We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and brilliant food.”
Review of Riad Norma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Norma
Ranked #41 of 99 Hotels in Fes
london uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and brilliant food.”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We spent 2 nights here on a trip through Morocco. Location is really the only snag, up a steep hill and on the edge of the Medina. The Riad is beautiful inside and our room was enormous and very comfortable. Everywhere is tastefully furnished and Monique gave us a very personal welcome. The cosy sitting room with an open fire was lovely! We had an excellent dinner there and there is another restaurant nearby. We should have liked to stay longer to enjoy the beautiful garden and pool. Only one gripe---the pillows are high and not great!

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw are elegant. There is a ground floor one if you don't like steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janbtLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
66
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Our first stop in Morocco, Monique and her assistant Mustapha, who speaks excellent English, did everything to make our stay comfortable and welcoming, enhanced by the open fire in the sitting room. The beautiful building restoration speaks volumes about Monique's attention to detail and determination. Superb meals with a good variety of vegetables, we had not tasted cardoon before! Our bedroom (Norma) was huge, with a very high ceiling and a sitting area overlooking the garden and courtyard.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

For travelers who are looking at sharing a rather unique experience in a rather exceptional environment :

The house has been redecorated by its current owner in its original style with her personal and tasteful touch. Suite Norma was well above our expectations. But all the other rooms which we were able to visit are most recommendable.

The garden and pool, is a haven of peace after a day's walk through the narrow streets of the Medina and the main historic/touristic attractions of the city. You are awaken by the song of birds.

A great homemade breakfast to the sound of classical music. You will find out for yourselves why each room or suite bears the name of an opera or a has a link to music... Highly recommend also to have dinner by he fireplace in the dining room or outside in the garden, pendent on the season.

The cook does marvels. We found it difficult after a full day out to find the courage to test other restaurants outside, in light of the cook's talents. We ended up taking all our dinners at the Riad Norma.

A car with driver (preferable choice) can easily be organized for a day's trip to Meknes and Volubilis at a most decent price. A must.

Last but not least, the overall atmosphere rendered, the quality and attentions of the staff, and foremost, the warm, affectionate and authentic welcome of its owner Monique, without which our stay would not have been quite the same, make the Riad Norma a rather unique place to stay.

Anne-Caroline & Philippe (Paris)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acdk1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I was recommended this place by a friend of mine who has been to Morocco 3 times. We had a fantastic stay here. The place is beautifully gorgeous, it is luxurious and cosy. Monique, the owner of the riad, is more than wonderful, she renovated this place, making it like a palace. She took great care of us with grace and hospitality. Mustapha, the manager, made sure that everything was done perfectly. We fell in love with this riad and all people working here.

The dinner we had was so memorable and to die for. Mustapha decorated the dinning table with roses, his work was beautiful. The chef prepared us a 5 course meal: Green pea soup with fresh ginger, Briaouats filled with carrots and zuchini, grilled tomatos and green pepper, tagine lamb with quince and cinamon, desserts of fresh fruits with cookie and mint tea.

We definitely go back to Riad Norma and would recommend it to anyone.

One important thing: this riad is accessible by car or taxi.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Van P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Not only the stylish designed, we felt like we were the owner of this Riad. People were welcomed and served us as if we were king and queen in this palace-liked Riad. More than that, the food here were great, especially the dinner. If I come back Fes, this is the place I stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thuy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This is the most beautiful, stylishly decorated and luxurious of the four Riads we stayed in Morocco. Many beautiful common area and a lovely garden. The attractive, helpful owner arranged for an excellent guide which is needed in Fez. Our one dinner there was delicious. We will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Nothing was too much trouble for Monique and her wonderful staff at this gorgeous Riad. Our room was spacious, cool and beautifully furnished, and the building itself has been lovingly restored and is a work of art. There is a pretty flower garden with an inviting swimming pool - very welcome after a day in the medina! We had a dinner cooked for us which we ate in the dusk by the pool, and it was accompanied by Moroccan wine which complemented the delicious Moroccan specialities.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the central courtyard and looked equally lovely! No need for room service as this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Ryad Mabrouka
Ryad Mabrouka
#24 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#11 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Braya
Riad Braya
#26 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Norma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Norma

Property: Riad Norma
Address: 16 Derb Sornas - Ziat | Medina, Fes, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Fes
#30 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Norma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norma is a large Royal suite 70m², with a corridor looking over the patio and the garden, a spacious bath room with dressing room, desk, safe, air-conditioning and heating.There is a possibility of adding an extra bed or even two for a family of four. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Norma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Norma Fes
Riad Norma Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing