We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tradition and luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel is an elegant oasis amidst the colourful confusion that characterizes the wonderful old medina of Fes. Located within the medina, it is easily accessible off the lower main street that runs through the medina. It is a magnificently restored merchant’s mansion. The cream walls leading to it give no hint of the delight of this place. The public lobby area is grand and elegant, and showcases the oldtime grandeur of the wealthy merchants’ mansions. It appears to be a complex of both old and new buildings.

The top terrace of the hotel, with bar service, provides spectacular views across the medina. It is quite a breathtaking panorama. The room was part of the old complex, and was very elegant, with beautiful antique (or at least antique-looking) furniture. Rooms do not have numbers, rather, names. I had a high room reachable by a lot of stairs! ( a bit tricky and treacherous at night as the lighting up these steps was not all that good). It was quite luxurious. Room fittings with traditional ceramics and art work and carpets were a very nice touch. The bed with its mountain of pillows was very comfortable. Bottles of water were provided each day in the room, and there was a welcome tagine containers of local cookies and fresh dates provided on the first day. There was also an in-room safe for valuables. It had a separate bathroom with a tiled shower unit, but no bath tub. Vanity space was small, but adequate for one person. Nice bath toiletries were provided. Internet was provided free of additional charge, but was not available in my room, (although you could get a weak service from time to time) and lobby access to wifi was at best slow and spotty. I expected better, given the standard and price of this hotel. The staff were very courteous and helpful at all tines, and provided necessary information to help you make sense of this enormous medina. The hotel has several open courtyards complete with sculptures and orange trees, and fountain pools. Buffet breakfast was provided and this was quite adequate. Eggs were made to order. Hot food provided in the buffet trays was luke-warm, even cold. Nice selection of fresh fruits, fresh fruit juices, pastries, and breads.

Room Tip: Each room is unique - some are in the older complex, some are in the new Ask!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTraveller08901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

This hotel is an old palace. It looks like nothing from the outside (down a small alley) but you walk into a magical place. The location is also great because it is inside the medina so you can walk out the front door and wander through souks and go to great restaurants. Each bedroom is unique. We had a bedroom on a staircase and the 4 kids shared a junior suite which was fantastic. The rooftop terrace is stunning for drinks too.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room if you have difficulty sleeping as some of the rooms near the staircase are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Overall architecture, decor and attention to details are impressive. Well located close to one of the Medina's entrances, it's not so hard to find - as soon as you step in you're wowed by how beautiful it looks.
Staff is really helpful and courteous. My room on the 2nd floor was really beautiful (wi-fi does not reach higher than 1st floor), had a good size and storage space, bathroom with double vanities and delicious welcome Moroccan pastries. The only thing that bothered me was the lack of a standing shower, which I had already noticed in other Riads.
Breakfast, although not extremely diverse, was really tasty and had excellent local products, such as the home made yogurt. We had every meal on site and everything I tried was excellent. I even took a cooking class, which was one of the highlights of my stay.
I never visited the fitness room, but they have a beautiful swimming pool and a nice spa, not big, but offering great treatments I had the chance to try.
With the Sofitel in desperate need of a remodeling, I believe Riad Fes is the best option in town. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cadi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here as part of a small tour of Morocco. This was our first riad and we loved the uniqueness of it. Walking in by way of winding passageways was fun. Upon entering we were offered mint tea which gave us a chance to admire the public areas, which are beautiful. Our room was up two floors and we enjoyed a quiet, restful sleep with a great bed. The green tile bathroom was a bit dark, and the shower had a patch which made it feel as if one's foot might go through. I agree with other reviews that the shower was a bit unhandy and the tub had a really high side to climb over. Breakfast was in a pretty room and was very good. We loved the small tagines containers containing dates and sweets upon entering the first night. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piriac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Riad Fez does not disappoint but it is important not to have expectations which are based on European experiences of Relais and Chateaux. Before confirming check if your room is high up as you may prefer not to climb up to 60 stairs every time you forget something! The staff were courteous and helpful and the food was good. Breakfast was fine although freshly baked bread would have been even better. The Riad decor is tasteful and the courtyard lovely. The location is good if you want to be near the Medina but be prepared it takes time to orientate and be grateful for offers to lead you out to the main streets!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AUW0X7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Let's start with a few minor quibbles. It would be good if the swimmimg pool was heated over the Christmas period. The hotel wi-fi doesn't work well in the rooms. Some of the corridors to the bedrooms are very dark and so you spend time grappling with key and lock.....

You can see none of these are overly serious and I'm struggling a bit to find fault because the rest is superb. The hotel is wonderfully stylish yet comfortable. Our suite anyway was substantial though some are not so it's worth checking what you are getting when you book.

The food is excellent and imaginative and as with the best of Fez restaurants - with Moroccan and French influences. The service attentive and problem-solving. Reception and concierge - charming and helpful.

All-in-all it was a great place from which to explore the world's largest Medina - a UNESCO heritage site - and to spend Christmas under blue skies and pleasant 18C temperatures. A far cry from what was going on in London at the time!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pugly72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We were booked for two nights at this riad as part of a tour and enjoyed our stay very much. The riad is magnificently designed and appointed although this is not evident from the street. The public rooms are beautifully designed and decorated although a little chilly in early December. Our room was large and luxurious. Front desk service was efficient and helpful. The dining room offered a wonderful breakfast--a buffet on Sunday and table service on Monday. One dinner proved disappointing with the meal being expensive and not very tasty. The riad is right in the medina and well located to explore tha fascinating alleys and monuments of Fes. Recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderingman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.4 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
557 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#17 of 100 in Fes
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux

Address: 5 Derb Ben Slimane | Zerbtana, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Fes
#14 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#21 Family Hotel in Fes
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £128 - £525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Fes - Relais & Châteaux is renowned for its luxury, impeccable service and fine restaurant. Restored to its original glory, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is located in the heart of the ancient city of Fez. It has succeeded in combining refinement with inspiration and invites you to relax and enjoy your stay in a serene atmosphere with decor reminiscent of Arabian Nights. Riad Fes provides guests with the opportunity to travel back in time and enjoy the splendour and authenticity of the lifestyle of Fassi nobility. The prestigious history and refined civilization of this Imperial city are reflected in the Spanish Moorish architecture and attention to detail seen in the decor. With spectacular views of the Medina and the Atlas Mountains, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is ideal for those travelling for business or pleasure.In the heart of a medieval city known for its diverse savory eateries, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux offers a fine dining restaurant that should not be missed when visiting Fez: l’Ambre. A haven of purity and tranquillity created by the designer Christophe Pillet, our Spa Riad Fès by Cinq Mondes invites you to enjoy a unique experience in luxurious and comfortable surroundings. With a selection of the best treatments, massages and traditional formulas marked by Quality, Authenticity and Ceremony designed and developed by Cinq Mondes, our Spa will take you on genuine Sensoriel Journeys.Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux offers tailored golf holidays to golf enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Fes Hotel Fes
Riad Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing