We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvelous Morocco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #14 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Marvelous Morocco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

I have just returned from an amazing 10 day trip to Essaouria, Marrakech, Fes and Rabat with my mother and sister. What an adventure. Morocco is a beautiful country with so much to see and do. Plus the food was sensational.

Riad Fes was a highlight. What a beautiful place! It shows both the traditional beauty of Moroccon architecture as well as the modern minimalist Moroccon style which I love. I thoroughly recommend this Riad to anyone.

We were lucky enough to have Hamid Dadane (hamid_d@yahoo.com) and his driver Driss as our private tour guides for the entire trip. This meant that we could totally relax the whole trip and enjoy the experience. It was total luxury being dropped off at the door of our hotels and escorted around these beautiful cities with a Moroccon who knew them inside out. Hamid consulted us about where we would like to eat and what we would like to do each day and then made all necessarty reservations as well as dropping us off and picking us up from our hotels. This meant we had a total hassle free holiday which we all loved.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzsezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    123
    37
    14
    3
See reviews for
107
374
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We wanted to have a 4 day break somewhere where we could arrive, put down our bags, and relax.

After some searching we came across Riad Fes. And we were not disappointed.

This place is magical.

The Riad is about 15 mins from the airport - when traffic's not too bad - and is located in the Medina of Fes which is car free.
Even though the Medina is full of life, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility. The minute you step through the doors you notice the fantastic architecture of the Riad - it is very beautiful - and the hospitality of the staff.
We were welcomed with some drinks and snacks and were then showed to our room.
The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. We had a private terrace but the best part was the view... over the whole Medina. You could just sit there for ages and look...
We had dinner at the hotel almost every evening and it was delicious, but not only that; the atmosphere was lovely - very romantic - and the service very good. Breakfast was good too - loads of variety and everything was very fresh.
The possible only, and I mean only, kind-of negative point was the pool - quite small, but out of what I understood they were in the process of building a new, bigger one.
Guess I'll have to go back to check it out ;o)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mina050181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Riad Fes consists of five old houses joined together. The central hall is a magnificent chamber in the local style. However when you pass to the restaurant the setting becomes anonymous and modern. There are not even local objets d'art to relieve the bland decor. Despite the Relais et Chateaux cachet, there was mechanical disco music pumping through the restaurant throughout our meal. The fixed price menu at 45 euros costs almost twice what is charged in other excellent Riad restaurants nearby. But the food is not twice as good and the setting is dreary. The appetizers are delicious - an array of subtle salads, making good use of local spices and vegetables. The main courses, however, consist of unadorned hunks of lamb or beef without originality or special flavor. The deserts are dull. It is as if the restaurant and the cuisine were designed by a committee which could not quite make up its mind what style to adopt - modern or traditional. Pity, as the Riad itself is beautiful.

Room Tip: The hotel sounds exquisite but the restaurant is expensive and disappointing for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ML-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burradoo, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

I didn't realise that this Riad was a Relais and Chateaux, otherwise I wouldn't have been surprised at how
Luxurious this place is.

I cannot fault the service or location and they are treating me like Royalty.

The pool is stunning and everyone is so friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Beautiful place, excellent service, delicious food, this is by far the best hotel I've stayed in. You must see it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Our General Tours trip to Morocco booked us into this riad in Fes. We were warmly welcomed in the lovely ornate hotel lobby with a plate of goodies and a staff member who served us mint tea. Our room overlooked the central open courtyard and pool, and a complimentary bottle of wine was in the room. There were a wide variety of options at breakfast and the staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floyd s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

This hotel meets all expectations of authentic morroccan architecture. The rooms are facing an enclosed morrocan tiled courtyard. The bedrooms are large and dark, and - for the most part, grand, however, stuffy due to lack of air. Oddly, the bathrooms are small and separated only by a glass swinging door to and from the room. The hotel is very clean; the staff courteous, (but not real friendly or happy looking); the food is very good. I suspect this is the finest hotel in Fes.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluehorizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.5 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Address: 5 Derb Ben Slimane | Zerbtana, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Fes
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#21 Family Hotel in Fes
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Fes - Relais & Châteaux is renowned for its luxury, impeccable service and fine restaurant. Restored to its original glory, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is located in the heart of the ancient city of Fez. It has succeeded in combining refinement with inspiration and invites you to relax and enjoy your stay in a serene atmosphere with decor reminiscent of Arabian Nights. Riad Fes provides guests with the opportunity to travel back in time and enjoy the splendour and authenticity of the lifestyle of Fassi nobility. The prestigious history and refined civilization of this Imperial city are reflected in the Spanish Moorish architecture and attention to detail seen in the decor. With spectacular views of the Medina and the Atlas Mountains, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is ideal for those travelling for business or pleasure.In the heart of a medieval city known for its diverse savory eateries, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux offers a fine dining restaurant that should not be missed when visiting Fez: l’Ambre. A haven of purity and tranquillity created by the designer Christophe Pillet, our Spa Riad Fès by Cinq Mondes invites you to enjoy a unique experience in luxurious and comfortable surroundings. With a selection of the best treatments, massages and traditional formulas marked by Quality, Authenticity and Ceremony designed and developed by Cinq Mondes, our Spa will take you on genuine Sensoriel Journeys.Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux offers tailored golf holidays to golf enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Fes Hotel Fes
Riad Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing