We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend in Fes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We spent two wonderful days in this family owned Riad.The staff was extremely friendly and cooperative.The interior design stylish and breathtaking. The location,itself is an experience
we will not forget, apart from that the kitchen offers fine moroccan cuisine.The price reflects
the service. There is nothing left to say as - we will come back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

A gorgeous riad in the heart of old Fes. For me it was spoilt by the sub funk cool jazz fusion music in the public areas. Fortunately it was always turned off at breakfast when I asked them so they were very helpful. The room we were first assigned was opposite the bar and we could hear such "music" through the door, but the manager changed us to the most gorgeous room at the top of the hotel with its own terrace looking over Fes. Two bathrooms! However the heating system was not quite up to the huge marble palace so we shivered a bit for a day or two and the hot water took some time to arrive. I would say the service was excellent, the breakfasts were excellent, and the food at dinner was good but should perhaps be better for the price. It was a mystery to me why they felt they had to play that awful music in a space that speaks for itself.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cityjaneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We only popped in for an evening drink and bite to eat but everything was beautiful and in a perfect location for the medina. Friendly staff and fabulous live music too (see the photo) - will endevour to stay here next time in Fes

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank picassso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The Riad Fes is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. There are so many exquisite and immense spaces and courtyards. Our room was larger than the main floor of our home!! It was early January and the heat was not quite sufficient for us on one of the three nights, and there was spotty hot water. Other than that, absolutely a first rate experience. Food in the restaurant was delicious and sophisticated.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stj0hnvisit0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My group of 9 (2 families with 5 children) spent 2 nights at the Riad over Christmas. We were extremely impressed with the facilities; the room was spacious and comfortable, great welcome snacks and great setting overlooking the internal covered courtyard. We had 3 of the rooms on the floor, and all were equally attractive. My only complaint was minimal light in the bathroom. On Christmas Eve a local group of 10 drummers entertained around the pool, and we had a superb dinner with live entertainment. This property is really special, and was one of our two favorite places in Morocco (the other was Maison Arabe in Marrakesh).

Room Tip: Requst a room in the main building, overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ConnecticutDad2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Having stayed at several Relais Chateau I was expecting the same sort of quality. I was faced with indifference from the staff. We had a lovely suite15 x 30 with bath
of the same size room. The only natural light was from an inner court yard
seen from the glass windws of the suite. No way to open windows or get fresh air or light.
Our AC was our only source of air circulation. The Elec. went out about 5:00 A.M.
No elec. in a pitch black bathroom and bed room. Luckily I had a flashlight with me
or I don't know what I would have done. I called the front desk and they acted like this happens all the time. Could have cared less about the situation. It was a little difficult getting
ready that morning for our tour. The hotel is lovely to look at. Breakfast was ok.
I can't say that I would stay at the hotel again because of the way things ere handled.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lkobsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riad Fes R, Manager at Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Dear Linworldtraveler,
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you were disappointed by our services.
As I have already explained in my previous answers, Riad Fès is located in the center on the medieval city of Fez. Some technical issues may happen. I very well remember that night: it was raining and there was a power cut due to the old installations in the Medina. This sad and unfortunate situation was out of our control. We did not call our guests at 5 am to let them know that there was no electricity, as most of them were normally sleeping. When you called us, the first thing was to reassure and explain you that this is due to the rain and was out of our control. We called the local company to speed up, as it was an emergency. The problem was fixed within one hour. Dear Linworldtraveler, please note that power cut can happen everywhere, in Morocco, United States, Paris, Zimbabwé! We did propose you a flashlight you kindly declined, as you had yours. Concerning our rooms, you booked a Deluxe room located in the baroque patio on the ground floor. It is clearly mentioned on our website the different types of rooms we have and can propose to our guests. When a guest books directly with us, he receives an explanation letter with the description of our four different types of decoration. Then, we allocate the room according to his choice. Also, we are very flexible and can change the rooms as soon as we know that a guest prefer to be in a room with another decor or view. But, we have to now that!! We have a file with the details concerning every stay in our property. I did not notice any complaint or remark from you. Our staff is very close to all our guests and this, from the check-in until the check-out. I always discuss with our guests to make sure that everything works smoothly. Our service is discreet, professional and warm! We are aware of being part of Relais & Châteaux Family which is synonymous of authenticity, charm, warmth, professionalism. And we are doing our best to stay in that very demanding family. We know our guests stay with us to share memorable and enjoyable moments, to celebrate something special with the loved one or in family. Our team will always do its best to accompany you in fulfilling their dreams... Next time, come to visit us and I will be pleased to show you our different rooms and discuss with around a sweet and hot mint tea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My sister and I stayed here in Feb 2010 and we loved it! The bathroom was black and very beautiful with a really comfortable deep bath tub. This place had the best Hamman Spa that we had anywhere in Morocco (and Turkey for that matter). The dinner menu was a little limited for my sister who could not stomach meat after our trip into the Medina. The food was good and fresh. The hotel arranged a guide for us (Lazrak was his name) and we had the most wonderful two days with him in Fes and the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerriS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.4 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#18 of 100 in Fes
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 100 in Fes
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux

Address: 5 Derb Ben Slimane | Zerbtana, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Fes
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £115 - £717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Fes - Relais & Châteaux is renowned for its luxury, impeccable service and fine restaurant. Restored to its original glory, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is located in the heart of the ancient city of Fez. It has succeeded in combining refinement with inspiration and invites you to relax and enjoy your stay in a serene atmosphere with decor reminiscent of Arabian Nights. Riad Fes provides guests with the opportunity to travel back in time and enjoy the splendour and authenticity of the lifestyle of Fassi nobility. The prestigious history and refined civilization of this Imperial city are reflected in the Spanish Moorish architecture and attention to detail seen in the decor. With spectacular views of the Medina and the Atlas Mountains, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is ideal for those travelling for business or pleasure.In the heart of a medieval city known for its diverse savory eateries, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux offers a fine dining restaurant that should not be missed when visiting Fez: l’Ambre. A haven of purity and tranquillity created by the designer Christophe Pillet, our Spa Riad Fès by Cinq Mondes invites you to enjoy a unique experience in luxurious and comfortable surroundings. With a selection of the best treatments, massages and traditional formulas marked by Quality, Authenticity and Ceremony designed and developed by Cinq Mondes, our Spa will take you on genuine Sensoriel Journeys.Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux offers tailored golf holidays to golf enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Fes Hotel Fes
Riad Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing