We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump to be avoided”
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #96 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

I blame the Rough Guide description which is wholly inaccurate. Overpriced place you might go to commit suicide. Hooker came and went from room next door. Tepid water. Room decor circa 1980. Holes in the wall. Everything was beige! No decent restaurants nearby - again Rough guide needs updating. Stay here as a last resort if you don't have a car to sleep in. 480 dirahms a night - 475 dirahms too much.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alex j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

We appeared to be lucky in getting a renovated room, other members of our tour group were not so lucky and had a much lower opinion of the rooms. Our room was quite clean, and the reception happy to give directions and were friendly enough. The hotel is also well located for the Medina.

I would not recommend the onsite bar, situated in the basement. It is dark, dingy, smoke filled and has a very seedy atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sc00bysnacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

sketchy rundown dirty backpacker place. If you absolutely have to stay here like I did (tourgroup), bring a sleep sheet or risk the bed bugs.The shower kept coming apart. Upside: the air conditioning works. A petit taxi to the medina should cost you about 10dirhams each way.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickichickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

There seem to be differing classes of rooms in this hotel. I was on a group tour as a single and was given a room on the first floor which was incredibly dated and grotty (the bedspread was grey but looked like it was originally white or cream), whereas the couples on the tour were given renovated rooms which were newly tiled and painted and had LCD tv's.

I did complain and was moved to a slightly better room on the 3rd floor, but had to put up with paint fumes.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YippeeKiYay_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We got what we paid for and we didn't expect more or less. Rooms were tidy and clean with good lighting and hot water. Breakfast was basic but again didn't expect too much. Good central location in the new quarter which allowed for nightly walks out to restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel - or at least, the room I stayed in - was appalling.

My room was on the 3rd floor, and when I went up, the hallways were lined in plastic and paper as they were painting. The room itself had been freshly painted (the heater had literally been painted over), and the smell was overpowering. The floor was so dirty that I refused to walk with bare feet in the room, and instead dug out my flip-flops.

I'm an easy traveller: I've stayed in hostels in Morocco with no issues, but here, I spent most of my night at the hotel bar simply because I didn't want to spend time in my room.

Breakfast was awful too: rationed to 3 pieces of stale bread and 1 piece of cheese each, with a hawk-eyed waiter that seemed genuinely upset (I do hope he wasn't reprimanded by management) if the guests took more than their "allocation". The only redeeming factor was they served proper Ceylon tea, which made a nice change from the Moroccan mint.

Most of the other travellers on the tour had no hot water, but luckily this was not the case for me.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed here as part of a group tour, and with 2 nights in one place one would have hoped for a. a working shower with hot water - particularly when the weather was cold b. a comfortable and clean room c. a decent breakfast to set you up for the day d. somewhere you could relax together. This hotel did not deliver any of this. The bathroom was dated and only just worked - we had no hot water throughout our stay. The bedroom was pokey and looked out over the dirty courtyard at the back. The furnishings were poor and I am not sure Oxfam would have even welcomed them. The breakfast was meagre, with an allocation of 3 portions of bread per person, and the poor waiter seemed terrified/unwilling to provide anything else. He watched over the consumption permanently, as did some man who seemed on the prowl. The communal area was a pokey foyer, and the carpets in the corridors and bedrooms were filthy. It smelled of fresh paint, and some reported more recently painted rooms - but these seemed confined to a few floors/street facing rooms. The welcome was non existent, and the staff appeared thoroughly disinterested. Terrible atmosphere

Room Tip: If you have to stay ask for a street facing room which has been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VERONICAtho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
2.9 mi away
Menzeh Fes
Menzeh Fes
#90 of 100 in Fes
36 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#64 of 100 in Fes
94 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#91 of 100 in Fes
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#69 of 100 in Fes
61 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Fes Inn - Sodetel
4.5 mi away
Hotel Tombouktou
Hotel Tombouktou
#87 of 100 in Fes
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Address: 44 Boulevard Hassan II, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: £21 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing