We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice introduction to the Medina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice introduction to the Medina”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is the first Riad we have stayed in and it was in the middle of the old city or Medina. The rooftop gave a great view of the city and surrounding hills. Bar service up there was a bit slow but very gracious. Their fitness centre was open any time we wanted it and even in the dark at 5am the front desk staff escorted my wife with a flash light to it. The hotel had quite a number of half steps that were hard to see and my wife twisted her ankle on one of them which caused a problem for the rest of the trip - it would be nice if they marked them with some visible means to prevent that. The room was especially nice but it overlooked the bar which was a bit noisy until about 11pm. Turndown service was great and again, other than all the invisible steps, there was no proper shower in the room and I had to tie the hand held to the towel rack to create one. It made a bit of a mess which we felt sorry about but it worked.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower and not overlooking the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riad_Fes_Manager, Manager at Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Mr. Lyle K,
Thank you for your review and for staying with us.
I am glad that Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux was a nice introduction to Fez Medina.
First of all, I am very sorry for what happened to your wife. I hope she is feeling better now. We will check with our interior designer how to make the steps in the patios more visible in order to avoid any inconvenience to our guests.
Regarding the shower, we will start by next week a renovation in some of our bathrooms. Following our guests remarks and suggestions, they mostly prefer showers to bathtubs.
It is also great to hear that you enjoyed our Terrace Bar that has been opened during that week for a trial period. That is why the service was slow and I deeply apologize for that. Now, all the equipments including the service lift are on spot and the service is smoother.
Our goal is for all of our guests to be incredibly happy and satisfied during their stay.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we certainly hope to welcome you back at Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux.

Best Regards
Mrs. Awa DIAKHATE
Maîtresse de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    127
    41
    15
    3
See reviews for
118
387
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surra
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel with a fantastic location to the old medina. The roof top bar not to be missed. The staff were very helpful and the rooms are beautiful. The hotel interior is lovely and the riad is stunning. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HAMSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, MI
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were more frustrated than pleased during our stay at this hotel. We never had the feeling that anyone there truly knew how to run a hotel, and customer service was very spotty. I think that Relais and Chateaux needs to spend some time in training for the entire staff. The first night the person at the desk stopped us to give us back our passports. Ours were in our room, these belonged to someone else. Other times we missed messages that were supposedly left for us.

Also, you must understand what it is like to stay inside this type of hotel. You are truly inside, with no exposure to the outdoors unless you are sitting at the pool. We discovered that we aren't really comfortable in a hotel room with windows facing toward an enclosed courtyard, but that might just be us. The air conditioning worked fine in the bedroom, although the hall and bath got very warm and stuffy. Also, our room was up an extremely dark, narrow, and winding staircase with black marble stairs which needed much better lighting.
Overall I cannot recommend this hotel. We stopped at the Hotel Palais Jamai, which is just outside the medina with our guide and enjoyed the beautiful views of the medina and the surrounding areas. I think we would have been much happier there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riad_Fes_Manager, Manager at Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Mrs. & Mr. Jacob,
Thank you for your recent review and I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux.
I have checked all the hotels you stayed in during your visit in Morocco and I do understand your concern regarding our building. And the other hotel you recommended does confirm that our property does not fit your needs. Indeed, we are a riad. A riad means a house with a courtyard and a garden. Most of the rooms overlook that courtyard or that garden. We do have some of them on the ground-floor and they can surprise some persons that are not used to that type of accommodation. They have light and black curtains and two big doors. The light curtains are used during the day. During the turndown service, our maids put down the black curtains and close the big doors.
I am very surprised we did no hear any complaint from you during your stay or from your agency that is very keen to guests' satisfaction.
Even if the hotel was fully booked, I am sure we would have found an arrangement and proposed another room that would be suitable to you.
Regarding the passports, I deeply apologize for that. I have shared your feedback with the front-desk team. The front-desk does get a bit busy when the hotel is full but we are always happy to provide a top notch service. The service that you received is not acceptable and this issue has been addressed with our staff.
It is definitely our goal to be THE BEST choice to stay in Fez and reviews like yours are always helpful, as they will be absolutely useful as a training tool.
We greatly appreciate the feedback and will utilize your remarks to improve the level of service appropriate to the Relais & Châteaux Family.
Thank you again and we certainly hope to welcome you back at Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux.

Best Regards
Mrs. Awa DIAKHATE
Maitresse de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Fes riad has a special place in the medina. The building is a striking example of Moorish art and craft -zelij tiles, plaster work, cedar woodwork. Imaginative extensions for the dining and pool areas. Spacious suites. Beautiful menus - wonderful lamb tagines. Good local wine list. Lovely roof terrace to enjoy a drink in the early evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 291mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australian
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a lovely Riad, our room was on two levels, bathroom downstairs and bedroom, sitting room upstairs. We loved the layout but some older people may not like the internal stairs. It has many beautiful features and the new additions work well. The restaurant meal we enjoyed very much and the bar staff in the courtyard were friendly and looked after us very well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theaussierocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Despite the fact that the Riad didn't have the two rooms available as we had reserved months in advance... they helped us find acceptable accomodations for half of our party in a riad close by. Initially we were very unhappy with this arrangement but the staff was very helpful, friendly and attentive. Our adult children were able to join us for breakfast, the use of the pool, spa and dinners. When a room was available they moved in as well.
In addition to a delightful staff, the place is beautifully decorated. It was a pleasure to return to this lovely 'oasis' after a day of sightseeing in the hectic Medina of Fes. The rooftop terrace is not to be missed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This Riad is absolutely a great place to stay. We were there for 2 nights and we enjoyed every minute. The room was very nice and quiet big for a Riad. The pool-area was a very nice place to relax and have a drink or eat a little lunch. We had dinner twice in the Restaurant! It was just great food, tasty and a gool quality. The breakfast buffet was good with a good variety of local and international food. We can highly recommend this hotel! The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiss17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#14 of 98 in Fes
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#3 of 98 in Fes
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Address: 5 Derb Ben Slimane | Zerbtana, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fes
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#21 Family Hotel in Fes
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Fes - Relais & Châteaux is renowned for its luxury, impeccable service and fine restaurant. Restored to its original glory, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is located in the heart of the ancient city of Fez. It has succeeded in combining refinement with inspiration and invites you to relax and enjoy your stay in a serene atmosphere with decor reminiscent of Arabian Nights. Riad Fes provides guests with the opportunity to travel back in time and enjoy the splendour and authenticity of the lifestyle of Fassi nobility. The prestigious history and refined civilization of this Imperial city are reflected in the Spanish Moorish architecture and attention to detail seen in the decor. With spectacular views of the Medina and the Atlas Mountains, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is ideal for those travelling for business or pleasure.In the heart of a medieval city known for its diverse savory eateries, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux offers a fine dining restaurant that should not be missed when visiting Fez: l’Ambre. A haven of purity and tranquillity created by the designer Christophe Pillet, our Spa Riad Fès by Cinq Mondes invites you to enjoy a unique experience in luxurious and comfortable surroundings. With a selection of the best treatments, massages and traditional formulas marked by Quality, Authenticity and Ceremony designed and developed by Cinq Mondes, our Spa will take you on genuine Sensoriel Journeys.Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux offers tailored golf holidays to golf enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Fes Hotel Fes
Riad Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing