We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enchanting location ,great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“enchanting location ,great food”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Great experience from top to bottom. Friendly staff. Good service. Rooftop has spectacular view of the city. Perfect location from which to see the Medina. Would come back and stay in a heartbeat. Not a bad value for price....food very solid

Room Tip: overlooking one of the courtyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    129
    41
    15
    3
See reviews for
119
394
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern NJ
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a great stay at Riad Fes. The first impression when you walk through the long pathway in, is one of “Wow”. The lobby or main seating area is gorgeous, excellent, discreet service. The check-in formalities are taken care of while you sit in this stunning space admiring the intricate mosaic tilework (zillij) in the columns and walls.
Pros:
• Superb, beautifully maintained/renovated historic building with grand interior spaces, several beautiful sitting areas and outdoor spaces.
• I can’t find the appropriate superlative to describe the panoramic view of the Fes medinas from the roof terrace (although the furniture is modern and blah). Great place for a drink during the day.
• Drop dead gorgeous bar area with an indoor/outdoor area, water fountains, old world tile-work etc. One of the finest bars I have ever experienced, with excellent bar service.
• Great service all around, very helpful staff.
• Liked the standard room with excellent furnishings (I want that armoire!) and good size, but understand the rooms are a bit tired. See bathroom comment below.
• Superb breakfast and top-notch restaurant on site. We had a gourmet dinner one evening, best meal during our three days in Fes (but see comment below).
• Fantastic pool area with a full size pool and beautiful plant wall.
• At around USD 275 during March, a good value for what you are getting.
Cons:
• The standard room bathrooms were not nice. The lighting was just terrible (two small recessed lights in the ceiling, nothing around the mirror), although bright sunshine during the day helps. Badly designed in terms of shelf space to put your stuff, shower water tends to overflow due to poor drainage, yet has towel warmers.
• We were shown a “superior room after complaining about the bathroom, but it was incongruous, completely modern like any upscale hotel room in say London or NYC, defeating the entire purpose of staying in a Riad (however, I would have taken that bathroom), so beware of the modern superior rooms.
• Wifi in the rooms and some common areas was spotty, often did not work at all, yet consistent strong, fast wifi in the grand lobby area.
• The restaurant serves excellent food, but we were seated in the same area where breakfast is served, which is a modern, bright space, not conducive to an expensive Fes dining experience. The odd part is they have a beautifully decorated dining room (only five tables) just off the bar with a direct view of that stunning courtyard, but designate it the smoking area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful visit to the Riad Fes; not only was the hotel beautiful and historic, but also the service was superb; the staff was warm and friendly and eager to help. Our room was amazing; luxurious and with beautiful architectural detailing. We enjoyed dinner at the restaurant; the food was excellent and well-presented. The rooftop patio is a wonderful spot to enjoy a drink and watch the sunset over the city. The location in the Medina is perfect for exploring the markets and the hotel arranged for a friendly and well-informed guide to show us around. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseillan, France
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here two nights whilst visiting Fez. Highly recommend if you are seeking friendly, quiet luxury in the midst of the souks of Fez. We were allocated a superb room on the first floor overlooking the central covered courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leshelend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this Riad where we had a lovely time.
It's in the Medina, but not far from a car park/access road. There are signs from the car park though a young lad was summoned by our taxi driver and refused to take any movey for showing us the way.
You come out straight into an alleyway and have to be brave and dive straight into the Medina. I wasn't sure at first but we braved it and only briefly got lost!
The wi-fi issue people talk about in other reviews - well my iPhone worked fine in our room but my husband's iPad only worked in the lobby. But we didn't mind this as it meant we'd go and sit there on comfy seats and have a drink while he caught up.
The roof terrace was fab - but a bit cold in Feb to stay up there long. We had a drink & nibbles until we got too chilly - the view is fantastic and listening to the call for prayer is amazing.
Our room was so peaceful - it looked over one of the courtyards - the bed was really comfy, the bathroom was fine - with lots of lovely toiletries that smelled gorgeous.
We felt the service was great, we booked a guide for a walk to the tanneries and he was brilliant, and generally couldn't have asked for more.
Just wish the weather had been better to sit outside at the bar or on the roof or use the pool!
We didn't use the spa or fitness centre but they looked good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beijing, china
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The riad was stunning, as my photos show. We felt like sultans staying in such grandeur. Though we usually prefer more classic/simple/elegant designs, we were very happy to have the true riad feeling during our visit. Our room was also quite spacious and decorated with nice Moroccan carpet and furniture. The only complaint about the room is that the toilet is situated next to the exit of the shower, but this is a very minor detail.
The riad was well situated on the edge of the medina so cars can get very close (3 min walk); yet one steps out into the medina upon exiting the riad doors.
The service was very warm and welcoming. It's more 5* hotel service than owners of a bed and breakfast, but that's fine.
We loved the breakfast spread. The service and breakfast selection were just wonderful. The white tablecloths and the elegant feeling of the dining room were quite a nice contrast to the medina surroundings.
I imagine the pool and bar area would be very chic in the warmer weather. Unfortunately it was a bit cold/rainy for us to experience that.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AFHamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights there as part of a customized guided tour of Morocco.
The Riad is situated inside the Fes medina, about 1/4 mile away from the closest place a car can stop. It may be a bit hard to find if you arrive at night or do not have with you someone who knows where the entrance is...
As far as the good is concerned, the Riad itself is absolutely gorgeous. The atrium is absolutely amazing, especially compared to the very bland entrance and "street" access. It has great amenities, which we did not get to use because of time constraints. The breakfast is a wonderful buffet with both French and Moroccan flair.
Unfortunately, some things did not measure to either either the 5-star rating, or to the Relais & Chateaux usual standards. The room was quite small and, although very clean, did not give the luxurious feeling that the atrium implied. Quite surprisingly, the wifi did not even reach the room and we had to take our iPads to the atrium to read emails. Not exactly the luxury you'd expect for the connected 21st century traveller!
The restaurant served a delicious (and outrageously expensive) dinner, but variety was lacking. Only 1 entree changes from day to day and there is only one true vegetarian entree. This is a problem if staying multiple nights and not too comfortable about adventuring at night into the labyrinthine medina. In addition to the lack of variety, there is no a-la-carte options. You have to choose between overpriced menus and cannot, for example, sample multiple appetizers and deserts without having an entree. Very disappointing!
Another disappointment was the lack of helpfulness of the front-desk staff when we were looking for alternative dinner options. All they were trying to of was to discourage us from local restaurants and get us to either the on-site restaurants or other Riad-based expensive places...
In summary, if you do not expect a 5-star Relais & Chateaux experience, Riad Fes is a more than perfectly acceptable clean and beautiful lodging inside the Fes medina. If you expect more, as we did from the descriptions and website, you'll set yourself up for disappointment!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Microg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#15 of 99 in Fes
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 99 in Fes
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Address: 5 Derb Ben Slimane | Zerbtana, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fes
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#21 Family Hotel in Fes
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Fes - Relais & Châteaux is renowned for its luxury, impeccable service and fine restaurant. Restored to its original glory, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is located in the heart of the ancient city of Fez. It has succeeded in combining refinement with inspiration and invites you to relax and enjoy your stay in a serene atmosphere with decor reminiscent of Arabian Nights. Riad Fes provides guests with the opportunity to travel back in time and enjoy the splendour and authenticity of the lifestyle of Fassi nobility. The prestigious history and refined civilization of this Imperial city are reflected in the Spanish Moorish architecture and attention to detail seen in the decor. With spectacular views of the Medina and the Atlas Mountains, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is ideal for those travelling for business or pleasure.In the heart of a medieval city known for its diverse savory eateries, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux offers a fine dining restaurant that should not be missed when visiting Fez: l’Ambre. A haven of purity and tranquillity created by the designer Christophe Pillet, our Spa Riad Fès by Cinq Mondes invites you to enjoy a unique experience in luxurious and comfortable surroundings. With a selection of the best treatments, massages and traditional formulas marked by Quality, Authenticity and Ceremony designed and developed by Cinq Mondes, our Spa will take you on genuine Sensoriel Journeys.Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux offers tailored golf holidays to golf enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Fes Hotel Fes
Riad Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing