We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 out of 5”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Burradoo, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“7 out of 5”
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

I didn't realise that this Riad was a Relais and Chateaux, otherwise I wouldn't have been surprised at how
Luxurious this place is.

I cannot fault the service or location and they are treating me like Royalty.

The pool is stunning and everyone is so friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    129
    41
    15
    3
See reviews for
119
392
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Beautiful place, excellent service, delicious food, this is by far the best hotel I've stayed in. You must see it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Our General Tours trip to Morocco booked us into this riad in Fes. We were warmly welcomed in the lovely ornate hotel lobby with a plate of goodies and a staff member who served us mint tea. Our room overlooked the central open courtyard and pool, and a complimentary bottle of wine was in the room. There were a wide variety of options at breakfast and the staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floyd s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This hotel meets all expectations of authentic morroccan architecture. The rooms are facing an enclosed morrocan tiled courtyard. The bedrooms are large and dark, and - for the most part, grand, however, stuffy due to lack of air. Oddly, the bathrooms are small and separated only by a glass swinging door to and from the room. The hotel is very clean; the staff courteous, (but not real friendly or happy looking); the food is very good. I suspect this is the finest hotel in Fes.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluehorizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Fez was my wife and my last stop on a 10-day tour of Marrakesh and the Sahara Desert (Merzouga Dunes). After a six+ hour drive from the desert, arriving at the Riad Fes was like a long drink of water. We found the rather hidden entrance to the Medina nearest to the riad thanks to helpful local drivers. A porter met us at the Medina gates. The entry to the property is somewhat oblique and you have to go through a cool hallway and then an anteroom before the soaring, ornate inner courtyard of the riad opened up to you. It was so wonderful to be greeted by the manager and have her sit us down for tea and to be checked-in. Very civilized! We were taken to our room off one of the four different courtyards. It was perfect and we had been upgraded without even asking. The room was spacious and quiet. The bathroom was modern with a wonderful shower and amenities, including Moroccan slippers - a nice touch!

After moving through several different riads across the country, we really appreciated that the Riad Fes incorporated modern stylistic elements into the ancient designs. For example, two of the four courtyards were "Moroccan modern," meaning they were not the traditional tiled courtyards, but were a modern, organic interpretation of the old style. It fit in beautifully and was not at all jarring. The same was true of the main restaurant where breakfast and dinner were served. It was a modern space but still let you know you were in the ancient imperial city of Fes. To us, it did not feel de-natured like a hotel that could be anywhere. We thought the design gave a strong sense of place, particularly as it was juxtaposed next to the traditional design elements of the entry courtyard.

Our fellow travelers at the hotel were a varied bunch: Americans, French, German, Australian, Middle-Eastern, etc. Given that this is a Relais & Chateaux property, the group was, as you might expect, quite chic! More importantly, the food was wonderful (both breakfast and dinner) and the service was top-notch. We have stayed at several Relais & Chateaux properties around the world (we actually seek them out due to their high standards) and this one is among the best.

I would say that the only thing we didn't love was the pool. There was a nice lounge next to it, but it felt very enclosed and not private, in that you could look down on it from the restaurant. This is a common problem for most riads, due to simple space concerns, and is not unique to the Riad Fes. Most people probably don't mind, but we actually ended up not using the pool. Again, I simply want to emphasize that this is a matter of personal preference, nothing more. I supoose if you want a separate pool area, you can always choose a more typical hotel (rather than riad) experience.

The other amenities, like the soaring, on-site hamam were great. The front desk was always ready to help with organizing city tour guides, changing money, etc. We found the service and housekeeping to be unobtrusive, excellent and helpful.

We also loved the location of the Riad Fes. Close, but not too close to the busiest parts of the Medina. Overall, we would recommend this property to anyone seeking a riad experience in the old city of Fes.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidandRebeccaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Our trip to Fes was enhanced greatly by our stay at the Riad Fes. Our Junior Suite was quiet and comfortable; the restaurant was terrific; and the pool very refreshing after a morning in the Medina.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoriRNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Elegant building, but upon arrival requested change for to tip porter and front desk had no change - suggested I try the bar - which also had no change - in a hotel of this caliber!! And they never suggested trying to get change. Upon checking out, I presented a credit card for incidentals and was told they don't accept credit cards for less than 400 dirhams - about $48. What kind of service is that? Very nice room. Not for anyone with walking disabilities - up and down stairs numerous times just to get to our room. Beautiful building, but overrated

Room Tip: the new portion - very sterile - but roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffrey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riad_Fes_Manager, Manager at Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Sirs,
Thank you for your feedback. I am really upset reading your remarks about Riad Fès. We always give change to our customers when possible. If the receptionnist does not have coins or smaller notes, he or she always propose to send the porter to make the change. We accept payment by credit cards for all our guests without any restrictions!This is really naughty, even shocking to come on Tripadvisor and destroy people and their business. We do have elevator in the main patio and always propose a room located of the ground floor to anyone with walking disabilities! We always give lot of importance to our guests feedbacks whether negative or positive, even those that are unfounded! Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#15 of 98 in Fes
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 98 in Fes
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Address: 5 Derb Ben Slimane | Zerbtana, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fes
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#21 Family Hotel in Fes
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Fes - Relais & Châteaux is renowned for its luxury, impeccable service and fine restaurant. Restored to its original glory, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is located in the heart of the ancient city of Fez. It has succeeded in combining refinement with inspiration and invites you to relax and enjoy your stay in a serene atmosphere with decor reminiscent of Arabian Nights. Riad Fes provides guests with the opportunity to travel back in time and enjoy the splendour and authenticity of the lifestyle of Fassi nobility. The prestigious history and refined civilization of this Imperial city are reflected in the Spanish Moorish architecture and attention to detail seen in the decor. With spectacular views of the Medina and the Atlas Mountains, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is ideal for those travelling for business or pleasure.In the heart of a medieval city known for its diverse savory eateries, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux offers a fine dining restaurant that should not be missed when visiting Fez: l’Ambre. A haven of purity and tranquillity created by the designer Christophe Pillet, our Spa Riad Fès by Cinq Mondes invites you to enjoy a unique experience in luxurious and comfortable surroundings. With a selection of the best treatments, massages and traditional formulas marked by Quality, Authenticity and Ceremony designed and developed by Cinq Mondes, our Spa will take you on genuine Sensoriel Journeys.Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux offers tailored golf holidays to golf enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Fes Hotel Fes
Riad Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing