We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly beautiful hotel and fantastic service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Fes is amazing (we liked it better than Marrakech, to be honest). And Riad Fes is just stunning! We were so impressed with the main lobby and the general decor and architecture of this place. In addition, service is great, staff is friendly. Our room was of a good size, not big, but not too small either. The room was greatly decorated though. Very cosy and comfortable. We had a little private terrace as well (but it was too hot outside to actually use it during the day). On our last day, we had some delicious food in the restaurant, which we can highly recommend. We were here on a short trip for a wedding but would consider coming back to Fes, just to stay at this Riad!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2009

The Riad Fes is in a great location and is absolutely beautiful. The food at the restaurant was fabulous. The rooms are all unique and views from the terrace are incredible. This is the best place to stay in Fes. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust_women
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We arrived at Riad Fes and were impressed right from the start. The desk staff greeted you politely, asked about your trip and then sat you in the breathtaking lobby and offered you a drink of tea or something cold. After you were comfortable and relaxed they started the check in process as you sat comfortably drinking your beverage on a soft cushioned couch enjoying the decor of the hotels first lobby.

The staff couldn't do more to please as they showed you around the Riad and then took you to your room. The rooms were clean and done exceptionally well. The atmosphere in regard to the decor inside the hotel was captivating. The restaurant served excellent food and the complimentary breakfast was exceptional. The bar was well equiped and the bar tender was very accomadating.

The location of the Riad was perfect and made the Fes experience easy. If you want the vibe of Fes and the comfort of a top Riad this is the place.

My wife and I spent 8 days in Morocco and we would rate the Riad Fes with full marks. Anyone who would nitpick this place should not be in Morocco. We loved it and will certainly be back one day!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newvieweverytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Riad Fes is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen! Their restaurant is by far the best restaurant we tried in Morocco. We stayed their 4 nights and every thing was done for us to make us live an unforgettable moment. Staff was very helpful, very discreet...
The hotel is very well located, it is decorated with lot of taste.
congratulations to the owners.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We appreciated the staff's responsiveness to last-minute email inquiries befor our arrival and their recommendations and arrangements during our stay. This was our first time in Marocco and the beautiful, peaceful environment of the riad was the perfect antidote to time spent in the hubbub of the sights, sounds and souks of the old city. We did find prices in Fes, particularly for food and lodging, to be much higher than we had heard.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Rinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

This is a beautiful riad - gorgeous, 'classic' Moroccan style. The newer part of the hotel was even better - really lovely, more modern and 'cooler'. HOWEVER (the first of many 'howevers'), the very first night we stayed at the hotel I contracted food poisoning from the hotel's restaurant via room service (what a nice welcome!) - within an hour after eating the chicken tagine, I started having severe abdominal pain and was up all night gritting my teeth in pain - not to mention dealing with other not-so-fun unpleasantries that lasted the duration of our stay. I did let management know of the food poisoning, but there was no apology or offer of restitution for the extreme discomfort and inconvenience their kitchen's negligence had caused both my husband and I.
The other misstep, we felt, was that my husband and I had planned to celebrate our wedding anniversary at the hotel - while we were very generously upgraded to a suite, there were no other acknowledgments or suggestions from the hotel, once we arrived, for things to do to celebrate our actual anniversary (i.e. restaurants, private musicians, flowers, duo spa treatments, etc.) So we took it upon ourselves - after doing much research on the internet - to ask the hotel to book us a dinner reservation at another riad, which was acclaimed 'the most romantic restaurant in Fes' for our anniversary (although I wasn't really able to eat much of anything due to stomach issues - my husband could still eat!) and let the staff at Riad Fes know, (who were booking the reservation) that this outing was to celebrate our anniversary. However, when we arrived at the restaurant, absolutely nothing had been done to acknowledge that this was a special occasion, as is usual - we're not sure if it wasn't communicated to the restaurant or what happened, but it generally spoke volumes about the care and concern for the guests at Riad Fes with how indelicately they treated our health and special lifetime events.
While I do recommend this hotel for sleeping, relaxing and for the bar, and for its beautiful surroundings, this is not a hotel where you would go if you're looking for personalized and professional service NOR to eat. Overall, we had a nice experience in Fes - but I think that there are certainly better riads out there, where you would feel taken care of and looked after. Coming from Marrakech a few days earlier, we stayed in a gorgeous riad (Riad Due) where every need was attended to, before we even knew we had a need! I'm sure there are more 'customer' oriented riads in Fes than Riad Fes.
N.B. Although the service we received was overall amateurish and apathetic, there were two very bright spots in the hotel service: Awa at the front desk, who so generously upgraded us to a lovely room for our anniversary and who checked in with us now and again - as well as housekeeping, who also checked in on us and got our laundry back to us in a flash.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBM1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riad_Fes_Manager, Marketing Manager at Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2009

First of all, we would like to thank these guests for staying with us and also for their really important review which will helps us to reach our aim and goal which is to improve the quality of our services in order to satisfy our guests.
It was a real big pleasure welcoming them at the Riad for their wedding anniversary. We are deeply sorry to hear about their stomach upset. These guests were picked up from Marrakech by our driver and I graciously welcomed them. They were very pleasant during the stay. They had dinner on the first night in their suite as they requested, because they had a long drive and were very tired. I proposed to them the menu of the day and they chose one assortment of Moroccan salads, one chicken with olives and lemon confiture and one lamb with saffron and coriander. That evening, we had 10 tables in the restaurant of which 5 other people ordered the same chicken dish and 8 the same lamb dish. The salads were taken by all. So, it is very difficult for us to understand how only ONE person was poisoned affected instead of all had this been down to food poisioning. Despite the stomach upset the guests were happy to eat in our restaurant again and had dinner on the third night, choosing pigeon pastillas, a couscous and beef skewers. On the following day, they asked for an Italian restaurant, I proposed one. It seemed they did not like the recommendations. Then, I proposed to prepare pasta for them in our restaurant. They were very satisfied with that proposal and asked to have it on the top terrace, as it was a special night for them Normally we do not offer dinner on the top terrace when the hotel is fully booked in order to maintain our high standard but due to this being their Wedding Anniversary we made an exception. I went myself to them to check if everything was satisfactory.
There was another instance when were aware that the guest’s wife was ill as this was given as the reason for cancelling a guide they had booked that day. We immediately offered to call a doctor and to make special dietry arrangements. Both were declined.
Further the clients had booked a standard room at a rate of a 20% discount. Despite of this we upgraded them to a Junior Suite including all the extras. The value of which was more than they originally paid for their room.
When we booked a table in another riad or restaurant, we always mention the purpose of the stay: honeymoon, wedding anniversary, anniversary, engagement and we request something special for our guests.
Riad Fes is said to be one of the best guesthouses in Fez, in Morocco, in general. Our cuisine is highly appreciated and many guests come for our restaurant alone. Our food is fresh, refined and tasty. Here are their comments in our Guestbook: “what a gorgeous hotel and lovely city- we had a fabulous time. Merci à tous”
It was a pleasure welcoming them among us at Riad Fes and we will continue to do our best to satisfy all our guests by providing good and professional services.
Thank you very much for your understanding.
Best Wishes
Miss Awa DIAKHATE
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Thank you Riad Fes, for a spectacular vacation.
We stayed three nights, in two rooms (four people total). I would have liked to been able to all stay in one room since the rooms were large and I was traveling with teenagers (even if this meant an extra charge), but I was told that was not an option. Our two rooms were large, with authentic and gorgeous bathrooms. The decor of the hotel in general is stunning- we especially loved the bar and the pool. My only real complaint was that every day when the maids came they turned off the AC so that when we arrived in the late afternoon the rooms were untollerably hot. All in all, Riad Fes was superb and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We fell in love with Morocco and will absolutely return to this hotel. The hotel restaurant is wonderful! whatever you do, do NOT go to Al Fassia, a restaurant near by- it was by far the worst experience i've ever had traveling. The management was rude and even agressive. The entertainment goes against all things truly Moroccan and it is clearly nothing more than an over-priced tourist trap.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reginaeileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riad_Fes_Manager, Marketing Manager at Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2009

Dear Sirs,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us and are deeply sorry concerning the AC. All our guests usually leave the Riad in the morning, at around 9.30AM for excursions or guided tours and they usually come back at around 6PM. Keeping the AC or the lamps on during their absence would be sincerely abnormal, even not ecological. In order to participate in our environment's protection, we kindly ask to our guests to avoid wasting water and putting off the lamps or AC when leaving their rooms. And the maids, all the staff in general, are very sensitive to that. Concerning the Restaurant Al Fassia, we would like to mention that the hotel did NOT recommend this restaurant to the guests who went there by their own. We know our clientele and we do know the specific restaurants and places where they can go. Anyway, we are happy to know that you liked our food which is one of the best in Fez. One advice: in Fez, it is preferable to go in other guesthouses where the food is much more better and fresh. Most of the restaurants are very commercial.
We look forward to welcoming you next time in Fez and we hope to have a suite or room which can accommodate four persons!
Best Regards
Miss Awa DIAKHATE
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.4 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#18 of 100 in Fes
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 100 in Fes
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux

Address: 5 Derb Ben Slimane | Zerbtana, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Fes
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £115 - £717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Fes - Relais & Châteaux is renowned for its luxury, impeccable service and fine restaurant. Restored to its original glory, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is located in the heart of the ancient city of Fez. It has succeeded in combining refinement with inspiration and invites you to relax and enjoy your stay in a serene atmosphere with decor reminiscent of Arabian Nights. Riad Fes provides guests with the opportunity to travel back in time and enjoy the splendour and authenticity of the lifestyle of Fassi nobility. The prestigious history and refined civilization of this Imperial city are reflected in the Spanish Moorish architecture and attention to detail seen in the decor. With spectacular views of the Medina and the Atlas Mountains, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is ideal for those travelling for business or pleasure.In the heart of a medieval city known for its diverse savory eateries, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux offers a fine dining restaurant that should not be missed when visiting Fez: l’Ambre. A haven of purity and tranquillity created by the designer Christophe Pillet, our Spa Riad Fès by Cinq Mondes invites you to enjoy a unique experience in luxurious and comfortable surroundings. With a selection of the best treatments, massages and traditional formulas marked by Quality, Authenticity and Ceremony designed and developed by Cinq Mondes, our Spa will take you on genuine Sensoriel Journeys.Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux offers tailored golf holidays to golf enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Fes Hotel Fes
Riad Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing