in the courtyard are spaced really far apart. They try to push the dinners as there are no restaurants in the area. The location is convenient to be delivered home by taxi as it is at the edge of the medina, but the neighborhood is very quiet at night and although we are seasoned travelers, it did not feel comfortable to walk through there at night, so we stayed out for dinners and returned back by taxi afterwards. Wi-Fi is available but the signal did not reach our room. The two managers were very nice and although we were told that the owners were present, they made themselves scarce and we never did meet them. This was not a good choice but switching was going to be too much bother.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCWiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Bartal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Bartal

Property: Riad Al Bartal
Address: 21 rue Sournas | quartier Ziat, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Bartal 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be charmed by this riad in the Arab-Andalusian architecture. the limited capacity of 5 suites and 3 rooms, allows you to customize the contacts and to take the time to settle down in an harmonious décor. the patio filled with green plants offer more intimate corners for reading. A library is available and full of books on the history and cultures of Morocco and the art of oriental cooking but also something to prepare for documenting his visits to the medina and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Al Bartal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Bartal Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing