We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Norma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Norma
Ranked #41 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

We stayed for 4 nights in November 09 and we thought its a very beautiful, authentic Riad. We even got a room upgrade - in the Tosca room, quite big!

The general decor is so nice, mosaics...traditional moroccan...very nice garden/pool...You can tell the owner Monique has put alot of heart and soul into renovating this place.

One thing that was a bit weird is that the bathtub/shower in our room was next to to a window overlooking part of a school playground and there were no curtains...Don't think you could see much from the outside as it was small window with bars etc for security..but still...a tad weird. And also the towels smelled of cigarettes, not very pleasant.

Monique the owner seems to be present in the courtyard/dining area at all times, during meals etc, she is nice and very welcoming and talks to the guests but having her around constantly was just a little uncomfortable.

Abdelkader one of the staff members was very helpful in giving us advice and organising some excursions for us. The breakfast and dinner was amazing, very very yummy!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
65
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
198 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

Riad Norma is a stunningly beautiful Riad with restored tile work and elaborate inlaid stucco. The rooms are beautiful, and the owners were friendly and helpful. There is a very small pool and garden area, where one has breakfast and also dinner, if arranged ahead of time. Breakfast was simple, with cut up fruit, yogurt, Moroccan breads, jams, honey, coffee, and fresh orange juice. Breakfast is served at 8 AM; if you want some early morning coffee, you might be able to get some slightly earlier than 8. We had arranged to have dinner our first night. Although we had no choices, as it was a set menu, the food was quite delicious. The table was set in the garden lit by candlelight, with rose petals scattered on the table. The Riad is located inside the walls of Fez; you cannot drive right up to the riad. Also, although within the walls of the city, it is located too far to be able to walk to the main tourist areas; you need to drive. The rooms are very quiet, but be aware, if you have a room on the ground floor opening onto the patio, it is possible that other guests might be sitting immediately outside your window.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

Beautifully renovated riad by French owner. Stayed in Room "Aida" which is quite spaceous. Only thing I didn't like about the room was the shower although, I'm pretty particular about my showers. Breakfast is french inspired and simple but tasty.

Friendly welcome and pleasant staff. Felt there was a bit of a sell to go on a taxi trip round the city for sightseeing and to visit 'good shops' and for a guide. Other than that, the staff appear to show concern for guests by cautioning against the shopping tricks employed by city guides.

Had to laugh a few times when the owner called her 'servant'. If you go there just watch for the expression on his face.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shp73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

Very friendly, welcoming and helpful service. The centre courtyard and garden were beautifully decorated. Some of the other rooms may have been better, but our room was OK but nothing special. The room smelled damp and the towels and sheets felt aged. The food was very good and we were sat with other guests for the breakfast and dinner (even if we may have prefered to be on our own) but it was fun and a very good atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDavenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2009

Its now some time ago that I stayed here but I still remember it as an absolutely amazing experience. Fez was an interesting city but Riad Norma made the trip so special and this is simply a wonderful oasis in the hustle and bustle of Morocco.

Highly personal with just six rooms, amazing service and good location. Highly recommend this riad!

  • Liked — The service, the garden, the wonderful rooms, the breakfast ... ... .
  • Disliked — Difficult to find
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sapsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2008

We stayed at this Riad recently at the end of a 7 day motorbike tour of Morocco. From the booking process directly with the property, to waving us goodbye at the end of the stay,the whole experience was absolutely perfect.
The owner, Monique and all the staff were really friendly and helpful..nothing was too much trouble. They organised a brilliant guide to take us on a tour of the best parts of Fes..he was there within minutes of our request!
The Riad itself has been beautifully restored by the owner and was finished off to a high standard with numerous personal touches and features. The rooms were wonderfully furnished with lotsof moroccon features and luxurious curtains trailing across beautiful tall windows and doors.
The outside room is filled with lush plants and lime trees alongside rose bushes that all smelt exactly how roses should smell..a seemingly rare thing in our country! The plunge pool is very welcome after a hot days sight seeing..although it'smore like a small, deep pool than a plunge pool and served us very well after our travels.
The evening meal was served outside, beautifully presented in a wonderful atmosphere. The food, cooked by the resident chef, was superb. The produce was obviously locally sourced, authentic Moroccon recipes, lots of different tastes, textures and aromas..nicely rounded off with a lovely moroccon rose wine.
Breakfast had equally as much attention to detail. We had safe parking for the bikes and the staff all got up an hour earlier than usual just because we needed to get an early start to catch a ferry the next day..nothing was too much trouble.
If you are visiting Fes and want to stay somewhere close to all the sights that's authentic and of a high standard this is the place to stay..you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — quite hard to find if you don't know the general area
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melooarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2008

We very much enjoyed our 2 nights at the Riad Norma! After an easy reservation by phone (thanks for speaking English), the welcome was very warm. As you can read in the other reviews, the Riad is well restored, and very spacious. The rooms are great, and our children (15,17 yrs) stated that to them this was the most luxurious 'hotel' ever. The small swimming pool was appreciated by all of us: a cool dip after exploring hot Fes. Having dinner at the Riad is highly recommended: very good in the beautiful garden. What can I say more? Just try it for your self! Thanks Monique and Abdelkader for making us feel at home in Fes!

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EindhovenPierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Ryad Mabrouka
Ryad Mabrouka
#24 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#11 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Braya
Riad Braya
#27 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Norma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Norma

Property: Riad Norma
Address: 16 Derb Sornas - Ziat | Medina, Fes, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Fes
#30 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Norma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norma is a large Royal suite 70m², with a corridor looking over the patio and the garden, a spacious bath room with dressing room, desk, safe, air-conditioning and heating.There is a possibility of adding an extra bed or even two for a family of four. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Norma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Norma Fes
Riad Norma Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing