We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Maison Bleue, Fez”
Review of Riad Maison Bleue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Maison Bleue
Ranked #36 of 99 Hotels in Fes
New Delhi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Riad Maison Bleue, Fez”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

If you really want to get a peek into Moroccan culture and traditional life style you really have to go to Fes for that's where the soul of Morocco lives.
And to get an insight you have to stay at the Riad Maison Bleue.
We were driving from Tangiers and had no idea how long it would take us to get to Fes. As it happened it took far longer than what we had anticipated.
I had called in advance to let the hotel know of our late arrival and need for a long over due meal.
We reached at 11 PM and they had made arrangements for the kitchen and bar to be kept open.
It's a narrow lane good for pedestrian traffic only that leads up to an ornate Moroccan door which opens into the riad, inside the internal courtyard has a pool and around it run corridors that lead to rooms and terraces and patios.
There are a lot of plants and trees, rose and orange dominate.

Rooms are very well appointed and are at various levels spread through out, its all very picturesque and private.
Food is Moroccan and French.
The spa is recommended, after an entire day in the madina the couple of hours spent in the hamman and spa were very welcome. The hamman is unlike its Turkish cousin, which is very basic and somewhat harsh, this one is gentle and private and calming. The massage was very good.
We went for one day but stayed for 2 and that on a tight schedule is saying something.
I think we got a suite, four poster bed and seating area and desk and what not.
Their site is : http://www.maisonbleue.com/riad-maison-bleue/index.php?lg=1

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TangoDelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    36
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
49
105
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We drove from Tangiers to Fez and we stayed in Riad Maison Bleue, which is a wonderful hotel down a tiny backstreet just next to the Medina. They have their own car park which although resembles a vacant lot of scrub land, had 24 hour security with a day and night guard, a heap of young lads with shopping trolleys to carry your luggage to the hotel door and another young lad who offered to wash our car for 50MAD. Brilliant!
Our room was spacious and met all our needs. We had a superb view out of our window towards the fort. Air con was welcoming. Swimming pool is set in the middle of a courtyard and is beautifully cool and refreshing. Staff were very kind and helpful and made us a packed lunch on our last day, (including buying us a thermos flask for our mint tea!), so we could stop en-route for our journey back to Tangiers - as we went during Ramadan ALL cafes, bars, restaurants (yes.... even McDonald's) are closed until 7.30pm.
Mustafa on front reception was as amiable as Mohammed in the restaurant. Kind, considerate and attentive.
The Medina is amazing and you seriously have to have a guide.... I suggest you ask the hotel to organise SAMMY for you. He is brilliant and speaks Italian, English, Spanish, German and Arabic perfectly. He has a wealth of knowledge which he is willing to share but not overwhelming with dates and facts... Just enough to keep it funny and interesting.
Meknes (west of Fez) is well worth a stop on the way to Moulay Idriss and Volubilis (north of Meknes). All three places are a great day trip out of Fez, or if you are driving, as we were, a good pit stop on the way to your next destination. Volubilis is quite a remarkable place and for the 10MAD entrance fee, well worth a visit to the 3AD archeological site

Room Tip: Lots of stairs in this hotel, but if you don´t mind that, then the Junior Suite is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatNeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The lovely Riad Maison Bleue is exactly as described on the Splendia website where we found it. I drove down from Marbella with my sister and had an amazing journey arriving in Fes at sundown on a Ramadan day, which meant that everyone was in the streets about to eat after a lobg day of fasting, and it was pretty chaotic on the roads but a lovely guy on a scooter told us to follow him and he took us right to the entrance of the hotel and would not accept a penny.

Gorgeous ice cold room with a lovely four poster modern bed and boy was it good! Lovely staff and very attentive. Only thing to watch out for is if you have bad knees, there are about 70 stairs to go up from the pool and reception to the rooms! It is 3 old houses joined together, so higgledy piggledly and really eclectic and a bit eccentric - we loved it!

The absolute highlight for us, was Abdul, our guide, who everyone calls Sammy as he the image of Sammy Davis Junior, although better looking! He was funny, charming, extremely knowledgeable, and without him we would not have enjoyed the sights before us. We met several guides before, but there was no comparison. He speaks 5 languages perfectly and is very educated and cost us 400 Dh a full day ( about €40) and worth double that.
When he knew we were driving all day back to Spain, he even called us en route to see how we were doing.. If you ever travel to Fes, call the Maison Bleue and ask them to book Sammy for you.

Room Tip: we had the junior suite and it was beautiful, with 2 sofas, tv, ipod dock, separate dressing room, l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alibcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is a beautiful riad in the old city. A few steps down the alley and to the left we had taxis waiting while on the right we were immersed in the old shopping streets of Fes.
Our suite was impressively decorated with a very comfortable bed, dining table and sofas, however it was a little strange that the only place one could watch TV was from the bed..
We ate in the roof top restaurant a couple of times - the quality and value of the meals was exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suki49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

While this is a gorgeous imperial home converted into a luxury hotel, we found the staff rude and unhelpful. The rooms were cold and lacking in character. There was nothing in the mini bar. We were told to leave the keys at the front desk every time we stepped out, and the staff were not forthcoming with information about local tours, sights etc.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AditiVedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The hotel is a real gem and the service and staff wonderful. In particular we had a Moroccan cooking class which included a trip to the market to purchase the ingredients. After the shopping we participated in cooking an appetizer, main course (tajine naturally) and dessert and then had an amazing meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Riad Maison Bleue is an authentic, family orientated and luxurious stay. The food is to die for, the service and employees are humble and caring and all staff are welcoming and excellent hosts.
Staying at the Riad Maison Bleue made me realise the beauty of the city of Fes and with the help of hotel helped me discover places that will be memories to withhold for the rest of time. The scenery, the food, the spa, and the people are wonderful. I would recommend any family or couples or people to stay, an unforgettable experience.
- Sonia Bergman

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soniabergman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
La Maison Bleue
La Maison Bleue
#63 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.1 mi away
Ryad Mabrouka
Ryad Mabrouka
#22 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Maison Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Maison Bleue

Property: Riad Maison Bleue
Address: 33 Derb El Mitter | Ain Azliten, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Fes
#25 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#25 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riad Maison Bleue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel consists of three interconnecting houses, which creates an intimate and romantic atmosphere. When exploring the routes connecting the houses guests feel as though they are negotiating the laneways of the ancient Medina of Fez. The 18 suites, comfortable restaurant, private spa and hammam, well-equipped gym and intimate bar exude an air of discreet luxury. Throughout, timeless Moroccan style is merged with more modern touches, resulting in elegant interiors and luxurious comfort.Discover the new launched Maison Cordon Bleue our cooking school. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Maison Bleue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Maison Bleue Hotel Fes
Riad Maison Bleue Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing